We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cozinha do manel

Cozinha do manel
Ranked #183 of 1,611 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

You only find this place when someone knows about it and takes you there. Its in a bit shabby neighbourhood, but the food is great! Very traditional but very good, the owner went out of his way to fulfill all our needs (it did help that we were a group of 12 and our hosts are regulars). Not often you get such good octopus...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cees K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    90
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were staying in the area and were looking for somewhere for dinner on a Thursday evening this July. We arrived about 8:30 to find no one else at the resturant. When we left about 10:00 only two other people had arrived. I know people in Prportugal eat late but this was too quiet, we had eaten in another near by resturant a couple of days earlier and the place was busy with locals. The food was reasonable. The roast pork was tender and tasty but the Hake was not piping hot when it arrived and we certainly had better during our stay at cheaper places. The service was helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MargeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great food, brilliant wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was a great choice away from the touristy areas. Catch a cab if needed. Really good food and you know you are eating true Portuguese fare. Wine was fabulous and atmosphere superb. We walked about 1 km to and from our hotel. Certainly would recommend a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sydney_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“A little gem in Porto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We visited Porto a few years ago – this time we were just passing through between the airport and Campanhã station on our way to Coimbra. Since it was lunchtime we decided to look for a place to have lovely spot of lunch without diverting from our journey.
We were so lucky to stumble upon Cozinha do Manel! First of all, it is located across the road from Heroismo station (the stop before Campanhã) – so it was perfect for us in terms of location.
The interior is very rustic, they also have a deli counter by the entrance and a wall of photos of Portuguese celebrities (I am guessing) that have eaten here. All the other tables were locals – we loved that. It is very much an “in the know” kind of place. They do not have menus in English – which is always a good sign.
The waiters were very friendly and very helpful in trying to help us translate the bits we could not work out.
We ordered the cured ham and the local cheese for starters and the battered octopus with octopus rice – it was all so delicious, perfectly cooked and full of flavour. The house white wine was an absolute delight – ever so slightly fizzy and so fresh. We rounded off our meal with two glasses of the unmissable Port.
Given the deliciousness of the food and beverages, the quality of the ingredients, the value for money, the friendliness of the staff, all coupled with the local feel of the place – this is definitely a 5 star.
We plan to return to Porto soon – it has been a while since we stayed and did all the fantastic tours and tastings at the Port houses – and we shall definitely return for another meal at this little gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank claudia186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just go! (but don't tell everyone)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

A local friend brought us here for an excellent dinner, and judging from the wall of photos with Portuguese celebrities dining in the restaurant, it seems clear that this place is a local favourite. I'm utterly surprised that there are no reviews for this place on here yet (just goes to show how restaurant ratings on TA can be hit and miss).

Everything we ate was delicious - the small starter plates of cured ham (which we devoured in minutes) and the bacalhau (codfish) cakes were followed by the recommended mains of egg battered octopus fillets and the spectacle of the meal, the roasted veal with potatoes. This was veal like no other, full of delicious fat that coated the potatoes with flavour - it tasted more like suckling pig than veal.

The setting was rustic and cozy, perfectly nice for couples or bigger groups like ours. The one big hurdle, and most probably the reason why this place hasn't been TA rated, is that most waiters (and diners) spoke Portuguese. We had a friend to help so that wasn't a problem, but even if you don't I would still highly recommend this place. I was looking for an authentic, family-style Portuguese meal in a nice setting and this just fits the bill. The cost was very reasonable, as well. Out of our 6 days in Porto and Lisbon this place was tops and I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

PS the place is a few minutes walk from Heroismo station.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank londoner_sylviah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cozinha do manel also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Cozinha do manel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing