We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, great service”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in August. The hotel is new, modern, and very clean. The location is good--you are a 10-15 minute walk to just about every interesting part of Porto, including the Ribeira river district, the Santa Catarina shopping district, and the bridge over the river to the Port warehouse district.

The service was fantastic. We had a number of special requests--a late check-out, baggage storage, a baggage scale, a corkscrew, a power converter, lounge wi-fi after we checked out, etc--and the staff cheerfully accommodated us every time. The stuff also fluently speaks just about every language imaginable.

I would not hesitate for a moment to stay here again if I were visiting Porto.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonnyctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    1,142
    202
    32
    18
See reviews for
353
1,299
93
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Good central location in a small urban praca, in front of a beautiful old tiled church. Rooms were nice, clean and silent. Bathroom good. Parking was convenient. Poor breakfast though. Cafes just outside had better choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikoDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. A word to describe the experience: amazing.
It's a 5 min walking distance from the Porto train station.
The staff at the reception are very friendly. The room is quite large and very clean. So is the bathroom. The breakfast was delicious. All you can hope for.
If I have to say one thing negative about the hotel is that there's no hair dryer in the bathroom.
There's also a tourism kiosk 2 min walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALZ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were in Porto on July 30th and the staff was very accomodating by keeping our bags till checkin time as we came in early by bus from Lisbon. Staff were knowledgeable and spoke many languages and were very friendly. Great location, close to the bus station, train station and metro. The room was large and comfortable, we were 4 of us adults and had no problem.
The staff also helped us in keeping our bags after we checked out as our bus was leaving later
in the evening. I had forgotten my phone in the room when I checked out and did not realize till the receptionist handed it to me when we came to pick up our bags in the evening and I was very grateful. We would book this hotel again when we are back in Portugal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 595Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

When i checked in at the reception i got worried by the sight of of the flies hovering around, but as i got to the room all my worries were gone. The room was nice design with a spotless modern bathroom. It (important for me) had good sound insulation, so i did not hear the neighbours. Ok there was a mark, possible from wine on the carpet, but it is still a 2 star hotel, i can imagine they can't redo the room every time they cant remove a spot. The room also had a tv where i could change the language of the movies to English and the wifi was working well
The staff was very helpful. They let me park my rented bike in the garage for free.
I did not take breakfast as it looked to basic for €6 they charge one can have better pastries with a coffee at the bakeries in the neighbourhood.
For it price, location, friendliness, cleanliness, all points for this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeOmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has a great location, in the center, close to Ribeira, cable car, shops, restaurants, cathedral... The price is very good, and knowing this is a 2 stars hotel, I must say the service is very good too!
As we arrived at the reception, we were surprised that the staffs talked several languages (not just a few words, but actually very good english and french). The check-in was very fast.
We went to the room and found this clean, but very dark (only one little window) and small, with no wardrobe! The bed was ok... The bathroom quiet small as well, but clean. The problem was the shower: no curtain, no door! Hard to keep the rest of the room dry when you shower!!
The breakfast was not good: dry bread, bad cheese, bad juices (not fresh), coffee (even the espresso) without taste (surprising in Portugal! We had spent 2 weeks in the south before arriving in Porto, and the coffee was always quiet strong and tasty!). So we just went next door to have breakfast and were glade to get good coffee and tasty croissant! Also the cafe across the road served very good coffee and nice bread/pastry. We would advice to have breakfast anywhere but at the hotel! There are many cafe near there (in Rua santa catarina for example)...
The area around the hotel is not the best, especially at night.
To finish on a good note: the staffs were very helpfull. They helped us, answered any questions, gave us tips on things to do, and and and. They were all efficient (but no smile!!!) and did their best.
The patio was a nice place to stay too...

I would recommend this hotel for a City trip, because the location is very good, and it is good value for money (49 euro/night for a double room with breakfast in high season). Anyway, if you are in Porto, you won't spend time in your room!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olisa81827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located in Porto, 5 minutes away from the metro and walking distance to the cathedral and the famous bridge that will take you to vila nova de Gaia.
The rooms were large, clean and well appointed. The bathroom was small but clean and functional.
Our room had a terrible view in an alley.
The staff was very knowledgable and helpful.
The breakfast was not included and for the same price, there are plenty of cafés nearby to grab an equivalent breakfast.
Reliable wifi available for free.
The building next door seemed abandoned and there were often homeless people hanging around outside the hotel.
Overall, a very good value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the street and not the back alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katayoun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#29 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#33 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing