We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of HF Ipanema Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HF Ipanema Park
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice Hotel outside city centre close enough to enjoy the ambiance but not be disturbed by the hustle and bustle. Hotel shuttle bus available but need to book (6 euros) and taxi about 17 euro Staff very helpful and attentive. Distant view of river and sea, can walk to river in about 20 mins
Breakfast varied and great value. Loved the antique shop in the lobby which was a refreshing change to the souvenir type shop. There is also a small shop which may have some essentials.
Soft play area for young kids was large. Great views from the pool on the roof.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel was such a surprise! We paid only £130 for 3 nights plus breakfast buffet and we didn't expect as much from previous experiences. However, when we arrived we were shocked!

The hotel was very luxurious, excellent service, with all the amenities (from outdoor swimming pool to gym), free wi-fi and the best view to the sea! The hotel room was just perfect and the pool bar at night was just perfect- we were very satisfied. The breakfast buffet was just the cherry on top of the cake! Lovely atmosphere and with delicacies including traditional Portuguese snacks, and a variety of pastries and fruits.

The only drawback in my opinion was the distance to the main attractions. The nearest underground stop (Casa da Musica) was a 30 minute walk and this made it hard for us to walk around to the city centre. However, if you don't mind long distance walking or wouldn't mind paying for a taxi, this shouldn't be a problem.

Overall, HF Ipanema was a great experience. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's visiting Porto!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

this 5 star (?) hotel is located outside the center with no view of the city. There is no metro line so all transportations have to be made by taxi. Arriving at the airport you can take a shuttle bus which will only take 6 Eu to get you to the hotel! The income hall is okay and so are the rooms and bathroom. The carpet is a little worn and there are no shells in the closet, you will have to use the desk drawers (if you get them open). the breakfast room is rather dark and breakfast is very very basic with no service at the tables. there is no separate restaurant and the quality of the food at the cafe is poor. the walls in the room are thin....you can enjoy your next door neighbours. there is a swimmingpool at the top, it is small and not heated and there is a bar but there is no service. I stayed here for business but would not return for pleasure.

Room Tip: go up (there are 15 floors) because there is a lot of traffic on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabine_vanderkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest, thanks for sharing you’re experience in HF Ipanema Park.
We apologize for not achieving your expectation however be sure that our clients observations is the real engine to our improvement.

Indeed we’re not a central hotel within Oporto however, we are located near the beach, about 2km from Oporto center and about 4 km from Oporto old town with direct public transportations in front of the hotel, also with taxis always in front of the hotel and at last if your prefer, we can rent a bike to live Oporto from other perspective.

Please feel free to contact me in order to manage you a new experience with us and so, provide us the opportunity to meet your expectations!

Marta Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Reception area full of odd artefacts and hideous rugs which do nothing for the decor. The rooms are old fashioned and tired, there is NO option to borrow an iron from reception, which is unforgivable in a business hotel like this, and neither the treadmills nor the cross trainer in the downstairs gym work properly. In fact they're dangerous.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rascalflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your review in Tripadvisor.
We’re very sorry for not meeting your expectations once our daily efforts are based in our clients satisfaction.

Allow me however to announce you that we have different kind of rooms and some of them (Business and Pool) were totally renovated last year having a very modern decoration.

About the gym may I refer that we inspect all machines daily before the opening, and they work properly without any incident reported, however in order to start the machines clients need to seat and so it will appear “ Machine On”.
We hope to see you once again with us, in order to enjoy our new rooms.

Marta Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great hotel for a good sleep, relaxing and quiet day by the pool and spending time in the bar. Went for Primavera Sound festival and was a fantastic deal. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libmeisterflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your nice review.
It makes us truly happy beeing able to make your stay such a pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marta Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked the Ipanema Park for our Porto City trip 18-22 May 2012. When arriving this absolutely looks like 5 star. We were lucky, but paid for of course, to have booked the Comfort suite on the first floor, so stayed in a ball room size room. No complaints, but had a look in the neighbour standard rooms and would have been very disappointed, as not being even close to 5 star level. As the hotel seems to be very famous for bus tour guests we experienced a rather strange atmosphere all over the place. Not what one can define as quiet and relaxing. Also strange was the breakfast,  which was OK on quality, but vmery croudy when ending up in between these bus tourist bunches. The most strange thing was the buffet diner. Once again all these hundreds of bus touring people entering the diner room, all at once at 8 pm, filling their plates as much as they could, leaving sometimes a nearly empty buffet. Buffet got refilled more or less of course after a while but that took a while. The buffet choice was not large, in fact a large cold salad buffet and then 2 main main cources and a few deserts, not a "grand buffet" Earplugs are advisable when going for the diner buffet. One thing, to be clear, the price for the buffet diner was 13 euro which made it on the other hand very worth the money, but very contradictory with the  5 star service and kind of diner you would expect.
Pool on the 15 th floor simply wonderful!
Regarding the location of the hotel, being rather far away from Porto center, through but taxi and even public transport ( bus) no problem, bus stop at 50 m. Hotel Airport shuttle service excellent.
In short: 5 star , no! Worth the money, yes. Hotel very much like Porto : very mixed feelings and contradictory experiences.

Room Tip: Book my preference then renewed rooms on the top floors or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Ipanema Park is a 5* hotel. Looking to this, when you see prices, this is an extremelly good option with great value for money. Common areas are clearly what you can expect from a 5*, and I can leverage the quality of the restauraurant where breakfast is incredibly good. Rooms are the other side of this coin. After an extreme makeover, the hotel is much better, but it is not at the level of the other 5* in Porto (Sheraton, Porto Palacio, Tiara...). Rooms are a mix of new and old stuff, and this does not work perfectly. This is a 4,5* hotel wher you pay for a 4* hotel: at the very end, good value for what you get.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miguel2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFHoteisFenix, Guest Relations Manager at HF Ipanema Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Miguel,
Thank you for taking your time to post your experience with HF Ipanema Park in Trip Advisor.
Indeed we've made an huge makeover, though not finished yet and only rooms from 10th until 15th floor and common areas were renovated with all new and modern decoration.
Nevertheless we’re glad to read about your satisfaction and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Marta Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.6 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 109 in Porto
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
1 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#24 of 109 in Porto
1,161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Ipanema Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Ipanema Park

Address: Rua de Serralves 124 | 4150-702 Porto, Porto 4150-702, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Porto
#36 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $91 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — HF Ipanema Park 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star hotel for demanding clients.A hotel that connects comfort, a great service, sympathy and quality to a smart choice!Having been for a long time a reference among the hotels of Oporto, the HF Ipanema Park has reinforced its arguments thanks to a recent remodelling process, which has turned it into an extraordinary example of environmental efficiency that is positively reflected in the comfort of its guests.Sophistication is a common aspect between the atmosphere of the rooms and social areas, with an emphasis on the panoramic Top of the Roof bar with a pool and a unique view over the mouth of the River Douro, and the free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the entire hotel. In such a welcoming and comfortable hotel, only its proximity to the most sophisticated and charming area of the city will convince you to go out.At the Jardim d'Inverno restaurant, both the Portuguese cuisine and the exotic flavours are dressed with the refinement of Chef Agostinho Teixeira. At the Coffee-Shop near the Twin Trees bar, our light meals will surprise you.At the HF Ipanema Park you always have more than you think, for less that you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HF Ipanema Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Ipanema Park Porto
Hf Ipanema Park Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing