We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Estoril Porto
Ranked #74 of 168 Porto B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed there in 2005 for 2 days and needed to stay another day in Porto and decide to move to another hotel. If you want a great hotel with a low price go to Residencial Grande Oceano or to Grande Hotel Paris, just 200 meters away from this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_Morais76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Estoril Porto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

Amazing hostel with great alue for the money. We had an amazing stay, very friendly ,helpfull staff.Gorgeus location and very well stuated to the rest of the city.We will be back;-)) Tom&Aga

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkTom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The only thing I missed was air-conditioning and a lift (3 floors building).

Even if our room was a bit small, it had WI-FI and it was clean. The bathroom was just a bit smelly because of the pipes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatastrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Booked the Pensao Estoril for two nights before starting the Camino Portugues. The pension is located adjacent to a few cafes, and the street can become rather loud at night - which can be a problem for light sleepers with a front-facing room.

Otherwise, the room was clean, everything was functional, and there were no problems with the room or private bathroom. The pension is in a good location to access the city at a very friendly price. The staff were helpful and there was a great patio/deck located at the rear of the pension - a great site to dry clothing or play ping pong.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bactman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We booked a double private room with private bathroom for two nights. The room had one window to the street and was big enough for us and a TV with many channels. The bathroom was good and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast is not included in the price and they have a computer with internet which is free (30 minutes) and free wifi all over the hostel. It is value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trike85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

First problem was very non-communicative staff. My partner and I both speak fluent English and Spanish and very decent Portuguese and tried communicating with the staff in all three so there was no excuse for this. One morning my partner said Bom Dia (Good morning/day) to a member of staff on the stairs and was completely ignored. By far the most welcoming member of this hostel (it cannot be considered a hotel of any sort) was the lovely Siamese cat, with the dog second. This I could cope with but the room was a real letdown too. We had no window (only a skylight) and the bath and toilet was right next to the bed and smelled foul every time the sliding door was opened.
If we'd been given one of the rooms with a window and small balcony at the back it might have helped slightly but I still find it hard to believe I'm talking about the same place as some other apparently satisfied reviewers. In case others think I'm a fusspot with unrealstic expectations, let me add that that we moved from there to a two-star hotel for a similar price and even closer to the centre of Oporto. In the second place, we were totally satisfied as it was about what I would expect for the price. I can't understand why anyone would think Pensao Estoril was value for money because in Portuguese terms it most definitely is not. Another reason we chose Estoril was because it claimed to have wi-fi but this did not work in our room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steveportba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Booked through hostelbookers for 30 Euro per night for a private double ensuite, so didn't expect anything spactacular. If you go with no high expectations, you will probably enjoy your stay more than some of the other reveiwers appear to have done so.
Our room was basic, but it was clean. (And I am very fussy about this.) The decour of our room and the hotel as an entirety is outdated and a bit mismatched, but you are paying pittence, so can't really expect anything else.

The place has a cat and allows pets, so if you have allergies perhaps maybe consider something else. However, I have fur allergies and didn't suffer during my stay, so I am pretty sure they are allocated to specific rooms only.

Reception are helpful with booking trips. One of the girls has excellent English, the others very minimal. But to be honest Porto doesn't seem to have many fluent English speakers. I am one to hold the opinion that you shouldn't assume every country to speak perfect english however, so just take what comes and keep your Portugese dictionary close to hand and you will be fine.

All in all, it is very cheap. We didn't have breakfast but it was only 2 Euros per person each day. The intenet is free for the first 30 minutes and 50 cents per 30 minutes there after.

DIRECTIONS: Im not sure on where else this hotel can be booked, but the directions we got from hostelbookers were really not very helpful. The easiest way to the hotel from the airport is the bus. It takes around 50 minutes and is around 2 Euros each. Take the 601 or 602 and get off at the last stop Cordoaria. As soon as getting out of the bus continue to walk straight in the direction the bus was going. (Currently there is a Darwin expedition in the massive old building on the left hand side. On the right hand side you will see an old steeple) After a couple of minutes you will be in Gomes Teixeira Square (It has a fountain with lions in the middle.) Look to the left and you will see 2 churches standing side by side (Beautiful ones) Walk down the road running down the side of these churches into Carlos Alberto Square. Walk straight across to the little alley like road on the left which is full of shops (you can't miss it.) It has no road sign but this is Cedofeita Street. You will find Pensão Estoril on the left side after about a 5 minute walk, number 193.) It all sounds very complex but it isn't and takes about 10 minutes from that bus stop.

TIPS ON PORTO: Not very vegetarian friendly. And despite misleading chains in the UK, not big fans of chicken. If you love your seafood Porto is for you! The menus normally are one page long and the sub-headings are Starters, Meat (no chicken, usually pork and beef), Fish and Desserts.
Best way to get around and to see all the sites is via the tour buses (very touristy yes, but helpful as there is a stop near to the hotel and provides excellent transportation with the hop on, hop off service.) We used the red city siteseeing company which was 13 Euros per person for 48 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#65 of 108 in Porto
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residencial Triunfo
Residencial Triunfo
#87 of 108 in Porto
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mira Daire
Hotel Mira Daire
#78 of 168 in Porto
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensao Cristal
Pensao Cristal
#84 of 168 in Porto
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dukes Corner Guest House
Dukes Corner Guest House
#27 of 168 in Porto
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estoril Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estoril Porto

Address: Rua de Cedofeita 193, Porto 4050-179, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: $44 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Estoril Porto 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Estoril Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing