We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shame about the bed!”
Review of Hotel Aliados

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aliados
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel is in a great location and is a good price for its central location. I paid for a superior room with a little extra space, but was quite disappointed to learn that the superior rooms did not have outside views. My room had some windows, but you would need to stand on the sofa to see out. The included breakfast was reasonable.
The bed in the room I stayed in was very uncomfortable - way too firm. Well more hard than firm! I was also surprised by some of the hotel rules, like no laundry to be done in the room and if found you will be charged extra. Don't most travellers wash out socks or underpants in their hotels when away from home for extended periods?

Room Tip: My superior/larger room didn't have windows to the outside. I think one of the smaller rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 468 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just stayed at Hotel Aliados for a business trip, and it was an experience I do not wish on anybody.
The room was basic to the extreme (bed with extremely hard mattress, a very narrow desk, two tiny night tables, TV, and a closet with a non-functional door). The bathroom was so small it was impossible to use the toilet without hitting your knees, and also impossible to keep any kind of toiletries there.

The constant noise from the very busy street outside the "balcony" made it very hard to sleep, and the bad smells coming from the drain were appalling.

The cleanliness left a lot to be desired: there were long hairs in the shower (my hair is very short, so they weren't mine), and the toilet was certainly not spotless even though it had the "disinfected for your use" banner on top.

The worst of all was the absolute unfriendliness of the reception staff. Not once did they smile or even acknowledge the guests presence unless they were directly addressed.

The location is certainly good, but there are plenty of other hotels nearby, so next time I will definitely stay somewhere else. Be aware that the pictures on the website are misleading, and do not show the fact that the bathrooms are under 2 sq. m., nor that the carpets in the common areas are threadbare in some section, or that there is a table on the breakfast room that has quite a lot of flies flying over it every morning.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FTQ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Aliados a few weeks ago for a short holiday. Booked here without any knowledge of the layout of Porto, but was really impressed to find out we had found something that cheap, in the center of the city.

The room cleanliness and service are average.The rooms are pretty plain and could certainly use some re-doing, but for the price and location there is nothing to complain about. The mattress could have certainly been replaced, it was very noisy if you moved even the slightest. The people working there always seemed a bit annoyed to have to answer any questions, but all of there answers were helpful.

I would stay here again, but ony based on price and location. Besides, Porto isnt a city to travel to and spend your time in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TS0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Perfectly located hotel ,although some rooms on the front may be found too noisy (especially on Saturday night) . Comfortable and spacious rooms . More thaén decent brakfast .Helpful staff . Good value for money. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel represents good value accommodation right in the heart of Porto. Our fourth-floor room had a balcony with fine views up and down Avenida dos Aliandos. It was noisy with the balcony door open, otherwise no problem.
We had three adults in the room, so space was tight. For a couple it would have been a much more comfortable size.
Our tariff included a continental breakfast, which was fine. There was no shortage of food, though fruit could have perhaps been fresher.
There is a parking garage conveniently located across the road if you are driving.
Staff were helpful, with good English.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper-floor room with a view over the Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here based on Rick Steve's recommendations and were not disappointed. We were in Porto for 3 nights of a two-week trip all around Portugal. Hotel Aliados was both nicer and less expensive than the hotels we stayed at in other cities in Portugal. We were very pleased with our room upon arrival, happy with the service and breakfast, and the location was nice. Porto ended up being one of our favorite cities in Portugal and we will definitely visit again. However, while I would absolutely recommend this hotel to other travelers, next time we visit Porto we will probably stay in the Ribiera district instead, since we ended up going down to that area every day anyways.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been stayed in Aliados for 2 nights. I booked a Deluxe room but the room I get was without even Bathtub neither Window. There was a small window on top but I couldnt even reach it furthermore the room was so dark. The Receptionist Girl was so rude. As someone was pushing her to work. I wish Service could be better, because hotel Location is really so nice. I tried their Restaurant too. it was nice I liked it. Good atmosphere with Piano.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferdii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#77 of 109 in Porto
312 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#69 of 109 in Porto
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#54 of 109 in Porto
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#50 of 109 in Porto
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exe Almada Porto
Exe Almada Porto
#47 of 109 in Porto
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aliados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aliados

Address: Rua Elisio de Melo 27 | Avenida dos Aliados, Porto 4000-196, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $36 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aliados 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers 2 suites with private bathroom and 41 bright rooms, comfortable and airy with wooden floors, 19 of which have a private balcony with a panoramic view of the city, including a view of Avenida dos Aliados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aliados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Dos Aliados Porto
Residencial Dos Aliados Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing