We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hold on to your hat!”
Review of Clerigos Tower

Clerigos Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.75*
and up
Porto City Tour Including Cruise, Port Wine Tasting and Lunch
Ranked #8 of 246 things to do in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Clérigos Tower is the foremost undisputed landmark of Porto and a reference in the city's history. Clérigos Tower opened its doors in 1763, becoming the highest bell tower of Portugal, with over 75 metres. In 1753 the Italian architect Nicolau Nasoni was invited to design and build this magnificent Heritage, considered National Monument since 1910. The famous church was built in the eighteenth century, between 1732 and 1749 and this was the most emblematic work of the architect Nicolau Nasoni. Is one of the most beautiful temples of baroque feature, and a reference in the history of Porto. The Exhibitions allow to discover the history of the Brotherhood of Clérigos, admire pieces from the eighteenth to the nineteenth century, in painting, furniture, jewellery and vestment collections. Christus collection, on the 3 floor, is a trip through time and space where art and religion complement each other.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Hold on to your hat!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The tower does have a fair amount of stairs, but if you're fit, it's a piece of cake, an easy walk to the top. Once outside, it is very windy, so hold on to your hat! We took a lot of fun photographs of ourselves and our unruly hair that was blown into our faces. They are great keepsakes that will make us laugh each time we look at them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AppleSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,591
    2,106
    583
    70
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Rooftops”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good exercise - all those steps - it's not as if you need it in Porto !
Great views over the rooftops and a bit of fun trying to pick out your hotel and where you've been. Nearly missed the last flight of steps as it's sharp left .The last flight is pretty claustrophobic. Took loads of pictures but had a job telling which was which later. I've lost count of how many towers I've climbed - this one is kind of middle of the road but worth a visit as part of your walk around Porto.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank The Sundowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AWESOME VIEW”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Clerigos Tower offers those fit enough to climb its steps (well over two hundred) one of the greatest views of Oporto. Try not to miss a visit to the church as it is baroc at its best. it is a good example of some sort of globalization as it was an Italian (Nasoni) who designed the entire project and this TWO HUNDRED AND FIFTY years ago! Awesome

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josequiterio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lot of work but the best view in town”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When we went to this church, the friend I was with refused to go up but I could not resist. I had to know what the top was like. It should be noted this is not for the faint of heart. The stairs are kind of steep and you are sure to get a little sweaty. Some 200-ish stairs later the view of the whole city was truly amazing. At every angle you could see something new.
It was nice to have done this early on as well, as you can see this tower from most parts of central Porto so it provided a great marker for where we were going. The remainder of the church can also be viewed, and while it is nice, the real draw is the view from the top.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tylskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Checklist, done :)”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went up the tower after leaving the Livraria Lello, we did not have much time left before our bus departed so we went in a hurry :) It is really narrow and has a lot of small steps, you can see the entire city from the view 'deck' which is really narrow also. Even though it was a clouded day, I am glad I did it and I recommend it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IrisCorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clerigos Tower also viewed

 

Been to Clerigos Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing