We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views, nice staff, nice building, average reception” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Nice views, nice staff, nice building, average reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Porto twice and returned because the hotel is up to date and offers godd services from a great parking garage to a good breakfast. The new building is up to date and fun for kids.
The reception messed up our reservation, gave us a smoking room and after us complaining upgraded us to a suite which had a terrific view over Boavista. The rooms and beds were up to date, even when we stayed the second time in a standard room.
The club lounge is fine, nothing special, but has a nice view.
Wenwould stay again, although the rate should be below 200 €, otherwise the Tiara next door is a good alternative.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VfB 1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your experience at our Hotel, namely the view and the rooms.
Please accept our apologies about the reservation misunderstanding and I do hope that we will have a chance to welcoming you in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    619
    117
    38
    22
See reviews for
288
840
65
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

if you are holidaying to porto and if it is in your budget i would recommend this wonderfull hotel.Great service from very friendly staff,top restaurant and near to all the tourist areas,faultless!

Room Tip: all veery good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffreyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference you showed on choosing the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your recent stay in Porto and for taking the time to post your opinion.
We do appreciate your comments and we do look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future!

Best regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Sheraton Porto is a fantastic hotel - clean, centrally located, good food options nearby and easy transit.

I travel to Porto a lot for work and I stay here every time. I find the beds comfortable, the rooms modern and clean, the Internet descent (albeit pricey if you are not SPG gold or above), the food is nice (the Indian place, "mendi" next door is fantastic) and the staff is outstanding.

All in all, this is a great hotel. I have never been dissaopinted in the last three years staying here. If you are looking for a nice hotel in Porto, this is a great place.

Room Tip: The window side of the building heats up in the summer. Get a room facing east for cooler afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear guest,

It is indeed very rewarding to have guests like yourself, who take the time to convey their comments to us and for choosing our property for so long time.

We are very pleased to learn that you have had an unforgettable experience at our property.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I heard a lot about this recent hotel, and a recent conference had the good idea to bring me to the Sheraton Porto. I am very familiar with its big brother Sheraton Lisbon, and definitively we can see the same touch of the common designer, mainly in the rooms.
First contact is the outside. Nice recent building, not exactly in the center, but with a good location. Lobby set the tone of the stay: Modernity, luxury, very clean and bright. From the arrival, staff is very professionnal, very helpful, and very friendly. Check in as facilitated by more than 6 agents. Despite a lot of person arriving at the same time, check in was very prompt and efficient. Great professional staff also suggested me several excellent restaurants.
Rooms are smaller than the Sheraton Lisbon, but very confortable. Bathroom are fantastics: Marble, bath and shower, very design. Nothing to say on quality of the bed. Heavenly beds are definitively amongst the best in the world.
Beautifull lounge with large terrasse on 12th floor. Bar in lobby is also nice. We could even feel some influance of one the best hotel in the world (Grosvenor House Dubai).
For business or leisure, no hesitation to highly recommand this hotel. You won't be desappointed!
And for conferences, nice large meeting rooms, and excellent catering.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank partagas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your fabulous comments about our standards and services.

Such comments certainly help us in motivating our staff and, more importantly, assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service and to make sure that all guests feel as though they belong during their time with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the terrace on Club Lounge located on the 12th floor.

Looking forward to welcome you soon!

Kind regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in Lisbon for two nights. The hotel is reasonably new refurbished which is very stylish. Our room was large with a comfy bed although the pillows were very soft! The staff were polite however the language barrier did get in the way at times especially at the hair salon where english was very limited. We found it more difficult than other places we stayed at in Portugal.

The hotel is not in the main area however is only a 5 min taxi ride around 7 euros. We found the hotel to be nice and quiet and it was beautiful and clean.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to post your opinion. Just to better clarify your comments we think that you want to mention Porto and not Lisbon.

Be sure that Sheraton brand strives all efforts to ensure that all our guests may enjoy an unforgettable experience.

The dresser, placed in floor -1, is not managed by the hotel, however please rest assured that your comments will be shared with them.

We do look forward to welcome you in Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa in a not too distant future!

Best regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angers
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I've been for a short break in Porto last year from 24 to 27th june 2011 with a friend.
We've decided to visit Portugal and Porto is the ideal destination for 3 or 4 days vacation ; most of all it's an easy destination to flight from Nantes airport and very convenient for that.

Sheraton Spa is a 5 stars hotel modern, zen, and beautiful.
We had the red level club, then our room was on higher level, and we could have breakfast in a club lounge with nice sort of breads, pastries, hot meals and specialities.
As well, for dinner we only have the lounge club break : having a drink or two, tapas, sushis, cheese and mini pastries.
From the balcony we could not see the sea but the tops of the buildings around and great sunsets !!

After visiting the old town, walking around in the day, it's nice to go back to hotel and have a rest ; the spa is luxurous and one of the clenest I've ever seen... What a joy to refresh and swim in the pool and try all the different jacuzzis !

The staff is very polite and hard working and very professionnal.

I've read some people who consider this hotel not very well located in town : indeed it's not at the front beach nor in old town, but I think it's better, because the hotel is in a quiet areat near ambassades and it's great quality and real five stars.

Sheraton brand mark is a reliable value.

A good choice.

Laure from West of France

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laure l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference you showed on choosing the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your last stay in Porto and for taking the time to post your opinion.
We are happy to learn that you have fully enjoyed our property, as well as the city of Porto

We appreciate your comments about the Club Lounge which was located at the Club level, on the 12th floor and we do look forward to welcoming you in a not too distant future.

With my very best regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

The design and furbishing of the rooms is very modern and unique. The hotel itself is also very modern with glass elavators that seem to wonder into the sky. All this is matched with very kind and helpful staff, particularly the maids who were always inclined to help.

However, my initial trust with the hotel was betrayed when (after a long travel to Oporto on a business trip) I was expecting to rest and relax in the swimming pool. When I arrived (it was roughly 7 in the afternoon) they were asking for 10 euros to use the swimming pool! Even for a couple of hours, since I arrived relatively late. I'm pretty sure when I reserved the hotel that I payed for Sheraton Hotel AND SPA, so I was shocked (and honestly quite disgusted) when they then charge to use a swimming pool. Not only is it strange that a relatively expensive, 5 star hotel, charges to use a swimming pool, but it is a complete disrespect towards the guests, as it completely breaks their trust, since they are initially welcomed to a wonderful hotel and then bombarded with a hidden charge as ridiculous as this one. I ended up not going to the pool after all.

On a more positive note, the gym is top class with high tech equipment of all sorts (most machines have TVs and one even has internet access!) and it is free. The breakfast was very good with kind waiters and a good variety of quality food.

All in all, I do recommend this hotel to anyone going to Oporto, but I just ask that you either call the hotel to persuade them to include the pool usage or to lower the cost by 10 euros a night. I apologise for my long rant about the 10 euros but I believe that the management of the hotel (not the staff in general) has to wake up to their lack of respect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAppleseedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference you showed on choosing the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your recent stay in Porto and for taking the time to post your opinion.

Just to better clarify your comments, in fact our property does apply a fee of 10€ fee for using the Spa facilities, namely sauna, jacuzzi, steam bath, relaxation room, pool and pool bar. The fitness is free of charge for all our guests and it’s open 24 hours.

Nevertheless, I believe that overall you have had a pleasant experience at our hotel and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in not a too distant future!

Yours sincerely,
Manuel Diéguez,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#9 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Tenente Valadim, 146, Porto 4100-476, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Porto
#3 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world where fine art, design and comfort blend beautifully at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa. Our hotel is a modern wonder of marble, wood, steel, and glass, situated in the heart of Porto. Enjoy the convenience of being only a short walk away from fabulous shopping, art museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Porto Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Porto Hotel Porto
Porto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing