We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tattva Design Hostel
Ranked #5 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Thank you to Daniella for the enlightening city tour!! Your knowledge of this city and for that matter the history of Portugal answered so many questions. The fact that you took time after working all day to show us around and teach us about Porto was beyond what I would expect of anyone, clearly your passion goes beyond making people happy at the hostel.
The hostel itself was wonderful, clean, friendly, great beds, wonderful view, awesome staff.
Many thanks for a delightful stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are similarily well laid out, spacious and clean, very well designed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaM391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    115
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
52
198
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a great time in tattva. Great service, great beds, great design and comfortHad a great time in tattva. Great service, great beds, great design and comfort. The restaurant has really good food, the breakfast buffet is big, the kitchen big and clean. Excellent!

Room Tip: Room in the 4th floor garanty a great sight
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Thank you so much guys, for helping me when I got really sick. They helped me whenever they could.
Special thanks go to Miguel, the receptionis!
Also, they have nice dorms, a beautiful terrace and excellent showers (jesus..)
Cheers,
Gregor

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sadddddd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

better than my house!

The best shower ever in a hostel, orthopedic mattress, kitchen with whatever you want, everything always clean, breakfast unbelievable with nutella and everything else, the best hostel ever, I would like to live there!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpppppppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The staff and owners were absolutely lovely and amazing, just like the entire hostel. Beautifully decorated, very comfortable beds. We also got great tips on the best beaches in the area and the lunch was fantastic! The location is just amazing. And the prices! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

So far one of the best Hostels that I have ever visited! Located in the city center, with an excellent interior decor, a cozy environment, a terrace where we just felt like sitting on the swings, a fantastic team and delicious meals! For those who are adventurous and like to be in good places, I would totally recommend the Tattva Design Hostel…I am quite sure that I will be back!

Room Tip: I would recommen the 6 beds dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hostel is great: big room and clean, the staff were very helpful (the day we came it was raining inside the room, which was fixed quickly) and friendly, the kitchen is fully equipped and looks brand new, it's close to são bento station and it's a 10 min walk to cais ribeira.
For the people who come by car like us, the hostel has paid private parking. But at night you can find some place to park in the street.
P.S. Porto is beautiful, beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#42 of 106 in Porto
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 232 in Porto
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tattva Design Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tattva Design Hostel

Property: Tattva Design Hostel
Address: Rua Cativo 26 28, Porto 4000-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tattva Design Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome friends! "Tattva" has been inspired from the Sanskrit word meaning 'Element', representing the five elements from which life evolves: Earth, Water, Air, Fire and Sky. Tattva Design Hostel will give you an enhanced hostel experience. Details and design have been carefully blended to create a new level of comfort and intimacy, as well as plenty of common areas in which to socialize.Two beautiful buildings classified as "World Heritage" have been recovered and totally refurbished to make the largest hostel in Porto, with breathtaking views on the higher levels. With 16 rooms and a capacity of 116 people in total (Female Dorms, Mixed Dorms and Double rooms), Tattva provides a unique experience in terms of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tattva Design Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing