We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Top quality hotel for only €49 euro a night!!!!! we have stayed in some nice hotels before, but have paid top dollar for them, and this hotel was up there with the best of them. Great location, 5 minutes walk from Balhao metro station & Sao Bento Train Station, and right next to all the main city attractions. The breakfast was top quality too, usual cereals, toast, croissants, but also lots of traditional Portuguese pastries, and the coffee was very good. The room was very clean, huge shower with rainfall shower head, and the room was very quite. Couldn't recommend more, we will definitely stay here again if we are ever in Porto.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Donna G,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We agree that the location and affordable prices are very distinctive factors of our offer in the city and we are very glad to know that you also enjoyed our breakfast so much. We are very happy to know that we exceeded your expectations!

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, at the Hotel B & B Évora**.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    1,121
    200
    32
    18
See reviews for
347
1,279
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beautiful facade, smart and stylish minimalist interior, friendly staff and very comfortable quiet room. It was SUCH a change not to have naff chocolate box style pictures on the walls and it's hard to believe this boutique style hotel comes at an unbelievingly low price! Although there wasn't any hair dryer in the the room they were available (for a refundable deposit) from reception and on previous reviewers recommendations I opted to eat breakfast out, a good move as the local pastel de nata and good strong coffee came I at under €2 each day at the little spot just outside the hotel! Arriving latish at night from the airport it was a cinch to walk to the hotel from the metro station (no more than five minutes lugging one very heavy suitcase plus a big carry on), cost under €3 and that included the return trip to the airport!!! All in all an excellent find, I did try to get a room with a balcony but no go this time as they were all full, I will be back though!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clasheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Clasheen,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations where it concerns our location, price and facilities.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

...with the -.5 due to no hair dryer. Superficial issue, right?

Great location (one of the most iconic tiled churches of Porto is on its doorstep), modern decor, super clean bathroom with a rain shower head!?! And inexpensive - 47 Euro! Make your reservation now. The front desk was very helpful in giving us a suggested walking tour itinerary, too.

However, if you want a room with a view (which we couldn't care less about), this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaa2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Eaa2128,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations with our philosophy: comfort at the best price!

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

we had 3 choices to get to the b and b oporto from the airport. taxi of about 30 euro, take the metro with our luggage or the 7 euro shuttle. We were glad to take the shuttle to our door and the driver was a bit of a tour guide giving us a nice intro to the city. The gentleman at the front desk (and he was) was always smiling, helpful and patient with everyone. The front of the building is very nice and the view from our window was right to the beautiful tiled church. The rooms were modern and clean and the windows were great at blocking out the street noise. The square by the hotel is right at the start of the rua santa catarina shopping street and you are walking distance to many sights and the metro to anywhere else. The map you get at the hotel and the airport is very helpful and a good way of orienting yourself is by the metro stops. You will need the map to learn your way around the street maze to the waterfront. Once you get familiar with the area it is a short (though steep) walk back from the Ribeira's waterfront restaurants via either the stairs or lift by the Pont Luis bridge. It is not far to the old market (not the present veggie market) and it is a nice place to have a drink on the balcony enroute to the Sao Francisco church by the river side.The church is the terminus of the old tram that will take you on a fun waterfront cruise to the beaches at the river mouth. I alternated breakfast croissants and coffees at the 2 snack bars across the street rather than the hotel breakfast. There is a convenience store just up the street opposite the church and restaurants galore just beyond. We went to the flea market initially because it was the right day and i was even happier to go through the tile museum - great intro to what you will see so much of in Oporto. I enjoyed the park of the modern art museum more than the art if you catch a bus there. Park was a beautiful place to cool down. My only complaint about the room was trying to get it to cool to a temperature we were used to sleeping in....otherwise a good stay.

Room Tip: we loved the view of the church from our window and the modern windows shut out street noise but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisher_eye_lens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear fisher_eye_lens,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we met your expectations with our philosophy: comfort and good location at the best price!

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro **
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was very easy to find, about 750 meters from the nearest metro stop.

It's pretty much in the center of where you'd like to be.

The breakfast costs extra and I'm not sure I'd recommend it, even though it's fairly cheap (about €6 I think) .. The coffee is horrible (from a machine) and the pastries are substandard.

Other than this, Porto is a gem of a city and has a lot to offer. This hotel makes a perfect home base from which to explore it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seputus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

We much appreciate the comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed the stay with us and everything the city has to offer.

We regret your displeasure with the coffee, as well as some less positive aspects enunciated. I'm sure a second visit overcome the negative aspects pointed.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the Hotel B&B Évora, rated on TripAdvisor as one of the 25 most economical hotels in the country.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for a Porto visit. Metro, directly from airport, stops nearby (few minutes), easy to find. Close to everthing, within walking distance. Rooms simple, but nothing left to wish for. Breakfast great, for only few euro's.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ThijsvanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear ThijsvanN,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We agree that the location and affordable prices are very distinctive factors of our offer in the city.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, at the Hotel B & B Évora.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect. Room was clean and we were able to check in at 12... BUT
1. We had no view, our room were facing the wall of another building.
2. In the building next to hotel reconstruction is happening so the noise were disturbing starting from 8am finishing around 8pm.
3. Room has no safety box.
4. Hotel blocked money on my account before my arrival and upon arrival I paid again in reception. As I have debit card pre-authorisation appeared to be a charge. So I paid twice. Of course they unblock pre authorisation but it a long waiting time to get it back toy account.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgeniya_ef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Madam,

We much appreciate nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the location and the room cleanliness.

We understand the annoyance of the noise you felt in relation to works by the hotel but unfortunately we can not control it. Our Hotel is overbooked so we could not provide all guests rooms with best views. Regarding the safe, it is a budget hotel that is why some luxuries such as safe, are not covered by our policy.
We regret the delay in release of pre payment authorization and hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the Hotel B&B Évora, rated on TripAdvisor as one of the 25 most economical hotels in the country.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#31 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing