We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porto Portugal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Hotel de Paris
Ranked #50 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is great for the price and location. The breakfast is the best we have had throughout Europe-especially because they actually had options for vegans- the the best beans and tomatoes ever! Although some reviews commented on the small size of the rooms....we did not think so. The room was perfect, and we had a balcony overlooking the colorful terra cotta clay roof tops. The location was primo, easy to get anywhere from the hotel. The only advise I would give the hotel was to improve the Internet service accessibility. The last comment is the cleanliness of the entire hotel....you could eat off the floor! Spotless!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 994 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there twice. It is not in the nicest street but is very close to the beautiful old town. The oldest hotel in Porto, the public areas are absolutely beautiful. Breakfast was plentiful and varied, with a hot selection, cold meats and cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cakes and pastries. The rooms are small but adequate and squeaky clean. The bathroom was disappointing, the shower over the bath was not fit for purpose and flooded the floor however we positioned it. There is no air conditioning or fan in the room, which wasn't a problem while we were there but I think it could be very hot in high summer.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in the old town and would rather have a character filled hotel than a glass box.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I suppose being fully aware counts for a lot with this hotel, the rooms are small as it is the oldest hotel in the city and rooms never had en suites when they were built thus seem very tight, certainly the shower was hard to squeeze into, if you want comfort and have money and want modern facilities look elsewhere. It is cheap, the staff efficient and very helpful, everything smart, clean and full of atmosphere. Breakfast struggles to meet it's given opening times and is limited but their breakfast pudding is superb.

Room Tip: I assume the rooms are all different be prepared for luxury in public areas but a squeeze in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is the oldest hotel in Porto and sometimes shows its age. It has beautiful antiques and much character but some areas are worn and seem a little random in decor. Location is very central and easy to get to major attractions. Breakfast was included and was good but nothing spectacular. Beds were a bit hard and not a lot of space in the room but a wonderful little balcony.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bizerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were disappointed in this hotel. It looks like it WAS grand at one point, but it has really lost its luster. We found the reception staff to be universally cold and unfriendly. It was really a strange introduction to Portugal, because we thought people would be really friendly, but not this group. The hotel breakfast is GREAT, that is one really positive point, but all in all, we would definitely try to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A fascinating hotel with lots of interesting memorabilia about. Very grand but welcoming. We got there very late but they opened up the bar so we could have a nightcap. Our room was on the small side but then we did not pay very much for it! Hotel nice and warm. Breakfast extensive. On edge of historic area so in a good position.

Room Tip: Avoid 108, 109, 208, 209, 308, 309 as they are on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The rooms are not matching the staircase, breakfast room in terms of antique feeling and size, however, for the amount spent you cannot expect a large suite.
Breakfast indeed plenty, fresh, decent.
Good location, close to subway, walk to downtown, shopping street.
If your room faces the (small) street you may can feel the vibe of Porto's student at 3am.
I inquired information prior the stay, email response was prompt and competent, very good service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1rhiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#31 of 111 in Porto
1,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#48 of 111 in Porto
1,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dom Henrique Hotel
Dom Henrique Hotel
#32 of 111 in Porto
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#28 of 111 in Porto
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel de Paris

Address: Rua da Fabrica, 27-29, Porto 4050-247, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Porto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#25 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $71 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Porto. The charming Grande Hotel de Paris has a long and rich experience which has been preserved since 1877. In addition to being an historical witness, the Grande Hotel de Paris provides excellent comfort, ensuring a great quality-price-location value. The hotel is decorated with restored antiques and guests can relax in the garden or at the Bar, enjoy the multilingual Library or the Exhibition Hall. The front desk is open 24 hours, where Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing