We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Experience”
Review of PortoSense

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PortoSense
Ranked #11 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

PortoSense location and cleanliness exceeded all expectations. The view from the balcony of the river Douro and the Riberia were breath taking. My wife and I traveled with my Mother and Father-in Law and they could not stop talking about what an amazing apartment we had. We spent 4 nights in Porto and did not want to leave.

Thank you to the Managers of PortoSense who were very attentive and helpful. We needed a Tax at 0600 to catch our flight and arrangements were made and a confirmation email was sent. The Taxi was ready at 0600 as requested and the price was very reasonable.

We highly recommend PortoSense and will book on our next trip to Portugal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had 3 great nights at the PortoSense apartments. All the information sent out by email in advance was clear and easy to follow. Rooms were really well located in the central Ribeira district with easy access to all the main tourist spots and plenty of restaurants to choose from. All the necessary bits and pieces were included in the apartment which added to the sense of being in a home from home.

An inner city oasis is a good description for this place. I would come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Its like having your own apartement in the middle of Old Porto. It really feels like you actually live there, as the small studio apartement is equipped with kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, and the view to your local neighbours.

The apartement itself is quite spacious, very clean, new, and nicely (modern) decorated. As you open the window you will see the stark contrast, very old Porto apartement buildings and the city awaits you with its hustle and bustle.

Great for young travellers like us, I guess, who doesnt mind the noise, as it was quite noisy even until past midnight.

Despite no service (no reception, room service, etc), felt really like living in Porto as you can get food from local supermarket downstairs.

Wouldnt mind coming to Porto and stay here again! If I ever visit Porto again, I'd definitely choose Portosense over a regular hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrtravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We loved the care and attention to detail. One of the best places we stayed - but not a hotel so made it more home like. Everything was thought of!
All the necessary equipment to make a single person or a couple right at home. Would not have a great deal of space for small children or teens. Would call it more of an adult space.
Would move in if we could;)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Strobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Lovely stay in Porto. Apartment was very nice, clean, with all necessities. Map of Porto would have been good to have been given in the apartment. Area is a bit noisy but full of life. A/C was not needed but therefor windows were open for the cool air, which gave a bit more noise. Nonetheless a great stay

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kasper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights and that was definitely one of best rooms I have ever been to. Apartment located in the very Porto center, it's very nice and the staff is full of attention to any needs you may have.

Do recommend portosense for others.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vadimtikanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great location and easy to find. We had the apartment on the topfloor. A duplex with kitchen. We where 3 adults and one toddler traveling and it was perfect. Balcony with beautiful view. Everything new and nice design. Good place to explore historical center, shopping and port wine tasting. You can here the noice from the street but it did not disturbe us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 111 in Porto
354 reviews
0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.1 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Carris Porto Ribeira
Carris Porto Ribeira
#42 of 111 in Porto
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 111 in Porto
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casas do Porto - Ribeira Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoSense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoSense

Address: Rua dos Mercadores 3, Porto 4050-375, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range: $100 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PortoSense apartments are ideal for a romantic getaway, family holiday, group of friends or simply a work trip.We offer privacy, space and comfort with the added-value of feeling as if you were in your own home.In Praça da Ribeira, a stone-throw away from the River Douro, you can feel the History: in the fourteenth Century the naval construction filled this port and these narrow streets with movement. It is one of the most visited places by tourists.The recently renovated PortoSense building is easily recognized by the magnificent fountain from the eighteenth century which stands outside it, built in the 1780’s and decorated with Portugal’s Coat of Arms. Cook your own meals in an intimate and relaxed environment, or go out and enjoy the huge variety of restaurants, bars, tapas and typical taverns which you will find nearby by walking through the Cais da Ribeira, up to the Mercado das Flores, Infante, in the direction of the city centre, into Avenida dos Aliados, Praça S. Domingos, Rua Galerias de Paris, where you can be surprised with live music and a very fun nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your PortoSense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing