We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for exploring Porto”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel da Bolsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel da Bolsa
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring Porto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is an average hotel, but the excellent location and pricing makes it well worth a stay.

You can clearly hear the traffic outside, so if you have a hard time sleeping when there is some noise then you should probably avoid this hotel. If you are planning to spend a lot of time at the hotel, then this is not the hotel for you either.

But, if you want a almost perfectly located base camp from which to explore the city then this might be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    297
    83
    16
    4
See reviews for
107
271
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Arrived dead tired from nonstop flight from Baltimore. Our booked room was not available until after noon, but manager gave us another room to crash in for several hours. Funny little room with three single beds. When we awoke we were given our proper room on the fourth floor (5th in US), quite spacious with two ensuite bathrooms and a window with view of the Douro, a beautiful park and if we craned our necks the towers of the Cathedral or Se. We set out to walk and find refreshment. There are several cafes very close to the Hotel and two or three blocks away was the buzzing waterfront district with endless cafes, street vendors, shops & stalls. Gaily decorated barges for the must-do river tours were lined up. .Just down the street from the hotel is the magnificent Palacio da Bolsa & around the corner the fabulously gilded church of Sao Francisco. The hotel was very comfortable, and we met some delightful Americans there also. Was our base for walking all over the beautiful city of Porto and its treasures and delights at every turn,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernardette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here with some friends during a tour of Portugal. Overall the hotel was good but I couldn't help feeling we could have got better for the price. The hotel was 150 euros per room for our stay which was not the cheapest in Porto & a lot more expensive than we paid elsewhere in Portugal including Lisbon. On arrival, the hotel informed us that they only had 1 twin and 1 double room for us despite the fact we had booked 2 twins. They claimed we hadn't specified a room type on our booking but our booking confirmation confirmed otherwise. Fortunately they managed to shuffle a few people about and get us 2 twin rooms next to each other but this took around 10-15 mins to recify. Not a good start. The communal areas of the hotel seemed very dated on 1st impressions and in need of some modernisation. The lifts up to our 5th floor room were also dated and could only hold 2 people plus luggage. The rooms, by contrast, are a major positive. Airy, light and modern with a fresh feel. The beds were comfortable, although the rooms got very warm at night. The hotel has a very good location, a short walk from the river front which is alive with an array of bars and restaurants. The central square is also a short walk in the other direction. One word of warning though. The streets in close proximity to the hotel are being dug up as part of some improvement schemes and the subsequent traffic problems made it difficult to get around. Also, the area the hotel is directly situated in is very run down and some long term renovations seem to be taking place with a lot of hoardings, dust and general noise. It's not overly pleasant and something you may want to consider. Overall, not a bad hotel located a short distance from Porto's sights but you may get better elsewhere for a similar price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manc_Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

A great value hotel right in the centre of the old town of Porto. 5 mins walk from Bento station and walking distance from the main sights of the old town. The room was on the 5th floor with only a small window overlooking the street, but this was fine as we weren't planning to spend a great deal of time cooped up in the hotel.

The room was rather basic, but warm, had comfortable beds, a hairdryer in the bathroom and was quiet. It was also, as other reviewers have said, spotlessly clean. Given that the holiday (4 nights), including flights on TAP from the UK was £210 this was more than adequate! The service was very friendly and their English far better than our very limited Portuguese! When we were staying, the bar was virtually empty every night, but this was fine and the drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel bar. I can't comment on breakfast (which was included) as we never made it to breakfast, but the dining room looked perfectly fine.

If you want a very reasonably priced hotel perfectly located in the heart of the Unesco World Heritage site, Hotel da Bolsa is a perfect choice. If you're looking for luxuries then it's probably not for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnesly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night, Jan 5th, and i can tell it isn't a 3 stars hotel as advertised. I'm surprised by all the good reviews received as my stey wasn't pleasant. I stayed with my family and we used two rooms, a double and a triple. I asked for a king bed and got two single ones impossible to put together. The rooms are quite small, including the bathroom, the sink looks like for kids! the furniture is really old. The bed was just a box with a matress on it, the sheets were clean, but smelled too much like chlorine, it made me cough the whole night. There was also a leak from the heating and the drop noise continued during the night. The rooms are not sound proof and the street is pretty noisy, you can hear everything in your room. At 9 am o' clock the maids started with the cleaning but they were so loud, it seemed they were having a fight between them! at the central aisle there were some fixing done on the seiling with brown adhesive tape. The free wifi didn't work during our stay. the breakfast is really poor, we went to get it at 9.30 and there was barely nothing left, just a few pieces of bread, cake and cookies, literally 3 slices of tomato, and some ham i couldn't identify. No plates to take the cereal nor glasses for the juices. the tables weren't cleared; we were 3 and had to use one for 8, the only one cleared.
the one good thing about the hotel is the location, it's at walking distance from pretty much everywhere. But besides that i wouldn't recommended it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in early October. My friend and myself were in Porto for a football match. Northern Ireland v Portugal in a world cup qualifier.

The hotel is in a good location near the waterfront and a short walk to a metro station although almost everything you would wish to see is within walking distance.

The rooms are small but clean. The breakfast is basic but adequate. You can have fresh juice, cereals and bread with cheese or ham. We didnt have a meal so can't comment on this.

The staff are friendly and helpful. I forgot to bring my electric adapter for the mobile phone and they were able to loan me one for the duration of the stay.

For around £110 for a twin room for two nights this hotel is good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALreporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orbetello italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

we stayed here at the end of oct 2012 , for our 25 th wedding anniversery and loved every minuet , we do not stay in hotels much but as my husband works for a well known 5 star hotel here in italy does give us a bit of an idea what a good hotel should be, this is a good one .our room(201) was not big but big enough for us and we are large people and a huge bathroom which may have been for disabled guests ahuge shower with loads of hot water i certainly didnt want any more water presure . the room was spotlessly clean it had air con didnt use heater didnt use and a heater above the bath room door which worked fine . we opened the windows to air the room when we went to breakfast and the cleaners shut it when they cleaned i like a window that opens . the cleaners did a good job i walked round in socks and no problems . as there were two lifts working one of the recent reviews has me a bit baffled ? perhaps lifts are diffrent in oslo . have to say no views in this room we went out for those and only came in to flop on bed (firm like home ) and for joe to watch the italian football results on the tv yes, there was a lot of portuguese on the tv , wow in portugal of all places this is a city centre hotel in a european city it seemed independently run and all the better for it in my mind
reception staff were great and helped us with every thing we needed and breakfast was fine sliced meats and cheese ok, nice bread rolls jams ect fresh fruit melon, pears , apples also cakes ect not my thing but joe said they were ok and i squezed the oranges like at home so it was nice and fresh a continetal breakfast no more no less .
we loved porto we liked that gritty a bit down at heel feal to the area but that is what it is , so this area might not be for you , but we and i as woman alone a couple of times at night felt safe and not at all worried . we found people in the hotel were professonal , friendly and seemed glad that we were there . and the people of porto were lovely we used tour buses, metro and normal buses and we got along fine
one thing i must say is our daughter picked and booked this hotel for us and we got a realy good rate lower than rack rate but we did not feel that we treated difrently from other guests
it did what it said on the tin and did it well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carris Porto Ribeira
Carris Porto Ribeira
#33 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.1 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bolsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bolsa

Property: Hotel da Bolsa
Address: Rua Ferreira Borges 101, Porto 4050-253, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bolsa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Bolsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bolsa Hotel
Da Bolsa Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing