We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Porto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Porto”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We highly recommend the Porto Sheraton where we stayed for four nights in late May 2014. This is a truly exceptional hotel. It's architecture is strikingly modern with a full glass-front facade and glass elevators that rapidly take you to your floor. The place is extremely well-maintained and spotlessly clean. We think it is by far the best hotel in Porto. Our room was large as was our bathroom; the room was well furnished. The service and politeness from the front desk staff and the service staff could not be surpassed. The doormen greet you quickly at arrival, unload, your bags, and whisk away your car to the parking garage--all with a smile and a warm welcome. The hotel offers free valet parking. We paid for our stay using only Starwood points--which at 8,000 points per night for a Club floor room and access to the Club lounge was indeed a very generous offer. At that point level, we were offered the choice of having breakfast either in the Club lounge or the main dining room. The latter is by far the wiser choice since the breadth of food offered was amazing--from extensive fresh fruit to your personal omelet fantasy--something that could not be managed in the smaller Club lounge. We also were given free in-room WiFi access. There are two situations which could be improved. First, the in-room WiFi set up on occasion malfunctioned requiring us to shut down internet access and then sign in again. This suggests the system needs to be upgraded. Second, the appetizer offerings during the cocktail hour in the Club lounge were not that enticing. They were no match for the offerings available in some other Sheraton Club lounges, such as at the Frankfurt airport Sheraton or the Salzburg Sheraton.
Admittedly the hotel is not in the center of town. But on our first day we walked to the center of town and the river in about 30-45 minutes. It was a pleasant introduction to the city. The modern areas of Porto are pleasant enough, but the river side area of town is nothing to write home about. Otherwise we took taxis. They are more expensive than in Lisbon but still reasonable. Porto does not offer much in the way of historic monuments. If you want to visit a wine cellar across the river to taste some port, we highly recommend Graham's. It is one very classy, private place. And it seems to fend off the mobs from the tour buses. We also did a drive up the Douro River to check out Portugal's most famous vineyards and thinking we might visit a few wine lodges along the river. Well, the facts are that the Douro does not offer very attractive scenery, and the wine lodges are not set up for ad hoc visitors arriving by car. We decided it was the better part of wisdom not to drive any of those dirt roads leading up to the wineries. Seeing the Douro area we were very happy we did not take the one-week boat cruise up the river and back. It seemed to us that must be one pretty boring touring option.

Room Tip: All the club rooms are fine. A room with an ocean view as we had is no big deal since the ocean is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneFairCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having selected Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your May stay. Many thanks for your detailed feedback and suggestions, which we will share and analyze with our team. Should you visit us again in the future, please note that there’s a metro stations 5 minutes walking from the hotel, and the metro takes you not only to the airport as well as to the main attractions in town.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again by then.
Yours sincerely,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    661
    126
    40
    25
See reviews for
314
899
69
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel. Had a complimentary upgrade to top floor with a balcony overlooking the city and sea. Room was gorgeous. Breakfast spread was good and room had quite a few TV channels. Bit bigger TV would do, but we weren't staying in the room much so it didn't matter. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Overall experience is excellent and this would be our definite choice to stay at during next trip to Porto.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mitul09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having selected our hotel for your stay. We were delighted to know that you have enjoyed it, and we will share this feedback with our team.
We will be most pleased to welcome you back again.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now, when on business in the area.
Hotel is good, and rooms are excellent. Service is fantastic as you'd expect for a Sheraton.
Concierge and reception are always very helpful.
Last night we had dinner in the restaurant and although it was very busy again the service was good and food very good.
Well presented and cooked well.
Have a few free hours now today, so plan on trying out the pool at somepoint.
Not so far from the airport, 20/30 euro taxi ride away....and I think from memory the same to get down to the river bank area where there's the famous port warehouses and lots of restaurants etc
I recommend it, it's a nice place

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very clean and nice rooms and bathrooms, outstanding crew at the front desk. They go out of their way to be helpful.
We had diner at the New York bar downstairs and that was very good too. The only down side are the drinks which are a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulphan, Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here for just one night having got a good deal on lastminute for £65 room only. As you'd expect, our taxi was met by the bell boy. We arrived early and the room wasnt ready but we were shown where we could change and with the advice of the very helpful receptionist, headed off to the beach. On our return we headed up (via the glass elevator) to a lovely twin room on the 9th floor. Very large and stunning bathroom . Concierge was super helpful with where to head for the evening. Felt awful as had no change to tip the bell boy when the luggage arrived, but he was charming and assured me no to worry. Thought about using the pool facilities but was told it was 10 euros a person so did not bother. This is the only negative about this hotel! The hotel is just off the lovely Boavista avenue. We tended to get a cab in and out of town for about 6 euros. For a bit of luxury, this is a lovely hotel. But if I were to visit Porto again, I would probably stay somewhere more central.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and for your opinion, which we will share with our team, in particular the Front Desk one. Please note that the cost that you mention is to use all of the Spa facilities and not just the pool, and it is a daily rate. Should you decide to visit us again, please note that there’s a metro station 5 minutes walking from the hotel, and the metro takes you to the main spots in Porto, as well as to the airport.
Yours sincerely,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this Sheraton during a recent tour of Portugal and overall it was an enjoyable base from which to access all Porto has to offer however we had a couple of quibbles that prevent me from giving it 5 stars.

What we liked:
- Beautifully landscaped and well maintained exterior which softened the high rise office building "look" of the structure.
- The interior commons areas are very spacious and furnishings are of modern design.
- Front desk and housekeeping staff encountered were uniformly pleasant, helpful and efficient.
- Breakfast buffet area huge with a good selection of healthy options.
- A well stocked supermarket is located within a 5 minute walk from the hotel front entrance.

Our quibbles:
- Large and fully glass enclosed bathroom is a potential accident waiting to happen. Translucent glass sliders (entry, toilet area), door (shower) and walls can easily trick the eye and result in an attempt to walk "through" a closed door. A clear glass partition, with inside blind that never fully closes to give satisfactory privacy, separates the bathroom from the bedroom.
- We brought back food from the local market and, after receiving permission from the front desk, sat in the garden area just outside the lounge (no one was there, or in the inside lounge for that matter) to have an impromptu picnic. A lounge waiter told us guests were not allowed to bring their own food into the area. I directed him to the front desk to confirm we were in fact "allowed". After confirming this he still felt obligated to chastise us again before we were through. NOT good customer relations and it left a sour note to an otherwise pleasant lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwesterner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

On arrival, the male reception staff did not even look up when we stood in front of him, he just went on doing what he was going for a few minutes without looking up. There is a free 'continental' breakfast next to the reception, comprising small pieces of bread and cupcakes, plus tea or coffee or orange juice. We asked if there was free wifi in the room, he said yes. But when we logged in, it was chargeable by time units. Free wifi is only available in the lobby.
Room was large but basic. No kettle, complimentary tea or coffee. Very irritating heavy glass sliding door to bathroom and toilet, that slides close quickly and has to be opened each time. Next to bath tub is a glass wall with built in Venetian blinds, that does not close properly for privacy.
There was a bidet, together with two face-towel sized flannels for drying after. That made me wonder if these flannels were washed with the other hotel linen....not a pleasant thought.
Ordered room service which guarantees delivery within 30 minutes otherwise it's free....I ordered omelette and a soup, which was excellent.
My sleep was interrupted by various noises from otter rooms and the corridor.
Hotel is out of the way, nothing within walking distance. The train to the tourist area and the city is about 15 minutes walk away. The only advantage is that the hotel is fairly close to the airport.
The room was US$114 per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.1 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#10 of 109 in Porto
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 109 in Porto
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 109 in Porto
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Tenente Valadim, 146, Porto 4100-476, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Porto
#3 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world where fine art, design and comfort blend beautifully at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa. Our hotel is a modern wonder of marble, wood, steel, and glass, situated in the heart of Porto. Enjoy the convenience of being only a short walk away from fabulous shopping, art museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Porto Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Porto Hotel Porto
Porto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing