We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restaurant and a wonderful dining experience”
Review of Camafeu

Camafeu
Ranked #12 of 1,797 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $35
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: On the first floor of a historical site in Porto's downtown, recently opened a small quiet restaurant, called Camafeu. Go back to the times where you had a meal at your grandparent's place, where the decor was romantic but eclectic and where you can indulge yourself on mouth-watering but not-pretentious food.At dinner time, you are invited to stay for a late drink and enjoy, through the big windows, the scenery of the square bellow (Praca Carlos Alberto, named after our late King). We invite you to try the tender Sirloin steak or the Duck with figg jam, or the Prawn porridge among other fabulous appetizers and main-courses. Everybody will love our home-made desserts. Don't forget to ask for the famous Portuguese wine from the Douro region, either it's Port, White or Red.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This terrific restaurant is on the second floor of what seems to be a house. The inauspicious entrance made us wonder if we were in the right place but once in the tiny restaurant any doubts disappeared. The room was charming with views over the delightful square. We had a wonderful meal and decided to return a couple of days later for another excellent meal. Service was excellent and the two woman servers were incredibly hospitable and helpful. While not pretentious, the Camafeu is able to offer an excellent dining experience. Starters, main courses and desserts were all excellent. Wine was well-priced. We found the restaurant on Tripadvisor and our experiences at Camafeu far exceeded our expectations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SanFran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitasimoes, Owner at Camafeu, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make your review. It was a real pleasure to serve you on your diner at Camafeu! We always try to make our customers comfortable and at home away from home. We are looking forward to welcome you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 325 of 938 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

From the moment we walked into this beautiful quaint restaurant we fell in love with it and our dining experience well surpassed the reviews on Tripadvisor. The restaurant is run by two women and it is obvious that they are very passionate about what they do as this is reflected in the lovely decor and superb food that they serve.

The service throughout our meal was attentive and very friendly but not overpowering so we were able to soak up the ambience of Camafeu and relax throughout. We both enjoy our food and we like dining in restaurants that are not pretentious, but offer high quality food at affordable prices, Camafeu ticked all these boxes for us and more !

We had the scallops to share for starters, I had the duck and my husband had the baked Octopus. He said he would fly back especially to Porto to eat the remaining legs it was so tasty ! These superb dishes were washed down with a lovely bottle of arinto/Chardonnay and some sparkling water. We had a lemon meringue to share and a 10 year old port and a port tonic for myself which is so refreshing, all for €70 which represented excellent value for the quality of the food.

Muito obrigada to the staff and management for a wonderful and cosy dining experience we look forward to returning again in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wellywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitasimoes, Owner at Camafeu, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Your great review really expresses what Camafeu is all about. We do not want to be known for something else other than our hospitality and care on cooking and serving, because Camafeu is our little caring project. We hope that you don't forget to come back any other time, as we surely won't forget you and this amazing review. Our best and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This cook respects his ingredients and produces incredible authentic flavors. He gets the best out of each ingredient. He is inspired by traditional dishes, but masters his passion so well that he produces amazingly balanced flavors. He does not brag with complexcity but excels in the pure simplicity of his dishes and flavor combinations. Do not skip dessert. You will regret it for the rest of your life. The excellent (taste and technique) chocolate fondant with peppery coconut ice cream arouses all kinds of emotions.

The service also reflects the philosophy behind this restaurant: friendly, warm, helpfull and inteligent.

This restaurant is someones well loved baby, and they allowe their guest to share this love.

Do not miss it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mauricelongchanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitasimoes, Proprietário at Camafeu, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review. Our team feam feels realy proud and excited for the future when Camafeu gets this kind og reviews.

I'm reallly happy that you had such a wonderful experiemce at Camafeu.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Comfortable, not pricey, nice selection of wines, simply worth a visit. If you feel like eating well for 30 EUR max per person in Porto, that's the spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Phileas_F_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitasimoes, Proprietário at Camafeu, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. It's really importante for us that our costumers have a great experience in Camafeu. Hope you can visit us again another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor we had dinner here last night. We were most pleased. The place is very small, but the room is cozy and the service is very nice. The veal in pastry (and the sausages in pastry) were excellent, as was the duck. Desserts were very nice. Menu was longer than I expected in such a small setting. Wine list was also surprisingly large. Price for all was quite moderate (about 30 euros a person). Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nathaniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitasimoes, Proprietário at Camafeu, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

So good to read that you really enjoyed your dinner at Camafeu. Its really importante for us that our costumers had a nice night. Hope you could visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camafeu also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Camafeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing