We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea view for romantics”
Review of Hotel Boa Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Boa Vista
Ranked #46 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Location.
Hotel location is ca 6km from city centre easily accessible with bus line 500, with a bus stop ca 150m from hotel. Bus ride is 10-15min from centre. Taxi cost some 24e to hotel from airport. If you are not planning to hang in the pubs all night long, this hotel is perfectly located.
Staff
We arrived quite early and room was not ready, but become available in 15minutes, after quick cleaning, which was not perfect. Front desk staff varied from average (bored) to very good, willingly helping.
Room
Hotel rooms are standard, not very big. Best thing is the sea view, if you plan for romantic stay, pay for it. Standard room view can be to back alley. Room have modestly priced minibar. Walls stop most of the noise from neighbouring rooms, but you can still here quite well. Streets are quiet. Internet is free, but for some odd reason User-id and password protected. Half of the equipment were fine with system and remembered settings. For the rest it was annoying to re-enter password like 2yT4xRZ always. Bathroom had soap dispenser, bath and hair dryer. There are 2 elevators next to reception desk and one on the other side of the entrance hall. For unknown reason this single elevator seemed to be more popular. No security locking on the elevator.
Other
Breakfast was buffet type and served downstairs. Even a friend from other stay confirmed that it was served downstairs, in comparison to other review. Breakfast contains hot components and big variety of cold components.
Pool was not serviced in the winter so water was dirty and not inviting to swim. Length is good for dipping and some laps, typical hotel pool. It is on top the hotel, offering nice view.
Top floor bar & restaurant is very nice for dinner or evening drinks with sea view and view at Foz. Prices are modest, nothing hotel top priced, so I would visit here even without staying at the hotel.
Highly recommend this hotel for couples for romantic occasion!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Boa Vista
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 322 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

I spent one night in this hotel in March. Very nice position for a very reasonable Price...the breakfast is at the very top of the hotel. From there we had the opportunity to enjoy a very beatiful view..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mirko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have stayed at the Boa-Vista on three of four different occasions at various times of the year and will continue to stay here. The hotel is away from the downtown core so it is reasonably priced. A historic trolley car stops near by and takes you into the heart of the city. The hotel overlooks an old castle (now a tennis club), and has great views of the ocean. There is a very long beachside boardwalk that passes by the front of the hotel so walking is a great leisure option. The hotel also rents bikes. The are a number of very good restaurants within walking distance and breakfast is included with the hotel stay. In addition, the hotel has a roof top restaurant, bar, pool and terrace so is a great place to relax during one of the many warm evening in this part of Portugal. The lunch and dinner meals are also quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

this hotel has a great few of the ocean and great terrace with pool, but the location is very far from the city center. we tried to walk it on a nice December day and we did not reach the center within the hour. the hotel is clean and modern, but with very strange design features, for example, the room has steps from the entrance to the area where the beds are and lowered ceiling. the bathroom is very small. good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessaX9220AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Good enough facilities for our one night stay (we were for example allowed to use the PC and printer for free to check in for our flight online and print our boarding passes). Car park in the basement available but very narrow surrounding streets to navigate your way through, and a small tight entrance to the car park. But peace of mind, and we were allowed to leave our car there after checking out so we could explore the area before leaving for our flight. Area is interesting, sea front and neighbouring shops and restaurant all worth the visit alone, as is the nearby contemporary art museum and sculpture park. Small double room, buffet breakfast, tasteful enough lounge with piano and English language paperbacks.

Room Tip: Sea views available, and suites available if you need more room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location is fantastic for combining a city/ beach stay - just over an hours walk into the city, or a short cab/ bus or tram ride. The hotel is in Foz, next to beach and sea - lovely! There are about five restaurants within a 10 minute walk, and the one next to the hotel is excellent! The hotel itself was perfect for us - nice rooms, clean and serviced daily. Breakfast catered for everyone - bacon & eggs too, which I wasn't expecting. The main attraction is the roof top pool, which is great - brilliant views whilst you get a tan. The one disappointment with the hotel is the staff - not very helpful and always looking down in the dumps - they need to smile!!! Recommend this hotel for all - great way of see Porto. We stayed for 4 days....you could do a week in this location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralWayWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The ladies in the reception were neither helpful nor friendly. Wifi was only available for free in the reception. There is a lovely view from the bar on the top floor. Rooms are very basic and old fashioned but clean enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estrella1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Residencial Porto Foz
Residencial Porto Foz
#75 of 108 in Porto
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#43 of 108 in Porto
1,273 reviews
1.7 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 108 in Porto
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Porto
Vila Gale Porto
#40 of 108 in Porto
1,132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boa Vista

Address: Esplanada Castelo 58 | Foz do Douro, Porto 4150-196, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $96 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boa-Vista reserves for you the privilege of being the only Hotel in Foz, the noble part of the city, where the Douro river meets the Atlantic ocean. Here you are far away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to everything.The Historic Centre can be quickly reached along the waterfront, offering views of the natural beauty of the river and its imposing bridges.When returning to Foz, you can enjoy the walk between the river and the sea, cross the romantic Passeio Alegre garden and admire the 16th century architecture of S. Joao Fort, just across from the hotel. After the piers and lighthouses at the Douro’s bar, the sophisticated atmosphere of the modern outdoor cafes overlooking the sea is well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boa Vista Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing