We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PortoSense

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PortoSense
Ranked #9 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It's difficult to overstate how nice our stay was at PortoSense. We arranged with the staff for a taxi from the airport. The transfer was painless. The location of the apartment is perfect, and the apartment itself was beautiful. Communication was prompt and helpful. I fully recommend PortoSense for a stay that makes you feel like you are one of the locals.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuplarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
80
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Porto Sense is a fantastic place to stay visiting Porto. The apartment is beautifull, very comfortable and fully equiped. It is perfectly located. The owner and Christina were very helpfull and reacted immediately on any mail or question. We loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Fransisco studio and we loved it! Also the view from our balcony on the Douro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here on Thursday and Friday night and were bowled over by how fantastic this place was.

The building is not staffed at all times which we felt gave us a great amount of independence and privacy and when we needed help we were able to reach a member of staff easily by email and get a swift reply. One of the PortoSense team, the lovely Cristina, contacted us well in advance of the stay with information about how to get into the building with a code if we were to arrive outside of the time when the building is manned. The keycards for the rooms are stored in individual lockers in the lobby and we were given a code to get our keycard from the locker. As it happened we arrived when Cristina was there, she was very friendly and welcoming. We arrived earlier than we'd told her we would, so our room was still being cleaned, however, she let us see the room and leave our bags. PortoSense has an elevator so we didn't have to drag our suitcases up several flights of stairs.

We had the Santa Clara Room on the first floor. The room was beautiful, tastefully decorated, very spacious and had great views. The bed was big and comfy. We slept really well - the room had big chunky wooden shutters. The square was a little noisy at night (understandably) but it didn't disturb our sleep. We didn't make much use of the self-catering facilities beyond making coffee but it looked to be very well stocked and even hand a hand-held blender!

The location was beautiful with views of the river and the square. It wasn't far from the centre of town - just a 5-10 minute walk uphill.

On our last night (a Friday) I emailed Cristina at 10pm to ask about booking a taxi to the airport and some other things, she replied within 15 minutes to say it was booked and answering my other questions! The taxi driver was their regular driver and really friendly too.

All in all a brilliant stay! I would definitely stay here again if visiting Porto.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was big (the Sta Clara room), the top floor room has a balcony overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Husband, son and I arrived Easter Sunday and were greeted by the owners who went out of their way to assure we had a wonderful stay in Porto. Cristina responded to my emails promptly, arranged nicest taxi driver to meet us at airport and was so helpful with restaurant suggestions (loved Jimao). Our time in Porto could not have been more perfect. Room was well equipped and perfectly located to allow our teenagers bad us freedom to explore this beautiful city.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Algebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A couple stayed here for one night in the middle of a trip across Portugal.
The location is ideal. It cannot be better in this city.
It is a rented apartment, which differs from all others I saw before in one aspect: design. It is stylish, indeed. Not only all details in room and bath were taken into account - it is elegant, individual, broadcasting the sense of a good taste. Quite unusual.
Ideally clean, convenient, safe, well-equipped kitchen - all this can be taken for granted. And the river - here it is, just look at the window!
We booked it through Internet and the real result was above expectations.
Note: it is impossible to get right here by car due to Portosense's ideal location; nearest parking lot is in approx. 300m.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Spacious and comfortable. The building that houses PortoSense is right on the river square. Only the top floor faces the river but you can get a view looking sideways out the big windows that open wide. Our stay was very quiet except for a Saturday night that was a big festival night. It's possibly this area gets noisier in summer? Comfortable bed, good water pressure, kitchen with washing machine and clothesline. Very responsive via email with questions before and with any questions during. Also, gave great advice when asked. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends. I hope your business thrives.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carrievandyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted warmly at the door by wonderful staff. The room was very well organized, well equipped, and charming. Very impressive and well thought out. Don't hesitate to stay here when visiting Porto!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.0 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#2 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
Carris Porto Ribeira
Carris Porto Ribeira
#28 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoSense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoSense

Property: PortoSense
Address: Rua dos Mercadores 3, Porto 4050-375, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PortoSense apartments are ideal for a romantic getaway, family holiday, group of friends or simply a work trip.We offer privacy, space and comfort with the added-value of feeling as if you were in your own home.In Praça da Ribeira, a stone-throw away from the River Douro, you can feel the History: in the fourteenth Century the naval construction filled this port and these narrow streets with movement. It is one of the most visited places by tourists.The recently renovated PortoSense building is easily recognized by the magnificent fountain from the eighteenth century which stands outside it, built in the 1780’s and decorated with Portugal’s Coat of Arms. Cook your own meals in an intimate and relaxed environment, or go out and enjoy the huge variety of restaurants, bars, tapas and typical taverns which you will find nearby by walking through the Cais da Ribeira, up to the Mercado das Flores, Infante, in the direction of the city centre, into Avenida dos Aliados, Praça S. Domingos, Rua Galerias de Paris, where you can be surprised with live music and a very fun nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your PortoSense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing