We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The design and furbishing of the rooms is very modern and unique. The hotel itself is also very modern with glass elavators that seem to wonder into the sky. All this is matched with very kind and helpful staff, particularly the maids who were always inclined to help.

However, my initial trust with the hotel was betrayed when (after a long travel to Oporto on a business trip) I was expecting to rest and relax in the swimming pool. When I arrived (it was roughly 7 in the afternoon) they were asking for 10 euros to use the swimming pool! Even for a couple of hours, since I arrived relatively late. I'm pretty sure when I reserved the hotel that I payed for Sheraton Hotel AND SPA, so I was shocked (and honestly quite disgusted) when they then charge to use a swimming pool. Not only is it strange that a relatively expensive, 5 star hotel, charges to use a swimming pool, but it is a complete disrespect towards the guests, as it completely breaks their trust, since they are initially welcomed to a wonderful hotel and then bombarded with a hidden charge as ridiculous as this one. I ended up not going to the pool after all.

On a more positive note, the gym is top class with high tech equipment of all sorts (most machines have TVs and one even has internet access!) and it is free. The breakfast was very good with kind waiters and a good variety of quality food.

All in all, I do recommend this hotel to anyone going to Oporto, but I just ask that you either call the hotel to persuade them to include the pool usage or to lower the cost by 10 euros a night. I apologise for my long rant about the 10 euros but I believe that the management of the hotel (not the staff in general) has to wake up to their lack of respect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAppleseedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference you showed on choosing the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your recent stay in Porto and for taking the time to post your opinion.

Just to better clarify your comments, in fact our property does apply a fee of 10€ fee for using the Spa facilities, namely sauna, jacuzzi, steam bath, relaxation room, pool and pool bar. The fitness is free of charge for all our guests and it’s open 24 hours.

Nevertheless, I believe that overall you have had a pleasant experience at our hotel and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in not a too distant future!

Yours sincerely,
Manuel Diéguez,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    662
    127
    40
    25
See reviews for
314
903
69
395
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel. I stayed in an executive club room for two nights. The rooms are good sized and nicely furnished, although nothing special. The bathrooms have a small separate shower and separate soaking tub. I found the bed to be pretty hard. The executive club has long hours. I think about 7am – 11pm. The food is just OK and there is no service – barely saw anyone in the club at all. I had breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, as the food choice in the executive club was very limited. Service in the restaurant was non-existent – had to get my own coffee or get up to find someone. Check out at the front desk took forever. In general, service did not come close to meeting expectations – the worst I had in Portugal. The gym is well equipped and very nice. I did not use the spa, but it looked nice. The hotel is located away from the tourist attractions. Taxis are easy to get from the hotel, but at 10 euros each way, a few trips to the center get a bit expensive. I loved Porto – the Sheraton – not so much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dt95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa.
We regret the fact that we could not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we have shared your opinion with our management team, in order to continuously improve the quality of our services. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed at this Sheraton property last week and we had an excellent experience! The hotel is located less than 10 minutes walk from the next metro station, which gives you easy access to the airport, the seaside (beaches) and the beautiful city center.
The rooms are very nice, clean and modern with a huge bathroom.
The service is very obliging and everything is on a high 5 star standard.
Although Porto is not one of the most important cities around the world and the hotel rates cannot be compared to other big cities, I think that you get a great value for your money at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments.

We would like to thank you for the preference you showed on choosing the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your recent stay in Porto and for taking the time to post your opinion.

Such comments certainly help us in motivating our staff and, more importantly, assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa soon.

Kind regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Currently staying here and have tried all we can to escape. Booked through Lastminute.com (also do not recommend). The charges are as follows for a hotel listed as spa and business. Internet = 20euros per day! that's more than I spend on a years internet at home (plus connection is awful!) To use the swimming pool (which is empty!!) 10 euros per person per day. So for a weeks holiday that's a lot of money. Did I mention with lastminute they don't tell you those charges until you are locked in and booked and can't cancel without losing all your money!
Combined to that - there seems to be lots of functions and noise, our room is shabby with scuff marks over the walls and furniture, the scales don't work and the hair dryer is hanging off the wall. Oh yes and we have an adjoining door to the room next door??
if you want a luxury hotel this is definitely not 5 star oh and did I mention it is a good ten euro taxi ride from any decent restaurants.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank T0mWatts22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa.
We do regret to learn about your experience at our property.

We would like to confirm that the offer you have chosen has, as extra cost, the internet in the room – 100Mb fiber optic internet connection = 19€/24h00. Alternatively the Link@Sheraton powered by Microsoft located in the hotel lobby is available free of charge for hotel guests.
Regarding The Spa access, the 10€ fee includes the all day usage of all The Spa facilities (aromatherapy circuit, swimming pool, vitality pool, relaxing area and also classes in the Zen Studio). However the Sheraton Fitness by Core Performance usage is free of charge for hotel guests and available 24/24h. By reading Lastminute hotel description, is possible to know what services are not included in his offer.

We also invite you to become an SPG Member (Starwood Loyalty Program). Achieving the Gold status, members can choose among other benefits by having free internet connection during their stay.

If leisure or business brings you to Porto again, let us suggest you to search the available offers at Lastminute and also other offers in our own website.

Best regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel is fantastic! Modern, minimalist design, good service and the rooms are very, very nice. The breakfast is delicious!!!

If you can get a high floor the view is great. Be an SPG member might help you with this.

I also loved the all-glass lift!

Room Tip: Make yourself an SPG member in the reception desk - it might help you get a nicer room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luísh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments about our property.
We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your experience at our Hotel.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed there with our baby and the staff was extremely careful and helpful.
Excellent rooms and breakfast. The only minus is the state of conservation. I have known the hotel since it's launch at it seems that lately there has been less investment in maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187147Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa.
We do appreciate your constructive comments on our standards and service and please rest assured that your opinion will be shared with the Management team.
We do look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future!

Best regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed here in late November and what a hotel! Excellent service at recepetion, huge lobby area, all very tasteful and airy and then "la piece de resistance", the bedroom! BIG and extremely comfortable. The restaurant next day for breakfast was packed yet the staff was able to provide me with a clean table within 2 mins! Now that's service. Wonderful buffet style breakfast - try the pasteis de nata - and again great service.

And what is really surprising is the price - so cheap it's unbelievable! So, as you can guess, when next in Oporto I shall definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comments about our property.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your room as well as the breakfast at Porto Novo Restaurant.
We are happy to read that you find our hotel comfortable, with competent staff.
Looking forward to welcome you soon!

Kind regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.1 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 108 in Porto
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Tenente Valadim, 146, Porto 4100-476, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Porto
#3 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world where fine art, design and comfort blend beautifully at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa. Our hotel is a modern wonder of marble, wood, steel, and glass, situated in the heart of Porto. Enjoy the convenience of being only a short walk away from fabulous shopping, art museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Porto Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Porto Hotel Porto
Porto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing