We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of HF Fenix Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HF Fenix Porto
Ranked #28 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Nice rooms, excellent breakfast, good located (not in the very downtown but a nice neighborhood).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
There are newer reviews for HF Fenix Porto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed at the HF Fenix Porto at the beginning of August. We booked a superior suite and it was wonderful. The room was big and spacious, the bed was huge and very comfortable, with a nice sitting area and a well appointed bathroom, with a plush bathrobe and slippers. The location is great, close to the Bonavista Rotunda, the Casa de Musica and the "Casa da Musica" metro station. Breakfast was good and there's free WiFi in the hotel.
The area around the hotel is very nice, with several shopping centers nearby (one just beside the hotel, with a supermarket that closes at 10 pm), restaurants, etc.
The metro is about 10 minutes walking and we felt very safe walking to and from it at all times.
The Bonavista rotunda (and the hotel) is not right in the downtown/old part of Porto, but thanks to the metro it's easy to get there. This was our second time in Porto and we can definitely recommend the HF Fenix Porto.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank El_Josu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The HF Fenix Porto hotel is full of controversies. It's a good four star hotel, with lots of commodities and services, a great location (center of Porto) and nice staff. But it comes with a price, and i'm not referring to money. The room I stayed in, was very good. It was clean, tidy, spacious, but the bed... well... i don't think i've ever slept so bad in my life. The bed was terrible; awfull sleep really. I can't picture an hotel that serves it's clients with rooms with great TV sets, and such lousy beds. If I book an hotel, i expect to have a great night sleep, The other controversy I noticed was the breakfast. Not so much the hotel's fault but, the room is so noisy that the feeling you get from the first meal of the day is "I gotta get out of here..."

But not everything is bad. In fact, as I said, the location is very good, everything seems to be clean an well preserved. It's not expensive for the value you get so I have to say that it is a good place to stay if you really don't mind the bad night sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the building don't have a view. Choose the ones with windows to the stree...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilipeSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I´ve stayed in this hotel for several ocasions, but this time was because i was attending a congress. In fact this hotel Is very well located, a few steps from Rotunda e Avenida da Boavista and just near the exit from the freeway to Lisbon or Braga. Next to it is Shopping Center Cidade do Porto with many shops and restaurants.
The hotel style is modern and simple, however a little datted. from the hotel site online the room pictures looks like very modern, stylish and trendy, but the reallity isnt that good. The rooms are in fact large and spacious, but the general style is still dull, and a little dated. despite all the room the beds are relatively small. there´s a small kitchen and minibar in the room, and the cleanliness is good. Bathroom simple, practical (dated style) but nice with glass door separatting the bathroom from shower. One advice! If you´re staying in the upper floors ask for a room in the side ou corner of the building, or you´ll have a room with a horrible view over the cemitery in front....
There´s a garage with several floors, however the driving space isnt practical. the fee is 9 euros a day....
The breakfirst is nice, with good quality and variety of foods and drinks. General staff nice and efficient. The hotel lacks, free internet, (decent) bar, and perhaps a fitness center or swimming poll/spa.

Room Tip: Ask for the renewed rooms, with a side/corner view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel seems to be a favourite of young ( & very boisterous) Spanish tourists - at least that was the impression gained from the uncomfortable weekend which we spent there recently.
First impressions: Underground parking was cramped & seemingly designed for Fiat Uno owners rather than standard family saloons. Front office staff were friendly enough and check-in was uncomplicated. We had asked for a large double bed but only got a standard sized bed.
Second impressions: The elevator ride up to the 5th floor was tortorous as there was an overwhelming smell of stale body odour in the elevator (and it wasn't from either of us!). The room allocated to us was close to the elevator - "Convenient", we thought! (Wotta-mistaka-to maka!") The room was large but the bed was small. The advertised "free internet access" didn't work. The view from the window was uninspiring (but we weren't there to look out of windows!)
Third impressions: Hungry at 6.30 pm in Oporto? Tough!
This hotel has no restaurant. We were directed to visit their sister hotel Fenix Ipanema down the road. a 10 minute stroll. No problem. Good restaurant there - but it was closed. We were offered a meal in the bar and in hungry desparation duly accepted. It looked good on the menu. In reality it was out of the deep-freeze, into the microwave and then onto the table. It's always a dead giveaway in Portugal if the waiter warns you that the plate is very hot. That means that it has come straight out of the microwave because warming plates isn't a commonly practice.
There are plenty of good eateries in Oporto.....the Fenix group EXCLUDED.
However as most restaurants only open at 7.30 / 8:00 pm so if you want to dine early, you risk being served crap!
Breakfast at the HF Fenix is an experience not to be forgotten. Where else can you expect to be accosted by demented street beggars whilst pouring your orange juice at the buffet?
One thing in this place's favour....it is relatively cheap - but then it needs to be!

Room Tip: Insist on a room which is not close to the elevator - unless you like being awakened at all hours of...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstorilEckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at HF Fenix Porto, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Customer,
First of we would to thank you for leaving us your opinion.
Concerning it, we would like to clarify some issues.
We have very different rooms, from basic to Business or even Deluxe room.
As you can imagine, there's some differences between them, and the size of the bed, is one among others.
Concerning the internet, we're sorry, we've having some problems with connection because of the occupancy of the hotel, however it depends on affluence at the moment. Nevertheless clients can always have good internet connection with pre- paid cards, because it has different connections.
About the food, we would also like to refer that there's different options from snacks to real meals.
We apologize for all the inconveniences that turned your stay less pleasant. However we would like to invite you for a new experience in our Deluxe rooms, for shore you’ll enjoy it.
My best regards,
Marta Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for a quick weekend to attend a wedding in the Gaia and I was pleasantly surprised with how great everything was. The. Hotel ideally located next door to a large mall and across the street from another that is smaller but higher end. It's also very close to the bus terminal and metro, as well as the architectural wonder! casa Da Musica... While we stayed Lin an 11th floor Business room, it was spacious and comfortable with a pretty nice view. The included breakfast was convenient and satisfying... My only two issues iscthat the room did not have an alarm clock, or any clock, and the hotel did not provide while it rained for a one day. As a well travelled person, I can tell you that these little things go a long way. But they are minor in comparison to the hotel in general... I would consider returning to this hotel, or consider another HF Fenix hotel here or in Lisboa for my next return...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddieshieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Large rooms, not so large beds.
We stayed here with a whole host of family for a cousin's wedding.

Aside from lifts that take forever, and beds slightly too small, it wasn't too bad.

The best part was definitely the showers. After nights of drinking and early starts for wedding functions, a shower as hot and powerful as this was perfect.

Another great thing about this place is the location. The Churrasqueira da Rotunda da Boavista is a fantastic place for grilled chicken and is just a short walk away. The rotunda itself houses a memorial column which proved to be a good location for post-lunch wind-down and frisbee playing!

Also nearby, practically next door, is a mall which has a supermarket and some great shops (including Hussel which is very creative with it's chocolate, and an impressive food court).

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiraag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#27 of 108 in Porto
794 reviews
0.0 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#36 of 108 in Porto
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#35 of 108 in Porto
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Porto

Address: Rua Goncalo Sampaio 282, Porto 4150-365, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Family Hotel in Porto
#19 Business Hotel in Porto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $75 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Fenix Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel with a special character.The HF Fénix Porto is the smart choice for those seeking a hotel that not only makes you feel comfortable, it makes you feel special.If you choose the Motion rooms located in the top floors, you will benefit from an exclusive decoration and furniture that will turn your stay into a privileged moment.And if you choose these rooms, you will also have access to the Business Centre room, a space equipped to support those travelling in business. If you’re travelling in leisure, Family rooms equipped with bunk beds are also available. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.The location of the HF Fénix Porto is unmatchable. Just a few minutes away, you can find the Serralves Foundation and Oporto's downtown. And a few steps away are Casa da Música, Pavilhão Rosa Mota and its surrounding gardens. In the evening and in the surrounding streets you can find excellent restaurant offers and an exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HF Fenix Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Fenix Hotel Porto
Porto Hf Fenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing