We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, mixed experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, although not at all near the historic areas, so you will need to take a taxi to see the best areas of the old town. The room was lovely, clean and well maintained, although there were no tea/coffee facilities, which would have been nice late at night when their bar was already shut. We had a slightly difficult experience when a waiter managed to walk backwards into my colleague and put an entire plate of breakfast all over him and his shirt and suit only 2 minutes after arriving in breakfast. They were relatively apologetic, but not at first offering to pay for his breakfast, which was annoying and totally out of order as it was cleaned off the floor. Eventually the lady in charge did step up and sorted out getting the shirt cleaned, but could do nothing about the suit as we were leaving that day and no deduction on the bill was made towards dry cleaning which was not great really. A shame because otherwise it was a nice hotel. Bad point - wifi is not free - just mad these days. The so called "free link@sheraton computers" and wifi in the lobby did not work over 2 days we were there and the paid wifi required you to keep logging in every time your smart phone went to sleep. Good point: the young staff guy in the club lounge was extremely nice, helpful and knowledgeable about Porto and offering good restaurant and wine advice. I am going back to Porto again soon for business and I am still not sure about staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfColin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    634
    120
    40
    22
See reviews for
295
867
67
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saumur, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We've been for a short break in Porto in june 2011 with a friend.
We've decided to visit Portugal and Porto is the ideal destination for 3 or 4 days vacation ; most of all it's an easy destination to flight from Nantes airport and very convenient for that.

Sheraton Spa is a 5 stars hotel modern, zen, and beautiful.
We had the red level club, then our room was on higher level, and we could have breakfast in a club lounge with nice sort of breads, pastries, hot meals and specialities.
As well, for dinner we only have the lounge club break : having a drink or two, tapas, sushis, cheese and mini pastries.
From the balcony we could not see the sea but the tops of the buildings around and great sunsets !!

After visiting the old town, walking around in the day, it's nice to go back to hotel and have a rest ; the spa is luxurous and one of the clenest I've ever seen... What a joy to refresh and swim in the pool and try all the different jacuzzis !

The staff is very polite and hard working and very professionnal.

I've read some people who consider this hotel not very well located in town : indeed it's not at the front beach nor in old town, but I think it's better, because the hotel is in a quiet areat near ambassades and it's great quality and real five stars.

Sheraton brand mark is a reliable value.

A good choice.

Room Tip: Have the red level, plenty of happy hours and greatest view for breakfast and cocktail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laure L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I haven't been to Portugal in almost 19 years and was afraid that I would experience the same problems as before ... language problems, lack of diversity and poor infrastructure. But what I did remember favorably was the genuine friendliness, warmth and hospitality of the portuguese people. After discovering that Porto was named the best European city of 2013, we decided to give Portugal another try. From the first minute that we arrived, we felt that Portuguese hospitality again. Every staff member that we encountered treated us like we were they're special guests. Every question or need was met with extra attention. By the way, Porto was a fantastic city too and a lot of people spoke English too. I would go back there anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4fun_honolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having selected Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your recent stay, and for such a nice feedback on our country, city and property. We are delighted to share your opinion with our team, and look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxsackie, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great place to stay no buts. The hotel staff are friendly and courteous. The spa luxurious and welcoming and the rooms quiet and comfortable. The metro is close by and the Red, Yellow and Blue tour busses are only a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobPhibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Dr. BobPhibbs,
Thank you so much for your preference and for sharing your opinion, which we will glady share with our team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future, who knows in the next QSP Summit?
Yours sincerely,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The trip was a gift of my girlfriend and it was spectacular! The hotel is a real 5 star accomondation with all the professional service, friendly and helpnig stuff, fantastic breakfast, lunch and dinner. The taxi service is always available and cheap, bringing you to recommended places like best fish restaurants and shops.
Rooms are more than perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank axel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and opinion, which we will share with our team. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I tend to fly to Porto frequently and stay overnight.

This hotel is well located, modern, and could be a very nice spot.

However, my disappointment lies in the following
- Upper stair level lounge is awful, few refills, rarely cleaned, families with Childs eating out loudly,
- noisy seminars occur, saturating elevators,
- breakfast area could do much better (no welcome or wait till being welcomed),
- need to pay for SPA and sauna

However bed quality is nice, rooms are large and modern, ample windows.

So …. mixed feeling, could do better and for the time being we will search for alternatives in Porto.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hip66po
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having preferred Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your recent stay.
We would also like to thank you for your comments, and would like to inform you that, by analyzing them in detail, we conclude that your stay coincided with a big event being held at the hotel, which may have affected your usual perception.
We would be delighted to welcome you again at our property, should you decide to do so, as we are sure you will have a different perception of our facilities and services.
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Look for a hotel, check that among amenities offered by the Hotel you have swimming pool ...decided for it, go. Then...Pay for going too the pool - yes- have you ever heard about that? Sheraton Porto charges $10 euros per person to use the pool... As I am a Starwood member I asked if that would make a difference...no. Strange policy, but worst to advertise pool if you are going to charge...It is a pitty cause the staff is super nice, and the rooms are quite comfortable too. I paid ....your choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank valeria c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Valeria C C,
Thank you very much for your preference and feedback. Please note that the fee you mention is to use all the Spa facilities for the whole day if you wish and not only the pool, as it is referred in our website and reservation confirmation. We would like also to let you know that we have rates available with Spa included, and we do recommend this option for those who are planning to enjoy the The Spa.
We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#10 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Tenente Valadim, 146, Porto 4100-476, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Porto
#3 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world where fine art, design and comfort blend beautifully at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa. Our hotel is a modern wonder of marble, wood, steel, and glass, situated in the heart of Porto. Enjoy the convenience of being only a short walk away from fabulous shopping, art museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Porto Hotel Porto
Sheraton Porto Hotel And Spa
Porto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing