We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Useful Funicular attraction

A modern funicular which helps you to bridge easily the height between lower Ribeiro, and Porto... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Van E
Quick efficient way to the top

This is a modern Funicular, that affords Spectacular views of the Dom Luis I Bridge, it is also... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Andrew R
,
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Read all 1,949 reviews
  
Reviews (1,949)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveler rating
193
215
94
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
215
94
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river fun ride steep climb luis bridge roller coaster free port dom luis higher level cable car across the bridge vila nova de gaia port wine bento euros lifesaver carriage riverside
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

A modern funicular which helps you to bridge easily the height between lower Ribeiro, and Porto Alto. Not as romantic as the funiculars of Lisboa, but worthwhile as during the ride you have a nice view on the Douro. The ride takes a few minutes

Thank Van E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had walked down the many steps to the Riberia waterfront precinct for dinner and asked the restaurant to call us a taxi to take us back to our apartment. Given there was a general taxi strike at the time, our host suggested the Funicular, just by the Dom Louis bridge.

I have never been so happy about a taxi strike! The service saves a lot of effort, it costs just a couple of Euros and the views are stunning. Even if you don't need to go to the top, take a ride just to experience it!

Thank pakabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a modern Funicular, that affords Spectacular views of the Dom Luis I Bridge, it is also pretty Economic at €2.50 to avoid a very long climb up to the top of the City

Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We live in Switzerland, so gondola and cable cars, funiculars are the norm.

This saves time, energy and gives a unique view. So, go give it a try.

Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were thoroughly enjoying our trip down. Unfortunately, we came to a shuddering stop, on the the steepest part, we were rescued by some poor chap who had to walk up from the bottom ticket office. Had to climb down a metal staircase.........not a fan of heights, but hey ho!! Did get a refund for though and was working again when we wanted to go back up

Thank KAREN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I walked on the lower portion of the Dom Luis I bridge and were looking for a way to get up the hill to our hotel. The funicular was the perfect way to do this! This reminded us of the inclines in Pittsburgh, PA. Very cool view and inexpensive way to get up the hill. Worth checking out if in the area and convenient to your stay in Portugal (our hotel was a short walk from the top).

1  Thank dhrilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

My wife and I spotted this funicular railway from the Serra do Pilar Viewpoint, and thought that we must try it out at some point during our holiday vacation, and we did!
The single adult fare was €2.50 per person, and we travelled uphill on it. Quite a short ride, but saves a climb, and seeing the track reminded us a bit of rollercoasters!
The origins of it date back to 1891, but a new funicular and station was introduced in 2004, following the same line as before.
It was quite fascinating as the cars have self-levelling platforms which allows the car's floor to remain horizontal during ascent/descent no matter what the track incline is.
Journey time was approximately 3 minutes.
We enjoyed it, good fun, and a novelty!

Thank thetravellingmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

It’s useful possibly indespensible to get from the end of the main tourist drag up to the best level for a few across and down at everything up and down stream. Reasonably cheap but on our trip even though I think we didn’t quite exceed the 28 max it felt as if we had a few too many to stay happy. Bang up against the others and unable to grab anything to brace yourself and select your own new friends. You may have to wait in a full cabin at the bottom while the counterbalancing car at the top gets its folk sorted. Watch out at the top that the throng doesn’t press you onto three or so dial flights of concrete steps. There is a lift which pops up above the pavement by the road. Take care too that you take the correct road down to the start of the tram level of the bridge. They could do with one bid direction sign.

Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Walked back up the river and took the funicular up the hill. Cost 2.50 Euros each for the ride.
Good view of the Dom Luis I bridge and the other bridges up the river.

Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Very quick ride for €2.50 but great views and very practical, saving the walk up the hill. We forgot to use our metro cards - if we’d done that it would have been worth it.

Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews