We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and tremendous value”
Review of Hotel da Bolsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel da Bolsa
Ranked #25 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A great value hotel right in the centre of the old town of Porto. 5 mins walk from Bento station and walking distance from the main sights of the old town. The room was on the 5th floor with only a small window overlooking the street, but this was fine as we weren't planning to spend a great deal of time cooped up in the hotel.

The room was rather basic, but warm, had comfortable beds, a hairdryer in the bathroom and was quiet. It was also, as other reviewers have said, spotlessly clean. Given that the holiday (4 nights), including flights on TAP from the UK was £210 this was more than adequate! The service was very friendly and their English far better than our very limited Portuguese! When we were staying, the bar was virtually empty every night, but this was fine and the drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel bar. I can't comment on breakfast (which was included) as we never made it to breakfast, but the dining room looked perfectly fine.

If you want a very reasonably priced hotel perfectly located in the heart of the Unesco World Heritage site, Hotel da Bolsa is a perfect choice. If you're looking for luxuries then it's probably not for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barnesly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Hotel da Bolsa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 638 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night, Jan 5th, and i can tell it isn't a 3 stars hotel as advertised. I'm surprised by all the good reviews received as my stey wasn't pleasant. I stayed with my family and we used two rooms, a double and a triple. I asked for a king bed and got two single ones impossible to put together. The rooms are quite small, including the bathroom, the sink looks like for kids! the furniture is really old. The bed was just a box with a matress on it, the sheets were clean, but smelled too much like chlorine, it made me cough the whole night. There was also a leak from the heating and the drop noise continued during the night. The rooms are not sound proof and the street is pretty noisy, you can hear everything in your room. At 9 am o' clock the maids started with the cleaning but they were so loud, it seemed they were having a fight between them! at the central aisle there were some fixing done on the seiling with brown adhesive tape. The free wifi didn't work during our stay. the breakfast is really poor, we went to get it at 9.30 and there was barely nothing left, just a few pieces of bread, cake and cookies, literally 3 slices of tomato, and some ham i couldn't identify. No plates to take the cereal nor glasses for the juices. the tables weren't cleared; we were 3 and had to use one for 8, the only one cleared.
the one good thing about the hotel is the location, it's at walking distance from pretty much everywhere. But besides that i wouldn't recommended it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in early October. My friend and myself were in Porto for a football match. Northern Ireland v Portugal in a world cup qualifier.

The hotel is in a good location near the waterfront and a short walk to a metro station although almost everything you would wish to see is within walking distance.

The rooms are small but clean. The breakfast is basic but adequate. You can have fresh juice, cereals and bread with cheese or ham. We didnt have a meal so can't comment on this.

The staff are friendly and helpful. I forgot to bring my electric adapter for the mobile phone and they were able to loan me one for the duration of the stay.

For around £110 for a twin room for two nights this hotel is good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALreporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

we stayed here at the end of oct 2012 , for our 25 th wedding anniversery and loved every minuet , we do not stay in hotels much but as my husband works for a well known 5 star hotel here in italy does give us a bit of an idea what a good hotel should be, this is a good one .our room(201) was not big but big enough for us and we are large people and a huge bathroom which may have been for disabled guests ahuge shower with loads of hot water i certainly didnt want any more water presure . the room was spotlessly clean it had air con didnt use heater didnt use and a heater above the bath room door which worked fine . we opened the windows to air the room when we went to breakfast and the cleaners shut it when they cleaned i like a window that opens . the cleaners did a good job i walked round in socks and no problems . as there were two lifts working one of the recent reviews has me a bit baffled ? perhaps lifts are diffrent in oslo . have to say no views in this room we went out for those and only came in to flop on bed (firm like home ) and for joe to watch the italian football results on the tv yes, there was a lot of portuguese on the tv , wow in portugal of all places this is a city centre hotel in a european city it seemed independently run and all the better for it in my mind
reception staff were great and helped us with every thing we needed and breakfast was fine sliced meats and cheese ok, nice bread rolls jams ect fresh fruit melon, pears , apples also cakes ect not my thing but joe said they were ok and i squezed the oranges like at home so it was nice and fresh a continetal breakfast no more no less .
we loved porto we liked that gritty a bit down at heel feal to the area but that is what it is , so this area might not be for you , but we and i as woman alone a couple of times at night felt safe and not at all worried . we found people in the hotel were professonal , friendly and seemed glad that we were there . and the people of porto were lovely we used tour buses, metro and normal buses and we got along fine
one thing i must say is our daughter picked and booked this hotel for us and we got a realy good rate lower than rack rate but we did not feel that we treated difrently from other guests
it did what it said on the tin and did it well

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amanda jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

we must have gotten the worst room in the hotel given all the positive reviews. I give the hotel an average rating for Europe and poor for United States standards, but the breakfast room was fine by Europe standard and the front desk staff was nice and helpful. The hotel was functional but not a place to stay on a nice vacation. The location was convenient to riverfront and had good views from our room but we literally thought we were in the slums. The riverfront historic district looks like the slums – apparently the landlords can’t raise the rent and aren’t willing to pay for refurbishing. It’s the original era construction. The hotel is in this area. It is loud and dirty on the street, but also provides the true color of the town. We got to the hotel on Friday at 8pm after getting lost trying to find it -we called the hotel but they didn’t answer. We think they were watching the soccer game. We made the reservation the same day and nicer hotels were sold out. It’s an old office building and it looks like that in the dark hallways and tiny office size rooms. We found hairs in the bed in first room so changed (front desk very apologetic) and had same issue in second room in the bathroom but decided to stay put - we just wanted to go to sleep. The staff was pleasant but spent a lot of time on sidewalk smoking. The breakfast was fine for European continental; had to make own fresh squeezed OJ - nice option but very time consuming and there was a line; no hot items; free wi-fi and in room safe was nice; no mini bar; bathroom small but workable – we used the bidet to hold our toiletries; there were a couple extra outlets for charging laptop/iphones but they weren’t near a table so just had to put on floor; We ended up in room 603 on the end and it had windows on two sides and seemed a little bigger than the first room 608. The room was just a bed in a box – not one bit of color or art on walls and furniture looked like it had been there since 1963. The pictures of the other rooms on this site look totally different than our rooms. The strange thing is we actually slept the best in this room of all the hotels on our trip! Surprised at the very positive reviews on TA and it was mentioned in Frommers. It’s ok for a budget traveler - athough we still paid over $100 per night - so not super cheap.

Room Tip: avoid the 6th floor unless you are OK with bed in box with a decent view - 603; 608 just bed in box
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgia-and-Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were also in room 101, stayed 4 days from September 19th 2012. Everything clean and basic. Excellent location, central for all sightseeing and a few minutes from the river. Staff friendly and spoke good english. Problems with not clearing away breakfast things and had to ask to refill on the first morning but alot better after that. Good bar. Not a great view, the road outside was busy but didn't keep us awake. I would recommend it to traveller

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaynor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We chose to stay at Hotel da Bolsa because of its great location and overall good reviews. The rooms we were allocated were small (3 on first floor, 1 on fifth), with tired décor and spartan furnishings. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the aircon worked. The safe didn't work but was promptly fixed for us. There was an adequate choice of breakfast foods, but the products themselves were of the basic, low-cost sort. Apart from the location, the main positive to this place were the staff –helpful reception, bar and housekeeping staff. The hotel needs a lift to bring it in line with modern budget hotels for seasoned travellers or conference delegates. My low score reflects this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itchyfeet1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 108 in Porto
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carris Porto Ribeira
Carris Porto Ribeira
#37 of 108 in Porto
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#44 of 108 in Porto
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#46 of 108 in Porto
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bolsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bolsa

Address: Rua Ferreira Borges 101, Porto 4050-253, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $58 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bolsa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel da Bolsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bolsa Hotel
Da Bolsa Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing