We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Igreja de Sao Francisco
from $33.70
More Info
from $371.80
More Info
Reviews (3,029)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveler rating
416
286
94
22
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
286
94
22
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold leaf wood carvings beautiful church small museum baroque interior main church human bones worth a visit admission fee old church guide book catacombs jesse martyrs altar kg spooky
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 823 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

This cathedral was one of them most ornate we have ever seen in Europe. The wooden carvings with gold leaf were amazing. The one with the Tree of Jesse was simply awesome (and I really don't use the word much). The tombs below the museum were very interesting. The statue room was also quite a pleasure to see. We were surprised there were no attendants in the room. This is a must see attraction in Porto. We highly recommend it.

Thank ValGary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

The Igreja de São Francisco is one of the most beautiful ones I have ever seen. It has its walls all coverec by a wonderful barroque work in wood and gold which is simply magnificent. Don`t miss it !!!

Thank lprocopio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The church is definitely worth a visit, the catacombs are very interesting. Inside the church is quite interesting and beautiful. Look at the floor in the main chapel. Huge granite beams between the floor boards. If you have a guidebook, it’s helpful to read the stories of the cravings in the main chapel.

Thank Gottago1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never seen a church like this one anywhere in Europe. It's magnificent beyond words and no picture does it justice. It's all carved wood inside and adorned in gold from top to bottom...A MUST SEE

Thank Dina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only €7 admission and worth every cent. If you can only visit one place, this is where to go. Lovely little restaurants about too.

Thank clonardgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

My guide from Take Porto recommended this and I was not disappointed. So incredibly ornate but note you are not allowed to take pictures. A feast for the eyes and the crypts are very interesting too.

Thank Leisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was worthwhile to visit but I can't help but wonder why no photos in the golden church area??

There is some opportunity for updates and restoration work but I guess it would cost a lot.

Thank Business_Travel_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So much gold in the main church! A beautiful more modest chapel as well. The tombs are a bit odd, they go on and on. A complete experience.

Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Compared to all the other moderately priced attractions in the city, this is a let down.
Firstly, why charge to go into a church? The cathedrals in The Vatican and Venice are free and far more impressive.
Secondly, no pictures are allowed inside.
Thirdly, you have to pay extra for an information brochure.
Save your time and money and go elsewhere.

Thank himster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a must in Porto. The church is located close to the river and a tram Stop. The austere and serious exterior (gothic) shall not fool you about the exuberant and beautiful baroque decoration of the church inside . The 7 Euro ticket is well spend money because something like this (very churrigueresco) you will find very seldom in the world. Prepare to be amazed!

Thank Plino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews