We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for staying”
Review of HF Tuela Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HF Tuela Porto
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Very good and dynamic staff, evryone was very helpful and friendly. The meals were delicious and rich, the rooms are clean and confortable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 651 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my friends in July 2010, it was good value for money and good location for the centre and for the airport. The staff was very helpful and friendly and rooms were quite clean. The only thing what we did not like that there was no room service over night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Restaurant at the Hotel can have good food or very bad one. We ate a pasta with shrimp that was terrible (it was tasteless!), and we complaint about it and asked to the cook to do something. We just received the dish back and the Maitre sad that that’s it! Breakfast was everyday exactly the same. Internet access is free, but at some rooms it does not work. Check it is available at 14:00 and early check in is charged at a rate of 6 Euros an hour. Some hotels do that for free from 12:00 as long as there are rooms available, and 6 Euros an hour I think is too much.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Metschnikowia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

We stayed there for 2 nights last weekend. As the other reviews have suggested, the rooms are basic but has got everything that you need in a hotel room. The breakfast which is included in the rates was nice, simple and filling. The hotel is situated just behind a shopping centre which also has a supermarket - very handy! Also quite close to the metro (it's a 15mins ride into town). It's nice to stay away from the city centre to get away from the crowds.

The only complaint is that the walls in the room were very thin with absolutely no sound proofing. We were woken up in the middle of our 1st night due to our neighbours were busy 'exercising'. We could hear very clearly every single thing as though they were right next to our beds. But luckily we had a peaceful and quite sleep the next night so we didn't make a fuss about it to the hotel.

But overall, given the price and location of the hotel with free breakfast thrown in, I would still recommend Tuela. After all, we were probably just unlucky!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DDIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Manager_HF, Quality Manager at HF Tuela Porto, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2008

First of all, the HF Tuela Porto would like to thank you for your remarks.

We would like to apologize for the bad night you had in our hotel.

We can only hope you will give us the chance to receive you again in one of our hotels and change the image you were left with.

HF Hotels – Feel at home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

My girlfriend and I recently spent two nights in the Tuela Hotel. The hotel itself is clean and tidy with all the basic amenities and the free buffet breakfast was excellent.

I'd have to disagree with previous comments about the staff being friendly. Overall, I found them to be so rude that I'd have reservations about recommending the hotel to friends or family. Despite booking a double room they gave us a twin room and only after arguing did they offer to move us or put the beds together. In the end, they didn't put the beds together or move us.

I'm sure there are other hotels in Porto woth considering.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank CoMaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Manager_HF, Quality Manager at HF Tuela Porto, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2008

All those who work in our hotel aim at providing our Guests with a very pleasant stay at HF Tuela Porto.

We work for a better service to our costumers and this lamentable incident represents a rare exception in our way to work and serve our customers.

We would like to apologize for the situation you mentioned and your comments will be taken care .

We hope to see you very soon in our HF Tuela Porto.

HF Hotels – Feel at home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Hotel is located in the city centre next to shopping malls and metro station. So really easy to use hop on-hop off buses, metro or whatever transport.
The room was clean and neat, a bit 70s but it wasn't so bad. Breakfast was simple: bacon&eggs, sandwiches, tea-coffee etc. It's really difficult to find parking nearby, so we used the hotel parking for 8€. The garage is very small and when leaving there is a really harsh edge what requires some skills to drive out :)

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

The hotel was well place for the Metro station "Casa Da Musica" and all visitors to Porto should aquint themselves with the Metro - it is stunning!
The hotel was clean modern enough and very well run. The staff were most considerate and well mannered always. My room was on the next to top floor with a good view across the city. It had good wide windows giving a great view. The room was air conditioned and was very well appointed.
Breakfast was of the normal European type help yourself to what ever although the breakfast room was low down in the hotel and bit antiquated but it was spacious and what the heck!! The food was always of a good standard.
The position of the hotel is excellent for those wanting to walk or travel in the area - not being in the centre of a city can have advantages. Distance from Metro is about 10 mins walk and then about 10 mins on the train to Porto centre - very easy and unbeliveably cheap.
The shopping centre behind the hotel has a very good standard buffet type meal restaurant / cafe in its basement and I eat there a number of times - unlimited for 4.5 euro!!! recommended to sample at least
I have already booked for another stay at this hotel and would recommend without question

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Howard-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#26 of 108 in Porto
1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#30 of 108 in Porto
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#42 of 108 in Porto
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AC Hotel Porto
AC Hotel Porto
#39 of 108 in Porto
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#35 of 108 in Porto
754 reviews
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Tuela Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Tuela Porto

Address: Rua Arquiteto Marques da Silva 200, Porto 4150-483, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Porto
#21 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $69 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HF Tuela Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 1597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saving with quality is at HF Tuela Porto.Paying less does not mean you have to leave something out.This is not a hotel with minimum services but one that adapts itself to the actual needs of its guests. The quality of our services is side by side with the other group hotels and the clients' satisfaction is faced with the same dedication. Even in the South Wing of the HF Tuela Porto, where prices are irresistible, the rooms are equipped with Cable TV and SPORTV, the bathroom is equipped with hairdryer and the towels are changed everyday. The cleaning service is also performed daily and the breakfast service is available as an option. The Wi-Fi Internet is free and it is available in the entire hotel. Its amazing location is priceless: located in Boavista, the HF Tuela Porto has the public transportation network right at its door and it is very closed to Casa da Música, Pavilhão Rosa Mota, Soares dos Reis Museum, as well as an endless number of restaurants with extended working hours and several night life spots. The HF Tuela Porto is the perfect choice for those who do not want to leave anything out, even saving money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your HF Tuela Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Tuela Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Tuela Hotel Porto
Porto Hf Tuela Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing