We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, location not ideal”
Review of HF Ipanema Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HF Ipanema Park
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We decided to go for one of the rooms on the top floor where the roof top pool bar is located. The rooms there were very spacious and had a modern decor, as well as a nice view over the river, but you do need to be prepared to hear loud music till about 3am from Wednesday - Saturday. Moreover the walls are extremely thin (we could hear our neighbours conversations).

The breakfast buffet was great, one of the biggest selections I have ever seen (from your usual selection of eggs, bacon, sausages, cereal, different bread rolls, cold meats cheeses, to things like pancakes or waffles, cakes, pastries, fresh fruit, including cherries (!) one day).

The location is not great though, we took a cab to pretty much everywhere we went.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JannaTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is modern, clean and excellent quality/value. We loved the buffet breakfast - well worth the money. Location is ok but facilities and service were fab. Well worth a visit and would return definitely.

Room Tip: High floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FrankieGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Perfect service in the reception and restaurant but dont go to the pool bar!!! The service at the pool bar just kill the overall rating of the service. The food at the restaurant in the groundfloor is not worth anything. Please dont eat the buffe. Overall a nice hotel but with few elements to work on

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in an executive room. These rooms are on the higher floors,do not waste your money upgrading. On the second night of our stay there was very loud music coming from the roof pool bar which kept us awake until gone 1am. I did call down to reception to enquire what time it was likely to go on till & they were very apologetic. The room was ok but a bit dated but of a decent size. I would say the location of the hotel is not particularly great,nothing to walk out to & a bit run down. No obvious public transport nearby.The bar area was nice & we did opt to eat in the restaurant on one of our nights,big mistake as there was coach parties & a school trip. So had to queue for food which wasn't replenished fast enough. The waiters were apologetic & courteous . We sat round the pool for an hour when we first arrived but didn't use it again as felt a bit cramped. Used the hotels carpark. Found all staff to be efficient & courteous but wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not book high floor rooms as may be disturbed by music from the pool bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brigette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Hotel was really nice in comparison to the charged price, 79 € including breakefast for a 5 stars Hotel in Porto i believe is really good.
I suggest rooms with Ocean view and higher floors All the rooms are big enough and clean , the only problem for me was the gym, they cannot open only at 07:00 am !!! at that time most of people should already take a shower after exercising. The should open 06:00 am!!!

Room Tip: Opening time of the Gym at least from 06:00 AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Renovated some three years ago, Ipanema Park is a solid four star hotel. The public areas are spacious and well appointed. The check in is easy and quick. All the staff seemed to be very polite, attentive and always willing to help. The rooms are standard size (I mean of a good size for a 4 star city hotel) and very clean, as usual in Portugal.
Breakfast has everything you can expect to find in a hotel of this category, but all very fresh and well presented.
You can find a bus stop just in front of the hotel of the touristic yellow bus, which is very convenient.
I did not experience the spa, but people that knows it they all referred very psoitively to it.
The only drawback is that at any hour of the day or of the night you will find one or two people begging for monney (it seems that they rotate). They won't do you any harm, but it is annoying, and the hotel should avoid it.

Room Tip: Do not choose the top floors, because they have a bar in the terrace (top floor) where there can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAVPina61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I spent 3 nights in this hotel and had very little to complain about. On the 8th floor my room was both clean and modern.
Meeting rooms downstairs are abut dated, but work out ok. Staff was very helpful getting seats and tables in position or setting up the beamer.
Lunch buffet was ok, changing a bit every day. After 3 days I am looking forward to a "proper meal".
Weather was lousy, so no swimming in the pool. A pity, as it looks great!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank SwissMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.6 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 109 in Porto
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
1 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#24 of 109 in Porto
1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Ipanema Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Ipanema Park

Address: Rua de Serralves 124 | 4150-702 Porto, Porto 4150-702, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Porto
#35 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $91 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — HF Ipanema Park 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star hotel for demanding clients.A hotel that connects comfort, a great service, sympathy and quality to a smart choice!Having been for a long time a reference among the hotels of Oporto, the HF Ipanema Park has reinforced its arguments thanks to a recent remodelling process, which has turned it into an extraordinary example of environmental efficiency that is positively reflected in the comfort of its guests.Sophistication is a common aspect between the atmosphere of the rooms and social areas, with an emphasis on the panoramic Top of the Roof bar with a pool and a unique view over the mouth of the River Douro, and the free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the entire hotel. In such a welcoming and comfortable hotel, only its proximity to the most sophisticated and charming area of the city will convince you to go out.At the Jardim d'Inverno restaurant, both the Portuguese cuisine and the exotic flavours are dressed with the refinement of Chef Agostinho Teixeira. At the Coffee-Shop near the Twin Trees bar, our light meals will surprise you.At the HF Ipanema Park you always have more than you think, for less that you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HF Ipanema Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Ipanema Park Porto
Hf Ipanema Park Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing