We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch Portuguese hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch Portuguese hospitality”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Sheraton is a modern hotel, located right in the center of town. It felt like arriving in a huge business hotel, but, was just the first impression. Is very well organized and very clean, the lobby is enormous and the never ending glass windows let the natural light to come in. Decoration and atmosphere is a mixture of modern minimal and classic cozy. The rooms are great, spacious and brightly. But the award goes to the service, outstanding. From the reception to the spa, all the staff is very helpful and always with a smile. This the place to experience the recognized Portuguese hospitality

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments.
Our goal is to make sure that all guests feel as though they belong during their time with us and that each visit is a special one. I do hope that we have achieved this during your visit and your valuable comments only assist us in ensuring that others too can continue to benefit from our service.

With my very best regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    635
    120
    40
    22
See reviews for
295
868
68
381
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We recently spent a night at this hotel while in the western part of Portugal. We were upgraded to a suite which was an extra bonus! From our arrival at the door of the hotel, we were made extremely welcome. We arrived on a sunny day and the whole reception area was bright with all the glass, a contrast to other hotels which are often dark and uninviting. We were given excellent directions to the Metro and areas in the city of particular interest to visit for our short stay. We enquired about nearby restaurants and were disapponited to be directed to one with plastic chairs and 3 single diners! It was not a 5 star restaurant. We returned to the hotel to dine and experienced Portugese dining which was what we wanted in Portugal, a very nice dinner which is fine if you are only 1 night. It is probably necessarty to research some restaurants in advance if fine dining is important. Breakfast was also excellent and the normal Sheraton standard. Checked out the spa but did nit have time to visit, looked very inviting! Having a hairdresser on site is was a great benefit to me also. If we return to Porto, we would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Ask for view of river and upper level. Check out all room rates as some include breakfast and carpar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the preference you showed on choosing the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your recent stay in Porto and for taking the time to post your opinion.

It is indeed very rewarding to receive Customers like yourself, who take the time to convey their thanks to us. Such comments certainly help in motivating our staff and more importantly assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service.

We are glad that you have enjoyed our Suites the experience Sheraton has created for most demanding guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa soon.

Best Regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The choice of 5-stars in Porto is limited and the ratings for Sheraton were all positive so i booked, and am glad i did. I firstly want to metion that the staff was very relaxed, cheerful and positive. Often I find that the Portuguese are just too serious. Not this crowd. Reception staff dressed smart casual, in light blue tennis shirts, was a bit of a difference for a 5-star in Portugal, but maybe Sheraton is relaxing off a bit, or just being clever and different. Who knows but i noticed the whole thing and it made a lasting impression.
The room. Ok, here i must say that this could have been a 3/4 -star room for sure. Normal international hotel standard sized std room, i guess around 25 odd sqm. Nothing to brag about and if you have a phobia about doing toilet whilst your partner looks on, well better hope the automatic blinds function! They did when I was there and since I was alone that did not matter so much anyway. They like glass here, the whole building is glass and steel and so are the rooms, its mostly see-through. The bed was a bit hard but then again I do not know why hoteliers dont get it, the bed/duvets/linen/pillow is 50% of a hotel stay in my opinion. When will Swedish Hastens be sold to international brands like Sheraton? Anyway, the duvet was nice and soft, pillows 7 out of 10. The toilet was quite small so I can imagine that if you are a large rugby player or similar you'll have a challenge. I am average built at 170 cm's but still noticed the mini-me sized glass covered space called toilet. Obligatory bide', thanks very much. You never walk around feeling sticky in Portugal. The toiletries was of 3-star quality. You'll notice that when your skin gets dried out like a tounge the day after and the hair gets frizzy asap. Pls shape up there. There's no excuse for not having the best stuff in the most expensive hotel in town, that dept should not be left to the boutiques and design hotels of the world that often go to through great pains to have the most elaborate french/italian/spanish sounding toiletries (possibly to make up to the fact that the bathroom door does not close properly (if there is a door at all) or that the 2 parking bays allocated to the hotel are taken, by the staff. And I was surprised to see that I was only given a soap, bath gel, shampoo and conditioner, and a shower cap. And a shoe mitt. That seemed a bit spartan for a 5-star. Ahh, but there were scales and I have not used one for years and was happy to find out i have not gained weight in 10 years. Wonder if this was a trick to make me feel good because i headed for the restaurant and splurged! Ok, the Penne Arrabiata was around 5 out of 10. Not too aldente there but i liked the ambience, maybe because it was a Saturday eve with lots of locals and tourist types from Canada (of all places) filled the place up. Excellent service. 8 out of 10. The next morning I had a most wonderful breakfast. I must admit it was a few weeks ago and I can't really remember what was good about the food but what endure in my memory was the absolutely wonderful service. We were around 100 guests serviced by 4 waiters, and they did it so well I was amazed. I did not even have time to flag one down for a coffee refill, they saw that at a distance and remedied that in a jiffy. That was an eye opener because where I come from, 100 buffet breakfast guests will be serviced by at least 20 waiters and nothing really happens anyway. Its just collateral confusion. And the Porto waiters were so cheerful I wondered which planet they came from or what made them so happy. Maybe happy to have a job considering the depressed state Portugal finds itself, I dont know but they were good. 10 out of 10. Then there were lots of other small things that was excellent but it was all linked to the staff. Attentive, courteous, fast, willing and with speed. Nothing too much of a hassle. That's at least 25% of a hotel stay. I will revisit this hotel, for sure. Well done. Muito Obrigado.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference you showed on choosing the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your recent stay in Porto and for taking the time to post your opinion.

Be sure that our staff strives all efforts to ensure that all our guests may enjoy an unforgettable experience at our hotel. It is great to know that you felt so welcomed in our Restaurant.

We do appreciate your constructive comments on our standards and service and please rest assured that your opinion will be shared with the Management team, in order to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We do look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future!

Best Regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Porto is rarely a sunny city. The hotel architect used lots of glass so you will experiment lots of natural light. If it is sunny the hotel the hotel is very bright and cosy and garden will be a must to relax between some meetings or a meal. The spa is clean and quiet. Service is excellent. And the glass window from the bathrooms to the bedroom gives the hotel guests a sexy and nice voyeur feeling over his/ her mate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauroMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

We do thank you for your comments and are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our rooms and had an unforgettable experience at our property.
Looking forward to welcome you soon!

With my very best regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for only one night, but will be back. Had printed up the free spa coupon from expedia and did not expect to use it, but use it we did! What a spa! All different rooms and saunas. Spent a few hours going from one to the next. Only two other customers. Felt like we had the place to ourselves. Room was also vast and beautiful. Not to be missed. Even checkin clerk was terrific. Helpful and so pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
It is indeed very rewarding to receive Guests like yourself, who take the time to convey their opinions. Such comments certainly help in motivating our staff and, more importantly, assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa soon.

Sincerely,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We used this hotel as our base for visiting northern Portugal. It is located outside the old city but the Metro is nearby. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the Clubroom amenities and the inclusive breakfast was all one could ask for. Our only complaint was the "hotel" cabs which charged approximately 80% more than a taxi that can be hailed approximately one block away.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Let me to take this opportunity to say that usually in the taxi stop which is located outside the hotel, as well as in Portugal, there are the two different types of taxis available: the "Standard", which is characterized by beige-colored or black and green roof and the so called "Tourism cars", that are black in full and have a higher price list because, in addition to being generally “premium” cars, their drivers have received specific training regarding “attention to tourists” and they are fluent at least in one foreign language.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again at our property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

WE stayed here when we travelled to Porto in August. There is nothing to rave about this hotel - at the same time, there is nothing overly negative. This hotel is a bit off the beaten track - but its a neat and comfortable to come back to at the end of the day. The only problem was that when we tried to take my 4 year old swimming at around 7 they said they had closed and it wasn't open to guests with children only to adults. This was disappointing - as they had chosen to overlook the needs of their paying guests,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepika_ganeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa.
We would like to inform you that children are allowed at the pool between 1 and 7 pm when accompanied by an adult.

Nevertheless, we do look forward to welcome you in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#10 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Tenente Valadim, 146, Porto 4100-476, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Porto
#3 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world where fine art, design and comfort blend beautifully at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa. Our hotel is a modern wonder of marble, wood, steel, and glass, situated in the heart of Porto. Enjoy the convenience of being only a short walk away from fabulous shopping, art museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Porto Hotel Porto
Sheraton Porto Hotel And Spa
Porto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing