We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Awesome Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nasoni Guest Hostel
Ranked #182 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hostel during my visit to Porto. I was welcomed by a friendly lady who took out a map and started explaining me places to visit and stay. My room had an awesome movie theme and the breakfast was at a vintage cafe just next door. The stay was wonderful just a little bit noisy downstairs at night as it is located in front of a bar.

I would come here again on my next visit to Porto!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agatafiliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Welcomed by a very friendly and informative front office staff, showed us the best place to eat and hang out.
The location coudnt be better, just so great, but if you arrive from the station with a luggage, just consider that the hills streets in Porto probably need an effort to do.

Room Tip: i got the cinema theme and it has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravellersBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NasoniGuestHostel, Gerente at Nasoni Guest Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

The Nasoni Guest Hostel team really appreciates your comment and score!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our city.
Hope to see you soon!



Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

People were very friendly, but that and the location were the only nice things there. The place was old, and decor was quite odd and dark.
The bedroom we stayed was for a couple with a suite. If you can call that a suite. The matress or the bed were extremely noisy, every time we moved it made loud noise. We were there in the winter and we had to buy slippers cause the room and the floor were very, very cold.

Breakfast was not served in the hostel, but in a bar near by.

There is no elevator so you'll have to carry your luggage upstairs.

There isn't many places to hang out with other guests. No lounges. Very small place.

I much more prefer the Gallery Hostel.

Room Tip: One of the "suites" they offered us had a toillet and shower IN the bedroom, no walls, onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NasoniGuestHostel, Gerente at Nasoni Guest Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

The Nasoni Guest Hostel appreciates your comment. However we regret the fact that you didn´t enjoyed your stay.
But in fact there is nothing like experiencing several places to hit the one you like best!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

For our first visit to portugal we spent here 14 nights to visit porto and surrounding cities. We selected this place based on its price, location, the availability of a kitchen & bikes and the free breakfast.

Overall we went home satisfactory.

The staff of the guest hotel is great. They are enthusiastic, helpfull and act upon issues. We stayed at the top floor (fourth) were they are still making improvements. Therefore when we were staying there the matress of the bugiganga room was already replaced but the undercarriage was still mediocre. Therefore we requested to change rooms after a few nights. This was adequately adressed and the rest of our stay we were in the Safari room.

It was good to see that during our stay they were already improving the buginganga and also the WIFI on the top floor. So maybe in the future this will be the best place to stay because it has a much bigger bathroom than other rooms.

The safari room was not big but it had all the basic things but not shampoo or hair dryer (you have to buy these things). It is also nice to see that every room has a theme. Both rooms we stayed were at the back of the guest house and therefore there was some noise noticeable but not that much that it interrrupted our sleep.
Do not except the same comfort as a three stars hotel (this is also not possible for this price) but it is much better than your avarage hostel.

Other positive points were that there was a balcony, a kitchen with shared refrigerator, balcony and room. The pictures justify how it looks. the breakfast (from 830 -1100) at galeria de paris was excellent. Especially if you consider that can ask for additional toast if you are hungry.

A minor point was that the availability of the bikes was unsatisfactory. So do not depend too much on this. A close by option to rent bikes is on Pc de filipa de lencastre.

Also there is a good bakery down the street on rue carmelitas (next to the lello bookshop) if you are too late for your breakfast or need to pack some lunch. There is a big supermarket near trindade and a smaller one near Lg dos loios.

All and all a great guest hotel with some excellent personnel and a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: choose a room on the back of the guest house. They do not have an elevator. So don't go here if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrikusJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NasoniGuestHostel, Gerente at Nasoni Guest Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

The Nasoni Guest Hostel team appreciates your comment and Score.
Was a pleasure to meet you and get both of you in our hostel!
We made improvements to the hostel so we can please and satisfy our customers.
We hope to see you soon!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Such a quirky, lovely, friendly place. Wonderful for the location and the atmosphere, we were so happy to spent our last night in Portugal in this place. The staff is just amazing and so friendly and helpful. There is beatiful "common room'/kitchen area at the top and a terrace with the view of Porto rooftops. Really a special place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NasoniGuestHostel, Gerente at Nasoni Guest Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Our team realy appreciates you lovely and nice comment and score!
We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay at Nasoni Hostel and our city!

Hope to see you soon!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

In a great part of town and despite being on a very trendy street with lots of night-life, I am very happy to say (especially as a noise-sensitive person who will easily turn into Oscar the Grouch) I wasn't at all disturbed by the noise. Front desk service was so helpful, parking convenient, great restaurants in area, awesome shopping just a stone's throw.... honestly, not a negative thing to say about the place! A must if you are staying in Porto. And don't get mistaken - it's not a place ridden with broke and obnoxious, young backpackers! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humbellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NasoniGuestHostel, Gerente at Nasoni Guest Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We were very pleased to know that you really enjoy your stay and our team!
We do everything we can to have satisfied guests, like you :0)
Thank you so much for your comment and score!!

Hope so see you soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The receptionists, all of them, were very friendly and helpful, but that's about the only good thing about the hostel.
I understand that it's a hostel and not Intercontinental, but some things are basic. We were staying in a separate room with private bathroom. The room was small and not clean, not to say dirty, the bathroom was in separate room and the water was hardly running, but the worst of all was the matress. It was very small and we could feel each and every spring in it. The bed was making noises each time I moved, and I moved a lot because I couldn't sleep on this terrible matress.
On the next morning I complained about the bed and they said they'll see what they can do. We stayed in the hostel for 4 nights and nothing happened.
If you care about your back do NOT stay in this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vires_et_Ignara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NasoniGuestHostel, Gerente at Nasoni Guest Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

The Nasoni Guest Hostel apreciates you comment and complaint.
Our team does everything they can to please our guests and because of that we really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay. All the mattresses were changed recently to ensure that our customers have a comfortably sleep. We really enjoy to have you back so you can have a diferrent perspective about our hostel, team and city.

Hope to see you soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 262 in Porto
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oporto City Hostel
Oporto City Hostel
#40 of 262 in Porto
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#66 of 109 in Porto
389 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 109 in Porto
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nasoni Guest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nasoni Guest Hostel

Address: Galeria de Paris 82, Porto 4050-284, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range: $19 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nasoni Guest Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nasoni Guest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing