We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, away from the downtown core but a nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Boa Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Boa Vista
Ranked #49 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Small, away from the downtown core but a nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have stayed at the Boa-Vista on three of four different occasions at various times of the year and will continue to stay here. The hotel is away from the downtown core so it is reasonably priced. A historic trolley car stops near by and takes you into the heart of the city. The hotel overlooks an old castle (now a tennis club), and has great views of the ocean. There is a very long beachside boardwalk that passes by the front of the hotel so walking is a great leisure option. The hotel also rents bikes. The are a number of very good restaurants within walking distance and breakfast is included with the hotel stay. In addition, the hotel has a roof top restaurant, bar, pool and terrace so is a great place to relax during one of the many warm evening in this part of Portugal. The lunch and dinner meals are also quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    151
    48
    17
    9
See reviews for
43
129
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

this hotel has a great few of the ocean and great terrace with pool, but the location is very far from the city center. we tried to walk it on a nice December day and we did not reach the center within the hour. the hotel is clean and modern, but with very strange design features, for example, the room has steps from the entrance to the area where the beds are and lowered ceiling. the bathroom is very small. good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessaX9220AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Good enough facilities for our one night stay (we were for example allowed to use the PC and printer for free to check in for our flight online and print our boarding passes). Car park in the basement available but very narrow surrounding streets to navigate your way through, and a small tight entrance to the car park. But peace of mind, and we were allowed to leave our car there after checking out so we could explore the area before leaving for our flight. Area is interesting, sea front and neighbouring shops and restaurant all worth the visit alone, as is the nearby contemporary art museum and sculpture park. Small double room, buffet breakfast, tasteful enough lounge with piano and English language paperbacks.

Room Tip: Sea views available, and suites available if you need more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location is fantastic for combining a city/ beach stay - just over an hours walk into the city, or a short cab/ bus or tram ride. The hotel is in Foz, next to beach and sea - lovely! There are about five restaurants within a 10 minute walk, and the one next to the hotel is excellent! The hotel itself was perfect for us - nice rooms, clean and serviced daily. Breakfast catered for everyone - bacon & eggs too, which I wasn't expecting. The main attraction is the roof top pool, which is great - brilliant views whilst you get a tan. The one disappointment with the hotel is the staff - not very helpful and always looking down in the dumps - they need to smile!!! Recommend this hotel for all - great way of see Porto. We stayed for 4 days....you could do a week in this location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralWayWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The ladies in the reception were neither helpful nor friendly. Wifi was only available for free in the reception. There is a lovely view from the bar on the top floor. Rooms are very basic and old fashioned but clean enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estrella1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent a lovely ten days in this hotel. The location is the best feature as you can relax by the coast and river, but also enjoy everything Porto city centre has to offer. The number 500 bus takes you directly to the city centre along the north bank of the Douro. The hotel has a lovely rooftop pool, terrace and bar with amazing views. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable enough. A balcony would have been nice. The breakfast was alright although nothing special. I would definitely recommend this hotel and Porto for a great holiday.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We decided to stay here for the last night of our tour, rather than more centrally in Porto. Our room was lovely (the window was small but the view was great) and the staff, whilst not overly fussy, were professional. Breakfast let them down a bit. Not the best quality and food had run out for people who turned up at the end of service. We were there an hour before that and the choices were scant. That said, the rooms and the rooftop pool were good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlostatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto
1.3 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#45 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Porto Foz
Residencial Porto Foz
#75 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.7 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel and Spa
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel an...
#12 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boa Vista

Property: Hotel Boa Vista
Address: Esplanada Castelo 58 | Foz do Douro, Porto 4150-196, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boa-Vista reserves for you the privilege of being the only Hotel in Foz, the noble part of the city, where the Douro river meets the Atlantic ocean. Here you are far away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to everything.The Historic Centre can be quickly reached along the waterfront, offering views of the natural beauty of the river and its imposing bridges.When returning to Foz, you can enjoy the walk between the river and the sea, cross the romantic Passeio Alegre garden and admire the 16th century architecture of S. Joao Fort, just across from the hotel. After the piers and lighthouses at the Douro’s bar, the sophisticated atmosphere of the modern outdoor cafes overlooking the sea is well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boa Vista Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing