We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April in Porto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Porto
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“April in Porto”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Recently, my husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel. We were greeted with a glass of Port by the courteous hotel staff and felt very welcomed. Our room had a beautiful view of the Ribeira and was clean and quiet. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you found the Hotel and services to be good. We are also very satisfied with the fact that all the standards and processes during your stay were well conducted. Your positive feedback is most valuable for the continuation and improvement of our services.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    631
    132
    45
    22
See reviews for
350
1,179
63
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The day before we arrived the Pestana Porto hotel contacted us and moved us to Palacio do Freixo, (we called and confirmed with our new hotel) due to our original hotel being overbooked. Unfortunately on arrival at the Palacio they denied all knowledge and sent us to Pestana Porto who now had a cancellation. On arrival at the Pestana, no apology, no offer to pay for our second taxi. Given keys to the room but on arrival on the 5th floor no room as the Reception staff failed to mention we had to take a different lift to this area of the 5th floor (maybe they thought this would be funny as we said we didn't need help with our bags?). A cleaner took us to our room. The best bits of the stay were the location and the breakfast (the staff in the restaurant were lovely). The Reception team really let the hotel down as did the mess up over our booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you comments. Needless to say, we felt much disconfort on learning the incoveniences caused upon your arrival and on learning that the processes were not well conducted. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing this matter to our attention.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights 22nd to 29th April at the Pestana Porto, situated right in the historical centre of Porto in the Riberia area. Our room was spacious and very we were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked into reception. You could not want for a better location right against the river side with excellent views of the river Douro, close to local amentites, river side bars and local restaurants. Five minutes up the hill to the nearest Metro station. Staff really friendly and helpful. Have stayed at a Pestana before and this one certainly lived up to its reception.
Only gripe was the building across was being renovated and so it was noisy in a morning but as we were out during the day didn't really effect us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out onto the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Level 6 Contributor
1,707 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 725 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Nice enough hotel. Not my favorite. The area is somewhat depressing. Some find charm others like ourselves did not.
The price range affords nicer locations and better amenitites.
For us we have lived on the river and the ocean beach and prefer the locations with views of such.
A lovely hotel for where it is and what it is.
Staff freindly heloful courteous.
Very clean, comfortable.
No, this is not where we would return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. Though your stay and the Hotel did not meet your expectations, we are pleased to learn that our hospitality and standards had a positive feedback from you.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MIchi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a charming, comfortable, and convenient hotel with congenial staff. While you're there, be sure to enjoy a meal at the small family operated Ora Viva restaurant around the corner and take the short walk across the bridge to taste some port wine.

Room Tip: Splurge for a Superior River View room as high up as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

As mentioned in other reviews - it is the location that makes this hotel so great.
Make sure to book the river view room, otherwise you´d be facing a wall, as the back street is about 2m wide. However, the views from the river view side are breathtaking. The illuminated hill on the other side of the bridge during night looks truly magical.

The hotel has a very cozy atmosphere and despite looking from outside kind of narrow and small, it surprised us with really spacious room as well as the bathroom. Beds are comfy, the floor has a carpet, there is also a table with two armchairs, a CD player, which we used it every day and free wi-fi. Bathroom has toilettries, hairdryer, bathtub and a bidet.
Reception staff was professional and kind.
The parking is problematic, you have to use the underground parking nearby - opposite the "Bolsa" - about 200m away. Pestana has a special deal with them, we payed for 3 nights 42€.

Breakfast is standard, nothing special, nothing bad. However, French croissants were very tasty and champagne (we drink it as a "Mimosa") was the cherry on the cake - the best start of the day!
The hotel is nicely quiet, during our Easter stay the guests were mostly older French couples and some Brits. The city was full of Spaniards.

One thing that I would recommend in Porto (and has nothing to do with Pestana hotel), is to go to restaurants early - lunch around 12am and dinner around 7pm as the waiting time was something INCREDIBLE! Waiting around 1,5hour for food can be really annoying!

Otherwise the city has an amazing charm, beautiful little streets with narrow old buildings, breathtaking views from the Clerigos Tower, from the bridge of Luis I, the "funicular" and from the church on the other side of this bridge that belongs to the military. Port wine Cellars are a must, even though some of them were disappointing (Porto Cruz and Quevedo).

Room Tip: River view, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good. We took good notice of all the information provided.

We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Pestana Porto in early April. The hotel is located right on the Ribiera. We had a lovely room with a balcony looking out at the Douro river, the Luis bridge and Gaia across the river. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Ofcourse it is hard to beat the location of this hotel as the views are stunning and there is constant action in the streets below- there was no issue of being disturbed at night though. The hotel serves nice breakfasts and the staff are helpful and polite.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NSW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.

We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 106 in Porto
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Property: Pestana Vintage Porto
Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious areas of Porto, the Ribeira historic district you will find the Pestana Vintage Porto, constructed as a group of 18 buildings that have been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Postcards always feature the hotel right in front of the Douro River, which blends in nicely with the other historic buildings in the area. We welcome you with an atmosphere that is at once vintage and contemporary, luxurious and romantic. The RIB BEEF & WINE restaurant is the place for true connoisseurs of great beef and wine. All rooms have Wi-Fi and some feature views of the Douro River, the Wine Cellars of Gaia and the D. Luís Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing