We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, abundant breakfast, friendly staff, but low-end room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Internacional
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
180 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent location, abundant breakfast, friendly staff, but low-end room”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel was inexpensive. The person at the reception when we arrived was amazing -- friendly, knowledgeable, helpful. He marked the map with all the sights we needed to see. Clearly, the location of this hotel is ideal. However, the room was small, I guess therfore its price. A sour smell of a wet shower curtain (or of towels that never dry, although they were dry) in the bathroom gagged me. Sitting on the toilet, and we are small people, you had to turn sideways or your face would be in the sink. There was no safe in the room. Poor lighting made it difficult to read, study maps, or write. Shades, however, let in light from the street at night, making it difficult to sleep. Few amenities -- just a small disposable paper packet for each of us of shampoo/body wash. Good thing we brought our own. WIFI worked better than in other hotels we've stayed in. The breakfast was an abundant European buffet spread-- fresh fruit (apples, pears, oranges, melon, kiwi), most of which needed to be peeled. You have to do that with a butter knife, unless you packed your own. Also there was cereal, yogurt, juices, cold cuts, cheese, breads, sweet rolls/pastry/cake. Husband was happy with the coffee. I asked for espresso on our first morning, and on the subsequent mornings of our stay, Pedro, who was working the breakfast area, brought it to me automatically without me asking for it. The breakfast room had nice paintings on the walls and played nice music. All in all, the hotel is a bit worn, but adequate. Its redeeming quality is its central location and price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitvoyodelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    152
    98
    18
    17
See reviews for
55
172
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was my second trip to Porto. I decided to book at the Hotel Internacional because it was located in the heart of the historic city center, and I was traveling with my mother who loves to visit churches museums and other historical points of interest.
The hotel has character, it is in an older building with great tile work. The location was very central, making it easy for us to see all the beautiful sites and wonderful cafes easily in Porto.

But the best part of our trip was the friendly service we received from the staff at the Hotel Internacional. Honestly! They were so welcoming and helpful. My mother became sick and they offered to make her food and were very sweet.

I am so glad we decided to stay there. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Porto. And if your not sure about visiting Porto, do yourself a favor and go! It is a great city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidihoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel location is a walking distance to the main plaza, train station, etc. It got noisy early in the morning because of the people leaving the bars around the area. The rooms are large and plenty of space for two people. Wi-fi was really slow and unreliable. We had to go to our floor lobby to get connection. Breakfast was really good and great selections.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel was great value. It's not a 4/5 star buts it has plenty of character, friendly staff, was clean and tidy. For a budget weekend break this was perfect. The hotel has a nice little bar and restaurant. Its also very close to a few cafes/bar type places.

Room Tip: It did not bother us in the slightest but as with a lot of old cities streets are narrow and surface...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Location was very central no more than half an hour from most tourist areas. The staff were most welcoming and very helpful.
A lovely hotel with a great reception with a grand stair case to all floors.
The rooms were a little outdated could do with freshening up, and more modern televisions and choice of channels. Tea and coffee making facilities would have been a bonus.
Breakfast could also be a little better with more choice.
Overall I would recommend.

Room Tip: Front rooms are a little noisy from traffic as the double glazing is of poor quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryT1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield,uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A quaint typically Portuguese hotel built in the early 1950s.The rooms were rather small, but clean with nice furniture.Only breakfasts were served at the hotel.
The location was on a hill out of the city centre, about a 25 minute walk from the banks of the River Douro restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryMansfield_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was out first stop on our first trip to Portugal. We spent three nights here, and were blown away at the level of customer service. We also found our room to be better than some of the other reviews suggest. The folks at the front desk provided all of the assistance and information that we could have wanted, provided great recommendations, and got to the point where they would have our key ready for us before we even got through the front door. They also "opened" their cozy little bar for us one night when we were looking for a glass of wine before bed, and served us a wonderful meal in their small, intimate dining room. These folks just couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcamkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#39 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#66 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#54 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#25 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#62 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internacional

Property: Hotel Internacional
Address: Rua do Almada 131 | intersection of Rua do Almada and Rua da Fábrica, Porto 4050-037, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Internacional 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing