We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Short Break in Oporto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HF Fenix Porto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HF Fenix Porto
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Short Break in Oporto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was our first time in Oporto and we were very happy with the setting of the hotel. The room we were given was spacious and had a good view of the street. The hotel was quiet which suited us for a good nights sleep and an afternoon rest.
Joanna and her colleagues at reception were very helpful with check in and information about tours and Oporto in general.

The cleaning service was excellent and we appreciated the toiletries left every day.

The drinks machine outside the room was handy but a bit temperamental i.e it did not give us out water one day when we needed it yet it gave us a soft drink.Breakfast was plentiful and the hours 7.00-11.00 gives people plenty of time to get to the breakfast table.

The shuttle service used to and from the airport was very punctual and just what one needs when one arrives in the city for the first time.

The only thing that we found did not suit us was the fact that the bar and the sushi restaurant are in the one area. We prefer to have a separate bar where we can relax over a few drinks pre dinner and when we come back after a night out. The current bar area for us does not lend itself to relaxing as one can be very conscious of diners in the sushi restaurant.

There are three shopping centres nearby and one in particular has a food court. The area where the hotel is located is bereft of traditional eating places but there is a restaurant/cafe in front of the hotel called CONVIVIO which is convenient for the first night if new to the city. CASA AGRICOLA is a restaurant which opens at 19.30 and cafe open during the day with outdoor seating and is a nice place to watch the world go by or to meet up with friends. It is located on Rua do Bom Sucesso which is a street after the Centro Commercial Cidade do Porto and opposite the Galeria Comercial Peninsula.
The Blue Bus tour has a stop just past the CONVIVIO restaurant and is marked number 20. The blue tour passes by every half hour approx and we found it useful on the first day to do the tour in order to get our bearings and then to start visits in earnest on day two. The staff on the buses were very friendly and helpful. Going up towards the Casa da Musica means one has a choice of the Blue,Yellow and Red bus tours. There are plenty of taxis opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    459
    114
    34
    14
See reviews for
250
322
18
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Arriving at the hotel the reception staff were a little busy but service was swift and the reception staff were very attentive and very pleasant.We had asked for a nice quiet room and we were given a lovely large room or suite if you would like to call it that as it had a separate area with dining table and chairs and couch- all in all plenty of room. Breakfast was in my mind good and plentiful varied to suit most people.If I have a negative it has to be the bar, a combined sushi restaurant and bar for relaxing and having a chat about the day is not a good idea.Just my thoughts so enough about that.All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The rooms here are large and light but the hallways are oddly dark and lighted with small lights you would find on a Christmas tree. The desk staff were all very helpful. Breakfast was average. Located near the Parque Cristal but not near center of town or tourist destinations.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psstoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Great room size, a bit tired rooms but beds and pillows were amazingly comfortable. Breakfast was very poor. Evening bar staff very good and professional, the bar is the only thing that makes you feel like you are in a luxurious place. Overall experience 7 out of 10!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Germanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The feel dated but it is not run down. There was a lot of noise coming from the hallway so it was hard to get a quiet night's sleep. Breakfast is included but will do everything but cheer you up. The hot food items were overcooked, the bread tasted like day old bread, the pastries were way too greasy, the fruit was sour and the milk was warm. The only edible thing was pineapple. You can get a better breakfast at McDonalds.

They do have one thing which is positive, free wifi without landing pages that actually works. That's the only reason they are getting three marks - I could work from my room.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RVTAntwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is easily the poorest 4 star hotel we have stayed at.Room tired and dated especially the bathroom.The maid service was substandard (room still not prepared at 17:00hrs).Basement dining room dark dingy with below pavement view of passersby watching you dine.We will not be recommending this hotel to any family or friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunblane88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The rooms are really big and clean. The location is good, next to 2 malls e one supermarket. The breakfast is great, lots of options and at an extended time. No complaints whatsoever. If you intend to get the subeway, though, it might be troublesome, since it is a little far.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#32 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#27 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#35 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#37 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eurostars Heroismo
Eurostars Heroismo
#12 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Porto

Property: HF Fenix Porto
Address: Rua Goncalo Sampaio 282, Porto 4150-365, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#18 Family Hotel in Porto
#19 Business Hotel in Porto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Fenix Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel with a special character.The HF Fénix Porto is the smart choice for those seeking a hotel that not only makes you feel comfortable, it makes you feel special.If you choose the Motion rooms located in the top floors, you will benefit from an exclusive decoration and furniture that will turn your stay into a privileged moment.And if you choose these rooms, you will also have access to the Business Centre room, a space equipped to support those travelling in business. If you’re travelling in leisure, Family rooms equipped with bunk beds are also available. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.The location of the HF Fénix Porto is unmatchable. Just a few minutes away, you can find the Serralves Foundation and Oporto's downtown. And a few steps away are Casa da Música, Pavilhão Rosa Mota and its surrounding gardens. In the evening and in the surrounding streets you can find excellent restaurant offers and an exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your HF Fenix Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Fenix Hotel Porto
Porto Hf Fenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing