We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The highlight of our trip to Portugal”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Vineyards steps
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Roxymoron
Malaga, Spain
1 review
“The highlight of our trip to Portugal”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A stunning location, near-new yacht in excellent condition and a very attentive host combined to make our early September, five night yacht charter the absolute highlight of our visit to Portugal.

We sailed/motored from Ferradosa to the Spanish "frontier" and back, succesfully tackling the 20m lock at Pocinho. The views along the river are spectacular and, in particular, the early morning reflections of the steep river slopes in the water are awesome.

It was harvest time for us, and the grape pickers working the picturesque vineyard terraces on the steep slopes above, always took time to wave, whistle and shout as we passed by, clearly showing that the river is not yet spoilt by over-commercialsation and saturated-tourism. However, there is a restaurant at every appropriate night stop if that is what you wish for.

This is a must for anyone who loves the feel of a yacht beneath them and appreciates rugged unspolt beauty. But do it soon, before this gorgeous largely unspoiled gem of Portugal is disovered and overrun for its exquisite beauty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The yacht and environment
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonandSte...
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get away from it all experience.”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A most enjoyable and eventful holiday experience. Pre holiday emails were accurate re train directions and times, info regarding taking euros rather than relying on cash points etc. Jose met us at the station and took us directly to the yacht. He then took us to a vine yard where we had a port wine tasting session and then a supermarket visit where he gave us advice on cheeses and hams which would last longest on the boat.
Jose provided us with a thorough resume of our trip giving us accurate tips on where best to moor etc. we followed his itinerary and everything went fairly smoothly.
"Fish soup" was delightful as were all the other stops to Barca da Alva apart from Pinhoa which I felt didn't have enough to recommend it. On saying that we met the most delightful crew from a River Cruiser who ended up dining and wining us for moving our boat to another mooring. This was an amazing experience, fantastic scenery, watching eagles, walking to Spain along the disused railway, incredible cheap and delicious food and wine, meeting Mr Amadeus at Barca but it is a get away from it all holiday, some areas are quite desolate and quiet so if your after nightlife, clubs and pubs this isn't for you. If you do like peace and tranquility then give it a go. It's fun and memorable. Jose is a lovely character and has a super niche in the holiday market.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2014
I love to welcome nice people like you...

Cheers

Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocaleit
Leca da Palmeira, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do you wont to know paradise?”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

During four days we made the connection back and forth between Ferradosa and Barca de Alva. The weather was good, not too hot with a favorable wind and a fantastic clouds in the sky.
Always slept on the boat, but as the weather was good, often on the boat deck.
The place where we passed the night the 1st time is very cute, in a small cove, near a railroad bridge and a small restaurant that has a fantastic fish soup.
The next morning we headed out early and at the river Sabor, which entered the last element of the crew - total 6.
In Pocinho the experience up and down the sluice is very intense.
We love Barca de Alva. Visit the old abandoned train station, make the path until the iron bridge connecting Spain and cross it if you can ...
In Alva did not like the berth that is impractical, due to the noise of the engines of large turistic boats. Sleeping advise: go to the dock in Spain, in the Agueda River, which is much more quiet, with beautiful sight and some mosquitos, but not to much!
The quiet, the sound of birds, the sights, the power to decide what we will do next, the friendliness of the people, the dips in the river, walks along the trip, socializing with friends, are some of the reasons to make this experience unique, that we will repeat: next time we will make from Porto Antigo up to Ferradosa.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth C
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sailing on the Duruo to Spain”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This year as a family of 4 we decided to charter a yacht and sail on the River Duruo from Ferradosa to Barca D' Alva and back over 5 days in mid August. We used 'Jose' and the Ferradosa base and had a great holiday.
Easy flight into Oporto, transport via the city rail system to the centre followed by a stay in a hotel for the night and some fantastic food in the city started the holiday. Jose's excellent English and emailed instructions, helped us catch a train the next day to Ferradosa, where we were greeted and welcomed by our host.

We were shown the base and then driven to the nearest town by Jose, via some sites on route and took us to the supermarket to stock up on provisions for the weeks charter We then spent a night on the boat. Local restaurant near by excellent. Following morning we were coached in boat use before setting of to pass under the Ferradosa railway bridge .. mast down.... with Jose then saying goodbye for a few days.

Itinary was to motor/sail (afternoon winds permit downwind sailing using the genoa) to 'Fish Soup Bay' followed by a day's sail on the 'lake' plus spending some time at Foz and another night at 'Fish Soup' Bay. The following day sail to the lock at Pocinhio, pass through then sail/motor to Barca. Stay the night at Barca then return via a night at Pocinhio and a night at Riberia.... before returning for our last night back at the Ferradosa base. Food bought at the supermarket provided snacks and lunches. At night we cose to eat out in restaurants all of which provided good Portuguese country fare except at Barca. Here things were a little more basic! In fact we only just got a mooring as one of the big cruise boats was blocking three of the boat moorings. People were all very friendly, Jose, a delightful and helpful host and owner who spoke excellent English and was, as we have found all Portuguese.. polite, friendly and very helpful.

We returned on the train to Porto (easy journey) then rented an apartment in Oporto for two days before flying home. All in all very easy and no car hire or traffic jams!

Things to remember
You will need to include the fuel and lock fees in your costings
Ensure you buy critical supplies in the supermarket before departure as Barca D' Alva has extremely limited supplies and is circa 1950
You can sail up to Barca or down to Regua. The former is wild and more isolated,,, the later is busier and more touristy.
There is little at Pocinhio and finding the restaurant was difficult.
The beach and facilities at Foz de Sabor was good for our children and included a little cafe and toilets and showers with English spoken to help with any problems.
The mooring at Fish Soup Bay Pregucia is excellent and the food good but has limited choice which you may need to consider in terms of how many mooring nights you stay
The restaurant at Sao de Riberia was excellent and air conditioned with lots of choice but the mooring is exposed.
Check with Jose about meeting times at the bridge to lower the mast. We wasted at least half a day waiting to meet Jose at 1900 hours when actually a midday meet would have allowed us back to Ferradosa base where the kids could have swam and rested and spent time more usefully.
All the port houses on the river seemed closed so we never got to look in any. Research might help
Dont forget to buy an extra gas bottle or two for the stove. We did. Also buy some fly spray to keep the inner free of mozzies when you sleep unless you like been bitten.
Buy some Rose Port Wine and try the various mixes with ice. Excellent.!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and an unusual palce to visit
Liked least: The last day where we planned or return time through the bridge poorly so wasted the day
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the whole package
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed July 7, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Weather, water, peaceful and good fun
Liked least: Power lines (can't be helped!)
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Setúbal, Setubal, Portugal
Reviewed May 31, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Landscape
Liked least: The waiting for floodgates
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2012
Hi Joao

Great Pics!!!

Thanks
Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing