We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible location and first class accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Vintage Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible location and first class accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is right on the river in the heart of the Ribeira district .... walking steps to fabulous outdoor cafes and restaurants and a short walk to the main shopping streets and sights of porto. It;s also just a short walk across the bridge to the port lodges. The hotel itself is clean, upscale and well serviced. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheers03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy all the attractions of the area on which the Hotel is situated.

We do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you in a near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    587
    120
    38
    20
See reviews for
303
1,064
55
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in August 2013. Our first time in Portugal and as part of a 6 week Eu trip this place was recommended by the travel agent who booked most of the balance of the trip. On checking it our online we ascertained a price direct from the hotel which our agent could beat so we took it. The hotel access by car is restricted but cabs can get in and out. Being in the historical part of town where vehicles are limited is a definite advantage.
Our first impression was the easy check in, helpful staff and a welcoming glass of white port based refreshing drink. We were upgraded to a river view room which was unexpected but extremely gratefully received. We recommend such a room as a must have.
Size was generous, small balconies (for standing rather than sitting), views up the river to the bridge, small boat landings in front and downriver to port winery sites. Excellent in all respects.
Breakfast was reasonable and we managed to get one of the very few outside tables a couple of times.
Very close to all the old town restaurants and attractions, a few hundred metres to tourist bus pick points and the tram which runs through much of the rest of the town. A short walk (uphill) to the new town and its shopping restaurants etc. A very friendly city and prime location hotel.
A most enjoyable experience.
The big downside was the wi-fi. Although free it was extremely difficult to get decent strength in our room. Perhaps hindered by the thick walls of the heritage building but any decent techo should be able to strategically place more modem points. In today's travel era, a strong reception and wide broadband width internet connection is a must and without it the younger travellers will avoid the place and even us oldies (over 60s) will become annoyed. Other guests also mentioned the problem so it wasn't just our room or floor. This must be rectified. Assuming it is, we'll be back there next time we make it to Eu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
We took good notice of your comments on the internet service. We regret the situation.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuenhof, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Arriving late at the hotel in the rain, we were pleased to be given a nice glass of port almost immediately. Our room was beautiful in every way.. a stellar view out over the Luiz Bridge, and opposite shoreline.. Just magical at all times of day. And the hotel staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Service in the breakfast room was fast and personal, never intrusive. The buffet was lovely, with four different kinds of fresh fruit slices, yogurts, Muesli of several sorts, regular cereals, homemade jams (sweet tomato and quince). A nice array of croissant and breads, and an order of bacon and eggs (cooked a number of ways). The only down side was the coffee, which was rather blah.

The reports about the internet complications are true. The hotel will have to invest in improving its connectivity and ease of access. Nevertheless, this is a super location for strollers, or for access to the medieval town and sites. A taxi called by the desk was there in 3 minutes, and the ride to the airport cost about EUR 20. Coming from the airport, we had taken the train (Metro). Without the able help of a train staff member whose job it was to help non-natives, we would have been categorically lost. The train ticket machines, namely, have instructions only in Portuguese.. and we had to be stepped through it with this nice fellow's personal assistance. We we're awfully lucky he was there. The train trip into town took about 45 minutes; one change after about 35 minutes.

Among Porto sites, a tour at one of the wine producers to see the "pipes" (barrels) of port wine and learn about the history of the industry (thanks to the English) was fascinating. The walk along the Gaia shoreline to the great place we went (Graham's) from the hotel takes about 40 minutes, the last part of it obviously uphill along a sporadically used road. The views from up on the heights are terrific, and to shorten the way "home".. it's fun to take the funicular from the Gaia shoreline up to the (UFO-landing-like) monastery and walk back over the "high" bridge sidewalk.

The hotel has acquired another property and is building another 80 guest rooms in an adjacent building. More balconies, for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. They are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zosh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you found the Hotel and services to be good. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy all the attractions of the area on which the Hotel is situated.

We are also pleased to learn your suggestions and we will take good notice of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was our second time in a year at the Pestana Porto.

the hotel is cozy, the staff is very helpfull and our room was perfect.
When going there ask for room 402. It's the best in all the hotel, I has a balcony and the view to the Douro river and the Dom Luis Bridge is fantastic.
We stayed in this room twice now!

the only thing I think could be iproved is the shower curtain...it could be changed for a glass wall.

I love staying at the Ribeira and having the views we have from this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose room 402....it has a balcony all around and 4 windows....really bright and with a wonderful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy all the attractions of the area on which the Hotel is situated.

We are also pleased to learn your suggestions and we will take good notice of your comments.

Hoping to welcome you in a near future, we wish our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed there with my husband , on a business trip. I love this kind of places, small boutique hotels , with lots of charm. The room was very nice and confortable, specially the barhroom that was huge!
Have to love the view , we are sitting just along the river and can see the wine houses from the other side of the Douro.
Oporto has lots of great restaurants and we visited the historic centre too.
Really recomend this place for a Romantic weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Location location location. Right on the river. View of the bridge and across the river to the Port houses. Very romantic. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. The breakfast was ok not great but included in the price.

A room with a view is a must - I can't imagine not having the incredible view we had while staying here. Well worth the cost.

Only draw back is if you have a car you wont be able to drive up to the entrance during certain hours of the day due to the area being designation of a Unesco site. Small inconvenience for the area.

Walk across the bridge and visit a Port house (or two) and then have a meal over looking the river. :) Take the funicular to the "modern" area of the city.

The rest of the city is awesome. Have a coffee at Majestic Cafe and visit the bookstore which is housed in an old building with an incredible staircase. Churches abound - as in all of Europe.

Suggest a two day stay so that you are not rushed. The folks at the front desk are great for suggesting local, and if you specifically ask, not touristy restaurants, clubs, etc...

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytraveling055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you found the Hotel and services to be good. We are also very satisfied with the fact that all the standards and processes during your stay were well conducted. Your positive feedback is most valuable for the continuation and improvement of our services.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this relatively small hotel on the river Douro. I stayed 7 nights in a beautiful room on the 6th floor. I had views over the city and along the river. The room was very spacious and extremely clean. The bathroom was very clean and functional but a bit dated. The bed and pillows were excellent. The buffet style breakfast was terrific. The bar downstairs was a nice place to sit and watch the world drift by. The WiFi was often busy and persistently "hung up". The staff were all friendly and spoke excellent English. I liked running along the river in the early morning. I would definitely at the Pestana Porto again.

Room Tip: Fabulous views from the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellorMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.1 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Property: Pestana Vintage Porto
Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing