We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT.”
Review of Yes! Hostel Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yes! Hostel Porto
Ranked #4 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“PERFECT.”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hostel is amazing. I usually don't rate hotels or hostels but I have to this time. The room is very clean. What makes this place absolutely amazing is the staffs. They welcomed me and my friends. They were very helpful. A staff recommended a Portuguese restaurant and the food was delicious and it was somethinig that I've never tried before! You can get towels when you put down five euro deposit. At 11:30 you can have a free shot with all other travelers. It's really easy to get around with others if you go on a pub crawl which is after the free shot time. My friends and I had a great time here and I am sure I will go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D I love you YES PORTO

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joohae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    65
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
10
137
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Efland, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is by far the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. The people who worked there were awesome and very helpful; heck, they even took the time to learn everyones name and when they saw you would call you by your name and say hello. The cleanliness is a huge selling point as well. This place was spotless and loads of fun. Dinner is served at a reasonable price every night and they give shots to everyone at 11:30. The location is great its about a block away from Porto's nightlife! I highly recommend this establishment so stay here and help grow the YES! hostel chain!

Room Tip: book with a large group so you can get the suite on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I rate the hostels I stay in based primarily on the staff. The facilities are always considered, but the staff make or break it. Yes hostel has both. A good looking crew with smiles and good conversation. The lounge is bright and bubbly. The kitchen is more than sufficient for you chefs out there. Go there and have a great stay in Porto!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LokiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I loved this place!!! Recently renovated, it's clean, modern, chic, lively, joyous, and really nice on the inside, convenient and affordable. It has a big kitchen for your own use, nice tv area at the reception level, the rooms are nice, organized and not over-populated, cute modern bathrooms, beautiful murals and art all over the building! And of course, the receptionists were the best: both Rita and Diogo were really nice and helpful!!! I definetely recommend this place!!! Plus, it's conveniently located to Metro (Bento), Dos Clerigos, train station, bars, restaurants, cafes... it has it all! Free internet, rent of towels are a plus for me!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusareds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Very comfortable beds, with personal reading lights and power points.

Friendly staff. Quick check in.

Easy to walk past at first because of a non obvious small sign in the door only.

So make sure you have a map (the street doesnt show in my 2010 Rough Guide Map) and the exact address. (It is the first?- doorway on the street and next to a shop window selling shoes).

Brilliant showers.

So it does the basics well.

My criticisms/points or improvement are this.

The kitchen layout is very poorly executed. The oven is crunched up in one corner and there is only really room for one person to be "operating" in the kitchen. To put the small kettle on, one has to move whomever is working at the oven right away. For a brand new hostel this is a staggering design failure.

Coupled with this fact that:- when the hostel puts on a dinner for people (every night I think if enough people sign up and pay 8 euros for it), it takes over the kitchen.

When I went into the kitchen to think about cooking.......the table space was all taken up with plates laid out for the dinner list. I couldn't get to the oven/sink. I went out to eat instead. 2 nights running it gets a bit frustrating.

This is an administration/running oversight (or they just didn't think).

So if you intend to do your own cooking, perhaps this is not the best hostel to stay in.

The front room furniture seems to be just the wrong height to get comfortable on. Maybe someone should have done a "sitting down " test on it , rather than buying it for the "modern" colours.

Summary :-

Good points:-
Good staff
Very good rooms/beds/lockers
Clean
Free internet/computer access

Bad points:-
Kitchen design/layout, communal area too small.
Computers in narrow corridor between kitchen and reception. It has obviously been designed to pack in more *very good* rooms, but at expense of communal/kitchen areas.
The result was whenever I was trying to get online or use the kitchen....I felt I was being moved on. Not really the feel I wanted to feel where I stay.

It is just an oversight, but someone should have been thinking about this at the design.

Top tips:-
Dont go more than 10 metres down the street from the top end, otherwise you have gone too far.
If you want to do your own cooking, go to a hostel with a bigger kitchen.

Would I go again? Maybe...but I want hostels with better laid out kitchens and communal areas. I felt the communal areas and kitchen was too small, so I then ended up in my room. So I would try other hostels first.

A kitchen area and communal area redesign would mean I would be back everytime because the rooms were fantastic, the beds comfortable and I got some great sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 232 in Porto
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yes! Hostel Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yes! Hostel Porto

Property: Yes! Hostel Porto
Address: Rua Arquitecto Nicolau Nazoni 31, Porto 4050-423, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yes! Hostels give a whole new meaning to hostels, providing the best service and infrastructure in the best possible location!This hostel is our newest addition, providing our higher standard of accommodation in this beautiful city.You'll find our super-modern, fully equipped rooms perfect for a comfortable night's sleep. Breakfast is included.We have carefully chosen our location, right next to Porto's main monument, the Clerigos tower and the bustling nightlife.Traveling alone or in a group, you will have plenty of chances to socialise in our events, parties and nightly group dinners.Come stay with us in Porto. You'll be impressed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yes! Hostel Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing