We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tattva Design Hostel
Ranked #6 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool hostel”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was there for only one night, but was impressed with the look and feel of the hostel, the older couple who tended bar, and the roof deck. The staff was friendly as well. Also, the Sao Bento train and Metro station is very close, which makes it very convenient.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    115
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
51
198
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Tattva Design Hostel for two nights (with 9 people) and loved the roof terrace, but hated the room we stayed in. It was very hot and not well airconditioned (the windblowers on the bed didn't help anything) and there wasn't enough space at all. The bathroom was ensuite, which we first loved, but then we got a problem with the shower (the water wouldn't come through) and the lighting was very bad.

The staff at the info desk of the hostel weren't very helpful (it seemed that they didn't knew the city that well) and one of the guys was a bit mean to one of our friends.

Concerning the location of this hostel... Well, it is close to the train station (which was nice when we had to go to the airport by metro) but the neighborhood wasn't very pretty or anything. Also there were some very strange men walking/standing in the streets surrounding the hostel.

The breakfast was good - lots of choice - and as I said the rood terrace amazing.
I guess this could be a nice hostel for some people, but for us it didn't work. And it is a very big one (160 bed available) so you kind of feel like 'a number' because you also get a code for each bed etc. Just not our thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room - not too hot inside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie-Gabrielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
207 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hostel is new and it is situated close to the Sao Bento train station. The building is situated in popular suburb of Porto. The hostel has new facilities and a fantastic terrace to relax and speak with other travelers. The hostel offers dinner and drinks in the bar area. The staff of the hostel are very friendly and helpfull. Fantastic choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are going to be in Porto for several days, this is the place where you would like to be. Clean, cool, new, and good located. São Bento train and metro station are just behind the corner. The service is 5⭐, and I think it's because of the great people that are working here: João, Luís, Miguel, Tiago, Sarah and more

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights on the very beginning of my trip around Portugal. I lived on the Air floor)))) Actually, I like all about this place! The reception guys were really nice and my room was spacious, full of light and very clean. The best beds and lockers as far as I can say (from all hostels I've stayed during this journey). Good breakfast, possibility to buy porto at the check-out if you forgot to do it in the city!))) great patio on the roof with amazing view and nice music. Great place to meet new interesting people! Really liked free walking tour and bar crawling with local guides))! Exceptionally good location - few minutes walking from Sao Bento station. Definitely would advise it to my friends))!

Room Tip: Definitely would advise it to my friends))!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I loved Tattva, the rooms are spacious (we were staying in an 8 bed mixed), each bed has a fan for those hot summer nights (nice!), a reading light and a curtain for privacy. We had a great little balcony overlooking the wonderful terrasse. Two showers, two toilets and two sinks in the room (amazing!).

The terrasse has a great atmosphere with chill music; perfect for eating breakfast in the morning or hanging out at night with a drink in hand.

Breakfast is what you would expect and maybe better (bread, jam, nutella, ham&cheese, cereal, muffins, juice, coffee) which was fine, there's enough for everybody!

Staff was very friendly and helpful! Even had a portuguese lesson in the evening upon our arrival, which was nice (almost everything is in portuguese here).

Location was great, close to bus stops in Praça de Liberdade or the metro. Markets, little shops and restaurants very close by.

Honestly the best hostel I've ever stayed at, I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome!! Imo to cheap for the quality and service you get! I've been to hostels all around the world, and have not seen such a well tought-off hostel anywhere!
Curtains on every bunkbed, 3 outlets per bed, a personal fan and huge locker. 2 showers, 2 toilets and 8 bunks a dorm, 4 dorms a floor, 4 floors. 
Sounds like a huge place, but it has a cosy feel thanks to the nice design and styling!
Now add a bunch of crazy Belgians(us) some guitars and a nice terras, this gives a party where the entire hostel participates!! All held together by a friendly helpfull staff! 
5 stars TATTVA we <3 you!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#40 of 106 in Porto
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 225 in Porto
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tattva Design Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tattva Design Hostel

Property: Tattva Design Hostel
Address: Rua Cativo 26 28, Porto 4000-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tattva Design Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome friends! "Tattva" has been inspired from the Sanskrit word meaning 'Element', representing the five elements from which life evolves: Earth, Water, Air, Fire and Sky. Tattva Design Hostel will give you an enhanced hostel experience. Details and design have been carefully blended to create a new level of comfort and intimacy, as well as plenty of common areas in which to socialize.Two beautiful buildings classified as "World Heritage" have been recovered and totally refurbished to make the largest hostel in Porto, with breathtaking views on the higher levels. With 16 rooms and a capacity of 116 people in total (Female Dorms, Mixed Dorms and Double rooms), Tattva provides a unique experience in terms of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Tattva Design Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing