We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in December 2012 (Our party consisted of two couples). Having booked online, we got a great rate of EUR 42 per night per room - very, very reasonable for the standard of hotel and location. As others have said, being right on Praca da Batalha we were were able to walk to most spots around Porto.

Check-in was not the quickest, but service in general was very good. The rooms were basic, clean and decently-sized for the price. Free WiFi, adequate toiletries, satellite TV.

As expected, the hotel and most of Porto was very quiet for the two days we were there (24th, 25th December). It was huge plus that the hotel lounge was open on both nights till midnight (1 euro for a lager!) and were also given glasses for the wine we had brought.

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel for the price and I would definitely stay there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikramvasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear vikramvasu,
We are always very pleased to receive such positive comments on our guests' experiences.
We are delighted to learn that your stay with us during Christmas time was so rewarding and that we were able to surprise you in such a positive way.
The hotel is indeed very well situated right in the heart of the city centre. Our rooms offer a comfortable bed and pillows, free and unlimited Wi-Fi, a plasma screen with 70 channels, an office area with telephone, air conditioning and soundproofing. A double room has around 15m2. Our lounge area is also very comfortable and the receptions works 24h.
We just regret to hear that your check-in was a little bit long. We're sorry for this. Please, next time you come to visit us, do not hesitate to inform us of any inconveniences, so we can try and do our best to make your stay as pleasant as it should be.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    1,159
    203
    32
    18
See reviews for
358
1,321
94
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great hotel, cheap prices and clean rooms. The only draw back is that the location is sooo central that there are lots of drunks in the area and you have to be a little careful late at night. Not the hotels fault but it is info you should be aware of. If you want a really nice breakfast you can have it in the hotel though me and my wife found a nice bar just down the road called Marbella, very cheap and great selection of Portuguese pastries at a fraction of the price, both of us for less than 5 euros vs 5.95 at the hotel.

Room Tip: 204 is a very good room, only one side has a room next to it, it faces the patio not the exterior wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Adrian R,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We regret to hear that you've found some drunk people on the surroundings. Unfortunately, as you've said, we cannot control that and are indeed very sorry, especially when our guests found it inconvenient. As you've said, it might be one of the contingencies of being so well situated right in the city centre. However, you should agree that the area is very secure.
Nonetheless, we are very glad you enjoyed our hotel. We recommend our guests to pay the non-included breakfast (a fair offer of bread, juices, fruit, ham, cheese, pastries, etc) if enjoying leaving the hotel with a complete meal.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is very-well located and extremely well-priced. It would be difficult to find anywhere in Europe such great accommodation for these prices.

Staff are friendly even if check-in took quite a long time.

I do not recommend breakfast. For the Euro5 they charge for their breakfast you can eat much better in the many nearby cafes.

Hotel decor is great and very tasteful.

Would definitely stay again at Hotel B&B Porto Centro. Best value for money in any hotel I have ever stayed

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear FLondonUK,
We are very pleased to receive such positive comments.
You should know that B&B hotels are all over Europe with 300 hotels. B&B is clearly positioned at the budget segment so you will find the same comfort at the same price range.
We apologize for the delay on your check-in, but hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon.
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed two nights at this hotel. Good price. Very good location. Free Wi-Fi. Close to the main bus station (and the new metro lines). You can walk to many places downtown easily. Friendly staff. The room was comfortable and clean. We didn't had breakfast because there are wonderful places around the corner much more cheaper (try Império pastry shop in Rua Santa Catarina).
The water on the floor after showering was not ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear faricas,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

B&B Hotel was very new & clean. Good contempory design. No frills, ie: no facial tissues, hair dryer & or hot water kettle in room, but for that modest price, I wasn't disappointed! Convient central location, & helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovenflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear lovenflight,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
You should visit us next year as we will have another location in a Unesco city in the South of the country.
We hope that you've enjoyed our city and look forward to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. It was a good locations around the center. We really enjoyed our stay in Porto.The hotel stuff were great, so friendly they made our stay relaxing and comfortable.We love Portugal and we hope to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marekdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear marekdo,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that your stay in Porto and with us was so relaxing.
We hope to be able to host you again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very nice hotel with good location and more than better price. Very stylish. For sure it must be 4* hotel. Location is perfect, direct in the center near to all historical places, cafes and shops.
Free Wi-Fi in the rooms

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Ksana88,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding to receive such nice comments.
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future.
Best regards and a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 106 in Porto
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#28 of 106 in Porto
1,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#31 of 106 in Porto
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing