We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent price, awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of HF Fenix Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HF Fenix Porto
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“decent price, awful service”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

we booked for a weekend
bathroom was old, the stench of dump and humidity was pretty hard to bear. but anyway, we paid at a discount price so it was no biggie.

what really disappointed us was probably the worst customer service ever experienced.

we asked explanation about a mistake in our booking and the reason why we've been erroneously charged for almost twice the amount. we got no answer and they quickly dismissed us saying they will sort it out and they'll call us back in the next few days to let us know how to fix it. they did not. we had the call them to later get dismissed again, saying that it was not their fault, it was the tour's operator.

so long story short (I'm not going to get into details about the whole story, I quit struggling for this), to this day we have not received any refund yet.

make yourself a favor, steer away from this, there's plenty of availability in oporto to waste your time and money on this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bum_around2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at HF Fenix Porto, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
We’ve trying to reach you in order to understand your complaint and make a double check of the situation referred, however without success.

Therefore, we can only conclude that the hotel charged correctly, once I can’t find any error regarding last bookings.
Nevertheless you’ve referred a tour operator, we recommend to contact them, once the reservation was done by an agency and therefore the contract they have with us, may not correspond with your expectations.

On the other hand I’ll be very glad to welcome once again and so, feel free to contact me in order to manage you a new booking and provide us the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Marta Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    513
    135
    35
    17
See reviews for
286
372
19
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

The Fénix Porto is near the Rotunda da Boa Vista. It is a nice location and a good deal for what it offers: spacious and clean/comfortable room (highest floor possible!), good breakfast, next to Casa da Música and its metro station (same name). You can visit almost all the city spots using the modern and clean metro: downtown, ribeira, Gaia, Matosinhos, international airport, etc. The Douro sunsets are wonderful! Find one of the many views/vistas, they are everywhere! History is also everywhere... Oh, parking is expensive!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cassiodnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at HF Fenix Porto, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very glad you've had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for posting your comments and hope to be able to host you again in the near future

Marta Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
427 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

+ low price
+ not very central, but adjacent to a shopping mall and a metro station a little further, which is direct line to the city center
+ free wi-fi

- desperately old bathroom, stinking of mould and damp
- rooms without a view, sometimes facing the wall
- worst food (room service) I have ever had anywhere in the world - vegetable soup and overcooked pizza
- second worst breakfast I have ever had, worst being the vietnamese breakfast at Dalat, but at least they just liked sushi and noodle for a morning meal, while at Fenix it was only tea and sliced kiwi that was

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at HF Fenix Porto, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion in tripadvisor.com.

We apologize for not achieving your expectation, however allow me to refer that we have very different type of rooms and we’ve made some renovations.
Therefore the Superior, Business and Executive rooms and brand new with modern decoration. I’ll be pleased to introduce you next time and I’m certain you’ll be very satisfied.

We’ve taken good note of your review and send it our Food & Beverage Manager in order to improve our service and consequently meet all our customer expectations.
And so we hope to host you again in a not too distant future.

Marta Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens,GREECE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

(+)
Huge and quiet room, beautifully decorated bathroom, exceptional cleaning, polite staff. Big shopping center, with supermarket, restaurant, cafe etc. next to the hotel.
The center of Porto is easily accessible with around 5 euros by taxi or on foot in 25-30 minutes
(-)
Insufficient breakfast. The room did not have water boiler.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aikcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The location is good, but not extremly central: within walking distance of the center (about 20-25 min) and quite close to the metro station. The hotel is modern, well maintained and looks good. The staff were nice and helpfull, no problem with check-in/out. The room was of very good size, celan and newly decorated. The bathroom was o.k. The breakfast was just average with rather limted choice and variety of food. Generally it's a good place to stay for 1-2 days in the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
262 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room entrance and bathroom are all done in tasteful marble, and the water pressure more akin to a waterfall, fantastic. Breakfast was a fantastic buffet, with everything from fruit, yogurts, toast, bacon, eggs, juices, cheese etc. Great location, walking distance from Casa da Musica with its cultural programmes and lots of shops & restaurants in the area. Climatization too noisy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and started our honey moon at this hotel. All the staff members were very friendly, good breakfast. The only and small minus is location, it takes about 30 minutes on foot to reach the old town. But on the other hand there is a metro station just few minutes away. Also the have comfortable parking place and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#35 of 104 in Porto
697 reviews
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 104 in Porto
842 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eurostars Heroismo
Eurostars Heroismo
#12 of 104 in Porto
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#37 of 104 in Porto
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#29 of 104 in Porto
675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Porto

Property: HF Fenix Porto
Address: Rua Goncalo Sampaio 282, Porto 4150-365, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#18 Family Hotel in Porto
#19 Business Hotel in Porto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Fenix Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel with a special character.The HF Fénix Porto is the smart choice for those seeking a hotel that not only makes you feel comfortable, it makes you feel special.If you choose the Motion rooms located in the top floors, you will benefit from an exclusive decoration and furniture that will turn your stay into a privileged moment.And if you choose these rooms, you will also have access to the Business Centre room, a space equipped to support those travelling in business. If you’re travelling in leisure, Family rooms equipped with bunk beds are also available. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.The location of the HF Fénix Porto is unmatchable. Just a few minutes away, you can find the Serralves Foundation and Oporto's downtown. And a few steps away are Casa da Música, Pavilhão Rosa Mota and its surrounding gardens. In the evening and in the surrounding streets you can find excellent restaurant offers and an exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HF Fenix Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Fenix Hotel Porto
Porto Hf Fenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing