We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, nice time, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PILOT Design Hostel & Bar
Ranked #8 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
“Nice people, nice time, great service”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed there for 4 days.
Location is perfect, it's in the heart of downtown. I found my favorite cafe after 50 meters from there with the best francesinha in Porto :)
Rooms were clean and nice. Beds - very comfortable.
The staff is perfect, always on good mood, full of energy, they helped me in everything i needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kacharava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    84
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
2
11
78
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Had a really good time here. The beds are good, the kitchen is awesome, the common area is great for meeting people and the girls working there really make this place something special.
Cant recommend enough!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

+ very good people in reception
+ beautiful design
+ very good location
+ good service

- a bit cold common areas
- there was a reconstruction, what was a bit annoying

So it was for me a really good time and thanks to this hostel i can enjoy my erasmus study in porto much more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The BEST hostel in PORTO!!! We loved it and we will definitely come back! The building is super cool, modern and clean - it is located in the city centre, near everything! The staff is amazing, always available and willing to help - they have loads of activities organised - we wish we had more time at PILOT! 5-STAR!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaJoaoReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The staff was very welcoming and helpful, as many portuguese people are. However, to get to the hostel I had to walk almost 5 blocks from which 2 were on a hill.. and 1 was on maintenance so was terrible to get there from Trindade Station. The room was clean and cosy, the price of the room included everything (sheets-towel-breakfast). The breakfast was humble - soft drinks - cereals, bread and bottle juice... but it was okey. I was told that Porto hostels were really good and cheap.. however this was just cheap and okey.. If they had elevator - better breakfast - and the streets around the hostel wasn't been repaired it could had been better rated..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verocavig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at Pilot hostel for two night with a big group of friends for NYE. We had 2 entire rooms for our own and also had our NYE dinner at the hostel, which was amazing! Thanks so much, Pilot Hostel Crew

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good, since they are very new and nicely furnished. The only thing is that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoIrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Pilot Hostel was a really great choice of accommodation for me while in Porto. Unfortunately I only stayed one night but I wish I could have spent a week! All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They are proud of Porto and it shows, they want you to enjoy their city. The rooms were clean and with other fun travelers, the free breakfast was the average free breakfast in European Hostels and definitely enough to start your day off right, the linen and towel is included in the price, the bathrooms are clean, the coffee and tea in the afternoon is lovely, and once again..the staff is very nice and knowledgeable ! Enjoy Porto!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrison Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tattva Design Hostel
Tattva Design Hostel
#5 of 238 in Porto
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 238 in Porto
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PILOT Design Hostel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PILOT Design Hostel & Bar

Property: PILOT Design Hostel & Bar
Address: Rua General Silveira No. 11, Porto 4050-588, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilot Hostel will change the way you see hostels! Modern, Super Fun, Comfortable & Perfectly well Located. Designed to be one of the top modern hostels, it is equipped with led lightening, contemporary furniture and minimal decoration. You will love our terrace with a barbecue, a fireplace and a waterfall; as well as our lounge room with coloured led lightning - perfect for parties or to simply chill out. You can hang out in our 24h BAR & lounge where you can meet people, chat, relax, watch a movie, or even play our Guitar and Djembe! Ready on the wall a cinema screen for movie nights and to play Play station. You can also have a great time playing football and table tennis. For fans we have a Surf board ready for a spin. Don't worry about planning your holidays, we will show you the city by day and by night. But, if you prefer to relax or to have fun at the hostel, we have some surprises waiting for you. The city centre and sizzling nightlife within a 2min walk will make your visit easy and pleasant. We are located near the city hall, Av. Aliados and Praca Carlos Alberto. Public transport: metro, train and bus within a 5min walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your PILOT Design Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing