We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not happy”
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #78 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed December 19, 2013

we arrived on the 13th and all seemed fine but in the morning the day of the wedding we were going to shower but it only had cold water. that was not good but we had to hurrey so we took a cold shower , we told the manager and he said they would fix it. the next night we had trouble sleeping as someone played music all night and when we did get up and got packed to leave guess what another cold shower we went to the manager again so the next guest wont have that problem very disapointed





  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Hotel America
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 169 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is well located in the centre of Porto. The rooms are very reasonably priced (we paid about €50 a night in the high season) and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast has a decent selection of food. That said I would not stay here again.

We had a room facing the street. I thought the room was very, very noisy. The airconditioning made a lot of noise, as did the cars from the road outside. The airconditioning also wasn't very effective: the room was still very hot. Adding insult to injury, the curtains were not effective - letting in a lot of light. So in the end we left and ended up going to a much fancier hotel - which was worth every cent!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were moved here from a booking at a cheaper hotel down the road as there was a problem with the bathroom in our room there. We were not asked to pay more but were offered the buffet breakfast every day and even a tasting of some port. Our original booking did not include breakfast at all so we were pretty pleased. The room was smallish, near the lounge/dining area and had only a very small window with no outlook, I wonder if they keep it especially for upgrades like ours as pics of other rooms in the hotel look a lot more impressive. However our room was clean, with a functional bathroom, comfy bed and daily housekeeping.

The breakfast was great, loads of fresh pastries, fruit (with awesome fruit sculptures), yogurt, ham, cheese, eggs, hot dog type sausages, juice and hot drinks. During an afternoon when our feet were wrecked from a Muse gig the previous night we were able to use the TV lounge with a huge TV and recharge our energy. The staff were probably the best thing about the hotel, endlessly charming and helpful even when we pressed the wrong buttons on the remote and they had to reset the TV.

Location was good, near town and the Balhao Metro Stop, bit of a walk back up the hill after a day in the town though and no trams or buses appear to go that way.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, having come back to check the prices it is awsome value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a large window!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musette_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Localisation - very good. Room and bathroom - average. The smell in bathroom - scary. On the third floor we had problems with wi-fi. Service in hotel - I expected more. Service in restaurant and breakfast - very good. Luckily they had tasty and varied breakfast, comparing to other places.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K'asia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

my opinion about the hotel its totally good, the rooms was so much clean and confortable, breakfast excellent, the staff so kind and generally i recomend the hotel. The hotel its an a very good position on the downtown of the city with a close access to local public transports on oporto the food its so good ans So Cheap with a lot of differents options

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edusantander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location is walking distance from the "main street" of Porto however not that close to the more attractive area of the city, (near the Douro). Room was clean and the bed ok, the staff was friendly and responded to our necessities as in any good hotel. The breakfast is acceptable, not a smorgasbord but for our rate we found it to be ok. In all, no major surprises, no major disapointment. If you want a hotel which offers room and bfast this is a good choice, if you wish for more this will not do it (however acceptable and clean the place is).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in Hotel America. I felt like i was at home.
The living room is very pleasant and the breakfast very complete for a 3 stars hotel!
Wi-fi conection is not available in all rooms, but if you need it, the working team do everything they can to fill your requirements!
Reception works 24 hours!
Nearby we have restaurants, bus stop and metro station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#67 of 108 in Porto
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#69 of 108 in Porto
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#64 of 108 in Porto
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#56 of 108 in Porto
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#44 of 108 in Porto
954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sao Jose
Hotel Sao Jose
#58 of 108 in Porto
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 1018, Porto 4000-447, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $75 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel America 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing