We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      Reviews (2,399)
      Filter reviews
      2,399 results
      Traveler rating
      1,439
      721
      156
      53
      30
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      1,439
      721
      156
      53
      30
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsriver viewgreat locationrib restaurantacross the riverworld heritage siteport lodgescorner roomfrench doorsdom luis bridgelovely hotelribeira districtport winebreakfast was excellentsmall balconyrestaurants and barswelcome drinkold city
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      1,079 - 1,084 of 2,399 reviews
      Reviewed January 11, 2014

      I really enjoyed staying at this relatively small hotel on the river Douro. I stayed 7 nights in a beautiful room on the 6th floor. I had views over the city and along the river. The room was very spacious and extremely clean. The bathroom was very clean and functional but a bit dated. The bed and pillows were excellent. The buffet style breakfast was terrific. The bar downstairs was a nice place to sit and watch the world drift by. The WiFi was often busy and persistently "hung up". The staff were all friendly and spoke excellent English. I liked running along the river in the early morning. I would definitely at the Pestana Porto again.

      Room Tip: Fabulous views from the top floor.
      • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank TravellorMelbourne
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

      Dear guests,

      Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
      We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.

      Kind Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed January 8, 2014

      We stayed at the Pestana during the Christmas season. I selected this hotel on the basis of the good reviews and also because of the user-friendliness of the Pestana website: all the relevant information was there, without the conspicuous black holes you sometimes find in other hotel chains websites (unlike the Pestana, some websites do not even state with sufficient clarity what is and what is not included in the rates).
      This hotel is perfectly placed on the Ribeira: almost all the major places of interest are at walking distance (the San Francisco Church, the Cathedral, the Luiz I bridge, the Port cellars, the pier from where all the cruises depart, the San Bento railway station). But you have to be quite fit: the town is built on a number of hills, and climbing over the various cliffs might be challenging if you are not prepared for it. Another advantage of the location is its proximity to several nice restaurants and wine bars.
      We were given a very big room with a wonderful view on the Douro. That was worth the trip in itself. This said, the various fixtures and fittings of the room were a bit basic. Lights were too dim for my personal taste, the quality of the TV set and the choice of TV channels were a bit disappointing, and, even worse than that, the beds were not at all of the quality you would expect in a place so beautifully located. And finally, bathroom facilities were somehow below par, with shower-heads mysteriously not delivering enough pressure when there was plenty of water pressure from the bath taps.
      Breakfast was pretty good, plentiful and fresh, and the waitresses were kind and attentive. But prospective guests should know that the so called “Restaurant” is only open for breakfast, so there is no hope to get a meal “in house” – we found out at our expense about this on our arrival, and at Christmas day it was difficult for us to find a place open for dinner.
      In spite of the qualifications expressed above, I would still give full marks to this hotel, on the basis of its location and also of the attentiveness of its predominantly young staff. But I would urge prospective guests to book a room with a view: without that, my rating would have been one notch lower.

      Room Tip: Go definitely for a room with river view
      • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank MagisterRome
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

      Dear Guest,
      We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy all the attractions of the area on which the Hotel is situated.

      We do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you in a near future.

      Kind Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed January 7, 2014

      We chose this hotel for the location & it delivered. Our room had 3 sets of French doors opening onto the small verandah facing the Douro.stunnning. It rained most of the time we were there & the lovely room was great. Bathroom is quite dated- poor water pressure, hard to control temperature old fashioned hair dryer, shower curtain. Etc. staff very helpful & friendly.

      Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
      1  Thank Skimum123
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

      Dear Guests,

      Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
      We are also pleased to learn your suggestions and we will take good notice of your comments.

      Kind Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed January 2, 2014

      This hotel is located along the river Douro in world-heritage area. Our room was river side on the 4th floor and the views both in the morning and night time were very beautiful. Also, the room was spacious. The hotel was also closed to the cable car climbing to the sightseeing area on the hill, and there were a lot of restaurants near the hotel. It was very convenient place. The cost was around 130 Euro for a room and the performance on cost was hight. I recommend this hotel.

      Room Tip: River side would be better option.
      • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank YacchanAmarone
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

      Dear Guest,

      We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy all the attractions of the area on which the Hotel is situated.

      We do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you in a near future.

      Kind Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed December 23, 2013

      This lovely hotel is very conveniently located on the Porto waterfront, with easy access to a wide variety of restaurants, bars and small shops. We were welcomed with a glass of white Port and tonic by the very pleasant and helpful staff. Our room was in the attic, which gave us beautiful views of the city, but the slanted ceiling made walking a little treacherous, especially during the night. Breakfast, which we ate on a roof terrace, was quite good and varied.

      Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms in the attic, especially if you are tall.
      • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank DanielleD
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews