We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tattva Design Hostel
Ranked #6 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights last August before walking Camino Portugese. Had a lovely stay, staff friendly and helpful. Rooms offer privacy even with other occupants. I am older lady travelling by myself for the first time but felt very comfortable and safe in this hostel. Hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xara712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    114
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
51
195
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Friendly hostel staff. Clean and confortable place. Awesome pub crawl experience sponsored by Pancho Tours which allowed me to meet other people coming from other countries. Definitively strongly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framig12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed there two nights and loved it! The staff was very friendly, especially George and the restaurant owners! The food at the restaurant was also very good. It was raining while we were there but there is a rooftop patio that would be wonderful in better weather. It's on a hill so there was a great view out our window of the city and rooftops. The staff was very helpful in recommending places to go for an authentic Portuguese experience.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Romance Room--unique original decor, spacious, and great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently stayed at Tattva on a visit to Porto as part of my travels and loved it - stayed for 4 nights but could have stayed a lot longer. I paid about 11 EUROS a night and stayed in a 10 bed dorm - don't normally like big shared rooms but there it wasn't a problem - the rooms are so clean and comfortable and you get a curtain around your bunk with lights and plug sockets and a shelf inside - ideal! staff are amazing and friendly, lots to do and get involved in, and a real nice kitchen which came in handy as I was running out of money at that time! Haven't stayed anywhere else in porto but wouldn't want to, and can't reccommend the place enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely recommend this place to our friends. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable and the free continental breakfast in the mornings was definitely a bonus! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and spoke excellent english. Great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardAndRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been in Tattva Design hostel on my 3 day visit in Porto. The hostel has modern interior and every part of it is made thoughtfully. There is a back garden balcony where you can have your breakfast on a sunny day or just chill in the evening. Staff are very friendly and helpful and can answer all your questions.

Really enjoyed my stay there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ileto_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Thank you to Daniella for the enlightening city tour!! Your knowledge of this city and for that matter the history of Portugal answered so many questions. The fact that you took time after working all day to show us around and teach us about Porto was beyond what I would expect of anyone, clearly your passion goes beyond making people happy at the hostel.
The hostel itself was wonderful, clean, friendly, great beds, wonderful view, awesome staff.
Many thanks for a delightful stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are similarily well laid out, spacious and clean, very well designed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaM391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#39 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
#47 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tattva Design Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tattva Design Hostel

Property: Tattva Design Hostel
Address: Rua Cativo 26 28, Porto 4000-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tattva Design Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome friends! "Tattva" has been inspired from the Sanskrit word meaning 'Element', representing the five elements from which life evolves: Earth, Water, Air, Fire and Sky. Tattva Design Hostel will give you an enhanced hostel experience. Details and design have been carefully blended to create a new level of comfort and intimacy, as well as plenty of common areas in which to socialize.Two beautiful buildings classified as "World Heritage" have been recovered and totally refurbished to make the largest hostel in Porto, with breathtaking views on the higher levels. With 16 rooms and a capacity of 116 people in total (Female Dorms, Mixed Dorms and Double rooms), Tattva provides a unique experience in terms of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Tattva Design Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing