We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but odd staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tattva Design Hostel
Ranked #4 of 259 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was really excited to stay at the Tattva Design Hostel. Despite it's great location in Porto, I left feeling a bit disappointed. We were greeted by an absolutely frantic person who made us feel on edge from the moment we walked in the door. Unfortunately, she was also the person manning the breakfast tables in the morning and was rushing around making everyone feel very rushed through breakfast. Although the hostel is new and in good condition, our bathroom was not cleaned once in the four days we spent in Porto and there was mold everywhere. The rooftop patio is a nice element. Overall our stay here was fine, but it wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 596 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Tattva Design Hostel combines what I've always looked for in a hostel. It is well located and its design is quite impressive. The staff is very nice and helpful, being always preoccupied with every little detail of our stay.
The rooms are tidy and clean as are the bathrooms, there's a full equipped kitchen which anyone can use and the terrace is awesome.
I totally recommend Tattva and I think I won't find any other better than this!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichalHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Modern, clean, friendly, organized, lots of variety and options, excellent terrace, breakfast included, kitchen to use, good restaurant, excellent open lounge, great price deals, in the city centre, great service and more confortable and more complete than most hotels

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipzdipil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We ended up at this hostel after getting turned away from a smaller one (which was the same price!) Was surprised at how cheap it was for the high standard of the hostel. We stayed here before beginning our Camino Portugese, and enjoyed chilling and eating on the beautiful terrace, great views from top floor with balcony, and really good showers!

The kitchen was also really clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful, though I do remember feeling slightly ripped off for a port tasting we did there. Though this port tasting did inexplicably include what seemed to be free bourbon biscuits.

But for me the little details like nice clean beds, chargers, a little light and little shelves by your bed, and having a little curtain to pull around your bunk really were helpful and made us really comfortable. Also they provide a free lock for storage under your bed. Would highly recommend; was 10euros off season and one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. A great way to start your Camino Portugese as you are unlikely to stay in anywhere as comfortable until you reach Santiago de Compostela!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor, great views from the balcony of Porto
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We loved the hostel. The staff was great, the rooms amazing and the terasse is so beautiful. The overall design of the hostel is really nice. We did everything by foot from there and the train station/metro is a one minute walk. We were at the fourth floor so the view was really cool too. We recommend one hundred percent!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vall29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights last August before walking Camino Portugese. Had a lovely stay, staff friendly and helpful. Rooms offer privacy even with other occupants. I am older lady travelling by myself for the first time but felt very comfortable and safe in this hostel. Hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xara712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Friendly hostel staff. Clean and confortable place. Awesome pub crawl experience sponsored by Pancho Tours which allowed me to meet other people coming from other countries. Definitively strongly recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Framig12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#66 of 109 in Porto
388 reviews
2.6 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#49 of 109 in Porto
858 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#37 of 109 in Porto
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#25 of 109 in Porto
1,940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 259 in Porto
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tattva Design Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tattva Design Hostel

Address: Rua Cativo 26 28, Porto 4000-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 259 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range: $15 - $1,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tattva Design Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome friends! "Tattva" has been inspired from the Sanskrit word meaning 'Element', representing the five elements from which life evolves: Earth, Water, Air, Fire and Sky. Tattva Design Hostel will give you an enhanced hostel experience. Details and design have been carefully blended to create a new level of comfort and intimacy, as well as plenty of common areas in which to socialize.Two beautiful buildings classified as "World Heritage" have been recovered and totally refurbished to make the largest hostel in Porto, with breathtaking views on the higher levels. With 16 rooms and a capacity of 116 people in total (Female Dorms, Mixed Dorms and Double rooms), Tattva provides a unique experience in terms of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tattva Design Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing