We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good and BAD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Internacional

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Internacional
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good and BAD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Ok ill start off with the good:
Location location location, good breakfast (oranges were amazing),very nice and helpful staff.
lets move to the bad:
The hotel is there since 1905,and it shows...
we think the beds are from the spanish inquesition or from some prison..so HARD!! its like sleeping on concrete.
its our first night in portugal and we havent slept in around 48 hours..we go to lisbon,took the train and what not and my wife STILL couldnt sleep because of the noise outside..
The pressure in the shower isnt very good and what tha heck is the deal with the tap inthe bathroom?!?! Its soooo short that its practicaly inline with the sink so you cannot wash your hands let alone wash your teeth and when you open it, it squirts on the sink which has an angle to the floor so.the floor is always wet!
renovate much?!?!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elasticman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    121
    79
    14
    15
See reviews for
48
133
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We got a very friendly reception here, though be warned that reception is manned by several different staff, with high potential for miscommunication! The hotel is centrally located, both for exploring on foot and taking daytrips further afield from Sao Bento station. Rooms, facilities and plumbing are a little tired, but rooms themselves are clean and generous in size. Very good breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A well located hotel in the centre of Porto with great staff. Very good value, would definitely stay here again. It is just a few minutes walk to the Aliados Metro station and also to the Sao Bento railway station.There are bus stops even closer. There are lots of restaurants and bars in the surrounding area and the main 'party' street, Galeria de Paris, is only 3 blocks away. The main shopping street, Rua Santa Catarina, is also only a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just a 2 min walk from the aliados metro station, so marvellously central, and great value for money. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful providing maps, directions and advise on places to visit. Nothing was to much trouble, Even on departure day with check out at 12, they stored our bags till 6pm and allowed us to change for our departure. The room although basic was spotlessly clean with towels changed daily, plastic double glazed window kept it nice and quiet. (only downside no safe). breakfast was buffet style and more than enough to keep us going all day. Would deffiinately make a return visit to the hotel and recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: 206 on the front with a small balcolny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Egg Harbor NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great place to stay in Porto. Within a 10 minute walking distance to all the major sites. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Also within about 500 feet of a subway stop. The front desk personnel are wonderful and very helpful and there's always one that speaks English in addition to many other languages. I would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a centrally located hotel that is very good value with nice, very clean rooms and an excellent breakfast.

It is only one block from Praca de Trindade, metro, tourist buses and only a couple of blocks from the bus to the beach!

The best part of this hotel for us was the staff. They were very friendly, extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us with any queries that we had.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Porto.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic - right in the heart of Porto and ideal for exploring the city. The public areas have a nice ambiance with attractive decor and appealing art work. Unfortunately the bedrooms are much less interesting! The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was very welcome. We would be happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#50 of 101 in Porto
3.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#32 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#68 of 101 in Porto
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#51 of 101 in Porto
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#69 of 101 in Porto
3.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internacional

Property: Hotel Internacional
Address: Rua do Almada 131 | intersection of Rua do Almada and Rua da Fábrica, Porto 4050-037, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Internacional 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing