We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth paying for the room upgrade...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Vintage Porto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth paying for the room upgrade...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I originally booked a standard room, but was offered a river view room for an additional 30 euro per night. It was well worth the price for the gorgeous view and the light from three sets of French doors. The staff was attentive and welcomed us with a glass of port on arrival. They were also very helpful throughout the stay. Overall, the hotel is very good, though the breakfast could definitely be better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank arleneb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that in general you found our services to be good.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    473
    106
    32
    16
See reviews for
211
815
44
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The positives: warm welcome, with friendly helpful staff, and a drink to start off a good visit. Room on third floor, with stunning view of Luiz 1 bridge, the Douro, and right at the heart of the old city.
Good breakfast and pleasant bedroom. Impeccable staff service throughout our 3 night stay.
Some room for improvement? Two single beds rather than a double; inadequate toiletries. Would stay here again if visiting Porto.

Room Tip: Overlooking Douro, and the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyedeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you found the Hotel and services to be good. We are also very satisfied with the fact that all the standards and processes during your stay were well conducted. Your positive feedback is most valuable for the continuation and improvement of our services.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the start of the month. It is in a super location at the centre of the old town so very convenient for the historical sights. It is also next to the weekend market and where there are lots of cafés and bars so expect to hear a bit of the hubbub that this creates.

For a chain hotel we were pleasantly surprised when there was a knock on the door with a welcome drink - a really nice touch that other hotels can learn from.

The room was compact but perfectly ok. Breakfast was also good.

There is a lot of regeneration happening in this part of Porto so there is some building noise around the hotel. Not a disaster but don't expect a long lie in!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoodies_sandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We regretted big-time staying at this hotel. Thank goodness, it was only for one night. The room has barely any amenities. Toiletries were minimum and we were given only 2 towels. There was no kettle to boil water which inconvenienced us terribly. When I return to Porto the next time, I will certainly avoid this hotel. There are plenty of other wise choices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel.
We are very disappointed that your stay did not match the expectations.
Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
679 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Cannot fault the Pestana Porto!
First of all, you could not get a better position, right on the riverbank. Step outside the door and you are in the midst of all the colour (and smells) of the Douro with dozens of cafes and bars (as well as souvenir sellers and beggars) seeking your attention. Step back inside and you have the peace and refinement of a first rate hotel.
We had a lovely room with a front balcony overlooking the river and the wineries on the far bank. Our room was a good size, very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was excellent! A hot buffet and a good choice of cereals, cold meats, fruits etc. The staff were very helpful, dropping whatever else they were doing to attend to guests questions.
The Ribeira is full of history and contradiction. Narrow & winding streets take you to 300 year old churches and wonderful old buildings; some uninhabitable - others completely restored to their original beauty. And... street cafes every few metres where you´ll get a cold drink and a decent meal for 20 Euros.
One final thing: On arrival at the Pestana we were presented with a welcome (and refreshing) glass of chilled wine. These are the little éxtras´ that set some hotels apart.

Room Tip: You must have a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panther029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you found the Hotel and services to be good. We are also very satisfied with the fact that all the standards and processes during your stay were well conducted. Your positive feedback is most valuable for the continuation and improvement of our services.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you want to be on the river in the center of Porto, there isn't a better location. Our room was fine. It had a nice view of the river. My only complaint about the room was that there was construction right next door. But the workers started work late - I think it was about 9 - and finished early, so that wasn't really a bother. My main complaint about the hotel was that we had reserved and pre-paid for a superior double river view room on February 19 and when we arrived on June 1 for a two night stay, the people at the hotel tried to give us a room that faced the front of the hotel (the street) with a window on the side where you could see the river around the corner. They did move us when I complained, but this shouldn't have occurred in the first place.

Room Tip: The superior double river view rooms are worth the extra money (but make sure you one if you paid fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BUBear_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your feedback and we thank you for bringing some aspects to our attention.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the staff very pleasant, but when we arrived it was located down a pedestrian street so had to park in a bus stop while one of us ran down to ask about parking. Would have been helpful if the information was provided in the booking.
Sadly the breakfast is in line with the US cheap hotels (think la Quinta). Every other location through out Portugal had lovely breakfasts so very disappointed with canned food.
The beds were incredibly hard, not standard European hard, more like sleeping on the floor.
Location overall was handy to the main tourist sites and easy location to great restaurants (not the waterfront ones).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank charmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel.
We are very disappointed to know that some aspects during your stay did meet the expectations

We do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you in a near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#1 of 101 in Porto
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#5 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Property: Pestana Vintage Porto
Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing