We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've been in here twice and i loved it!
The room has good size, clean and confortable.
The location is great. You can reach almost every turistic spots by walking. Near the hotel you also can find the train station, bus stop and subway.
I can't say that the breakfast is bad, but i found it expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Director of Sales at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear susy03,
Thank you for your second stay with us. We are always very pleased to learn about your preference. We couldn't agree more that the Hotel’s location is great, within walking distance from all the major highlights!
As you might need to stay again with us, please email me so we can discuss a special rate for your frequent stays.
We also would like to welcome you at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora (opening later on this 2013).
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    1,103
    198
    32
    18
See reviews for
338
1,265
89
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great value for money hotel, basic but modern and spotless, great location with bus and tram stops close by. Hotel staff very helpful, this is a no frills hotel but hair dryers are available from reception, we asked for extra pillows and these were delivered to the room straight away, so can't fault. We didn't have the breakfast as we decided to try the many cafes in the area. Overall excellent value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JMC364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear JMC364,
Thank you for your nice review!
You're right: at B&B hotels there is no space for frills! Despite our majestic facade which announces a luxurious and expensive hotel, this is a space based on the econo-chic® B&B concept where comfort and location are privileged, with the best price guaranteed.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora (later on this 2013).
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I wish all cities had a hotel like this one. They keep it simple to keep costs down (46 euro a night for a double!) The place is spotless, the bathroom is new and modern, and the location is great! Breakfast is an extra 6 euro a person but not a bad value for the convenience. The coffee machine was quite backed up each morning however- a second one would really help ease this constant back up. Not sure why people have such an issue with the lighting in the halls- it's a good way to cut down on energy usage and wasn't a problem for us at all. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cort99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear cort99,
I cannot say how much your review made our day today :-)
It is so flattering that we will dare to post it in our Facebook page!
For now, you can visit a lot of European cities as B&B already counts 300 hotels (please email me with your address so I can send you a B&B hotel guide) and in a few months you will also be able to visit the center of the UNESCO city of Évora where we will open a new hotel.
Also thank you for your comment about the coffee machine: we are already arranging for an extra one!
Concerning lighting in the halls, it is in fact related with the cinem theme and of course it is part of our commitment with energy efficiency and cost savings.
So, we look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Everything about this property works for a visit to Porto. The location is convenient to the center of the city, rail, shopping and many of the tourist sites. The rooms are quite comfortable and quiet with comfortable beds. The entire property is very well maintained and spotless. There have been comments about the dark hallways and yes, there is a minimum of lighting which can make finding your way interesting but it is just a unique design feature to reduce the amount of electrical use. The neighborhood is quiet and most of the rooms are on the backside of the house away from the street which has fairly light traffic owing to the emphasis on walkable streets and public transportation. There is a garden and some food service although I didn't not eat at the hotel so I have no idea about the quality but what I did see looked good. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again and at the price this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denverflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear denverflier,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are always very pleased to receive such positive comments.
Thank you for enhancing the design feature of our hallways lighting which really shows our commitment with energy efficiency.
We would be happy to host you again soon, here or in our new hotel in the UNESCO city of Evora (later on this 2013).
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook, NSW
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel is located very centrally to sites in old centre.  Hotel is a converted movie theatre and has retained this character in design features and furnishings throughout.  Rooms spotlessly clean and well furnished to a basic level. Included desk writing area.  Public spaces pleasant with garden area.  Staff were very helpful and welcoming although pressed by the number of guests (full house).  Service was great.  Breakfast not included and seemed expensive so we went elsewhere.  Car parking is provided for a reasonable  fee and would be hard to find nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JED52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear JED52,
Thank you for your complete review!
It really covers a great number of important attributes which we are proud of. We are particularly happy for your kind words about our central location, design, cleaninless, service staff helpfulness and our best value option for cheap parking.
We're sorry you did not tried our breakfast which offers a varied choice of sweet or savoury items such as bread, croissants, cake, jam and marmalade, corn flakes, jelly, yoghurts, fruit juices, fruit, milk, coffees, tea. etc..
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future and invite you to visit our new hotel in the city center of Évora (later on this 2013).
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Booked after reading the other position e trip advisor reviews. Rooms are clean, compact, well serviced daily and the front desk staff are super helpful...this really makes a difference. We didn't have a car but I heard the front desk advising guests on parking options for large and small vehicles....very good as I witnessed someone trying to navigate the parking space that very morning. You can walk every where from here, its a great location. A few hobos seem to hang about the far end of the square but no problem. its close to the metro and train station...5mins walk. Good free Wi-Fi. Would recommend ....its great value and good quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Argmemnon,
It's incredibly rewarding to read your title review: "Just book it"!
Thank you so much for your kindness.
We are indeed very proud of our staff's professionalism and are glad you felt it that way as well!
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or our new hotel in the city center of Évora (later on this 2013).
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This modern hotel is located in a restored theater and is decorated with photos of old movie actors. It is sort of spooky to wake up to a live size photo of Joan Crawford. Several cafes across the street offer good coffee, lunch and dinner. Walk every where from here. Staff was very helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1curious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear 1curious1,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We hope that after a good rest at your comfortable bed you did not started your day frightened by the harmless Joan Crawford ;)
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora (later on this 2013).
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#32 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing