We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you're travelling alone or looking for party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tattva Design Hostel
Ranked #6 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect if you're travelling alone or looking for party”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Excellent hostel, a perfect place if you are traveling alone or just with one friend. Really good common areas, excellent terrace, free walking tours and pub crawls in the place. Excellent dorms, but i didn't like to much the ensuit bathrooms of the dorms.. but they was ok. Humidity smell in some areas In summary really good for a Big hostel (you are'nt going to see the owners) 4 stars hostel, party hostel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncarlosdonoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    115
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
51
198
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great location in Porto, just minutes walking to the Douro River. Affordable daily dinner meal 'eat with the staff', a great way to meet the locals and find out the best things to do. Beds were very comfortable with curtains and they don't move or make noise when someone gets into other bunk, AWESOME!!! Very safe and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Tattva design hostel was welcoming and helpful. They were very busy when we checked in but they offered us a seat after walking all day and brought us some water while we waited and showed us around the hostel. The rooms are very clean and I really liked that each bunk had it's own curtain so there was more privacy for mixed dorms. They have internet access for guests, washer and dryers for clothes, a full decently sized kitchen and lots of places to sit and mingle with other guests. We especially liked the patio that had an amazing view of the area and comfortable seats as well as a bar to relax and have some drinks after a long day. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

A group of 6 friends and I stayed at the hostel for 3 nights for a stag do. It's a great location, close to every little thing you need. The hostel is comfortable, toilets are clean as are the showers, however, there was the scent of mildew in the showers but nothing that couldn't be overlooked. Beds have fans and reading lights attached, privacy curtains are also provided on bunks. The breakfast was a bit of a let down. Not much really on offer. Lots of hard breads, would have been good if eggs or other warm breakfast options were on offer. The terrace area is a great place to chill out, drink and meet new people. Also, the hostel runs a really good bar crawl, excellent way to experience Porto's night life and meet new people.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Moussaf3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I don't go so often to the hostel, since I can stay in hotels, but this time I was in Porto for a music festival and we decided to go for a hostel; I have to say that it was a very nice experience: the rooms (6 or 8 beds) were nice and clean; the Wi-Fi well working in all the areas and rooms and the common areas were nice and cosy.
The personal was extremely nice and helpful and the breakfast was decent.
If I go back in Porto (maybe next year for the same festival) I would certainly go again in this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Best hostel ever!
Personally the quality of the facilities were quite unbelievable for a hostel. Loved the vibrant colors, decor, spacious & user friendly kitchen, lounge & thoughtful facilities for the disabled. Truly great value for the comfortable dorms especially when packaged with a generous breakfast spread.
Room booking foulup was amicably resolved by wonderful hosts Ms Himali and her partner. Wow, thanks and hats off to both of you and your staff for offering guests such a great atmosphere to stay in Porto!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was recommended this hostel by a friend I met in Lisbon, It wasn't really what I expected from his description expect the location was perfect. The room was a little on the small side which made it very difficult to access your belongings in lockers. The heater wouldn't turn off, so the room was a little over heated. I found the bed a small compared to other hostels and the placement of the latter made it difficult to get in on the top bunk. I found it very clean (toilets, kitchen, living rooms, beds, sheets, floors, sinks..expect the showers needed a good clean/scrub). I wouldn't call this a 'Design' hostel it is just a 'New, Modern' hostel. Checkin was a 30min wait with one girl at the desk.. But you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancof2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#41 of 106 in Porto
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 225 in Porto
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tattva Design Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tattva Design Hostel

Property: Tattva Design Hostel
Address: Rua Cativo 26 28, Porto 4000-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tattva Design Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome friends! "Tattva" has been inspired from the Sanskrit word meaning 'Element', representing the five elements from which life evolves: Earth, Water, Air, Fire and Sky. Tattva Design Hostel will give you an enhanced hostel experience. Details and design have been carefully blended to create a new level of comfort and intimacy, as well as plenty of common areas in which to socialize.Two beautiful buildings classified as "World Heritage" have been recovered and totally refurbished to make the largest hostel in Porto, with breathtaking views on the higher levels. With 16 rooms and a capacity of 116 people in total (Female Dorms, Mixed Dorms and Double rooms), Tattva provides a unique experience in terms of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Tattva Design Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing