We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth your money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here with family on a weekend trip to Porto. No one in our group was satisfied with their rooms. The carpet was dirty, the furniture was aged and the air conditioning sounded like a plane taking-off but didn't cool the room at all.
I personally had a room on the sixth floor, where the ceiling was so slanted that you couldn't stand up straight in the room. Furthermore the air conditioning in my room either made the room smell like sewerage or greasy food being cooked. The bed was only 140cm wide (for two people). Even though this is supposed to be a four star hotel there were no tea or coffee making facilities and no iron in the room.
The bath had mould around the edges and you couldn't sit on the toilet without your knees touching the bath. Be aware that the lift doesn't go to the sixth floor, so you will always have to take a flight of stairs.
For the WIFI you are given a code and password to use, however the WIFI didn't work whatsoever.
Breakfast has a selection of a variety of foods, but nothing was amazing. On one morning we got asked by four different staff what our room number was - clearly a lack of coordination.
The only thing going for the hotel is the 'Porto splash' drink (dry white port with tonic water) that you get when you arrive, very refreshing. However, housekeeping did not find it necessary to clean up the dirty glass for the entirety of our four day stay and felt it was sufficient to merely cover the glass with a napkin.
The cramped room could be forgiven if there would've been a nice air conditioned space in which you could relax in the hotel. However, the seating area downstairs in the bar was dark and stuffy with aged furniture and no air conditioning nor ambiance.
Porto is a great city and I would definitely recommend coming here on a weekend break. There are just better value to money and service hotels that you can stay in! Don't be fooled by the apparent quaint appearance of the hotel or the amazing views. There are plenty of other hotels on both the same and the other side of the river with amazing views and much better quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gg-kfirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We regret to learn that your overall impression did not meet the expectations.

We will take all the necessary actions to all the situations reported.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

A glorious position right in the heart of Porto. Everything is on your doorstep and the views from the rooms facing the river are stunning....throw open your windows and experience the sights and sounds of Porto.
Good bar and good breakfasts. White Port and tonic is a must!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had seen this hotel on the river Douro, when we visited Porto for the first time, last year. Coming back this year we decided to stay here because of its unique location and we where not disappointed. We stayed for three nights and had a room with a riverside view, right on the river. The riverbanks are very busy with restaurants and tourists swamp the place until far after midnight. The rooms of the hotel however, all very well insolated and pretty quiet. Very little noise from the streets below comes in, eventhought there is a lot of it. The hotelstaff is friendly, as are most people in Portugal. We haven't had dinner in the hotel - I wouldn't even know if they have a restaurant, other than the one where you have breakfast. Access by car is a little bit of a challenge because the streets are closed during the better part of the day, although taxi's allways have access. But who would want to drive in those narrow streets behind the hotel anyway?
A hotel and a location to be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerardNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and to know that in your return visit to the city of Porto, you have decided to stay in the Pestana Porto Hotel.

Thank you for your preference, and we do hope to welcome you in a near future.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

An ideal hotel in terms of location for exploring all that the old town of Porto has to offer. Being right on the edge of the water and adjacent to all the waterfront bars & cafes means there is always plenty going on, but the trade-off is it can be somewhat noisy. Our room was large and the bathroom was huge. Good buffet breakfast by European standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy all the attractions of the area on which the Hotel is situated.

We do hope to have the privilege to welcome you in a near future.

Our very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

As a couple we stayed five nights in the hotel. We enjoyed the hotel overall with a couple of comments which could improve the experience.
On checking in, the reception staff were most welcoming ( especially a charming young woman called Raquel) , with a good command of English. Our room was a little late in being ready, (4:30 pm). However, we were welcomed with a traditional drink of white port and tonic, and after advising staff of our desire to watch the Tour de France cycling, were seated in the bar watching until our room became available.

I had requested a river view room and our room actually faced the square, looking down along the river. It was a fantastic view from the window, especially one night when there was an organised Zumba dance event in the square. The room was large and comfortable. For those with problems with stairs, this particular room had a couple of steps down from the bathroom/ entry area. Thus it may be something to check / advise when booking if this is a problem, especially in the middle of the night. The room had very good air conditioning.

The breakfast buffet was quite good, with a wide selection of foods and served on the first floor.

I think the hotel could improve on its decor, especially the bar area , which did not have much ambiance.

The wifi Internet was a login system which was supposed to be a one off login, but we found one needed to log in each time. This was a bit annoying at times, and Internet was often slow and dropped out. . We found this to be common throughout Spain and Portugal, thus it could be their systems are not quite as advanced as other countries in this aspect.

I would recommend the hotel for most people as there appeared to be a wide range of people staying there, eg singles, families, couples. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francolearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that in general you found our facilities and standards to be good and we took good notice on the aspects that should be improved.

We do hope to have the privilege to welcome you in a near future.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel could not be better located, right on the river overlooking the Ribiera district with all its nightime activity of music, vendors, people posing as statues, and so on.

The hotel had communicated with us very nicely prior to our arrival. As a result, we were under the impression that we couldn't take a cab from the train station to the hotel, which turned out not to be true (my fault, I think I didn't read the explanation very closely). It was blazing hot when we arrived, so we got a map and then walked (more like stumbled) down the steep, windy cobblestone streets until we finally figured out where we were going. When we arrived we were exhausted and drenched. The people at the front desk were very nice, checking us in right away, and then bringing us a cocktail we later learned was the Porto Splash as we got into the elevator. Those were right on time.

Our room had a stupendous view of the riverwalk and the bridge. We could just lie in bed with the balcony doors open and see and hear all that was happening outside.

The room was quite spacious, with plenty of room and a big closet. There was a big desk, too. The bathroom was clean.

The bed was large, although it actually seemed to be two twin beds pushed together. It was a little hard, but serviceable.

We used the laundry service one day and, although a little pricey ($3 for one pair of underwear?!), it was nice. (We saw later that just a few blocks away was a public laundry, so we could have done that ourselves, but still, it was nice to have someone else do it).

There was a huge breakfast every morning, in a room overlooking the river, with a balcony where you could eat over the river. We met some nice folks on both mornings that we had breakfast. That price was included in the price of the room.

The bar was small but nice. The bartender was extremely helpful.

The location of this hotel could not be better. You could walk outside and within five steps find a decent restaurant, or buy fish from the woman in the plaza, or buy a ticket and then walk onto the boat tour. You can just walk down the riverfront and across the bridge to the port houses.

We had an excellent experience here, and would certainly stay here again if we were ever in Porto.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you found the Hotel and services to be good. We are also very satisfied with the fact that all the standards and processes during your stay were well conducted. Your positive feedback is most valuable for the continuation and improvement of our services.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent three night here and loved every minute. The location is great, right on the Praca de Ribeira and the Douro River and the rooms were lovely. We walked it out the door of the hotel and were immediately in the action, surrounded by great restaurants, all in walking distance. We looked right across the river to the Port wine tasting houses. The staff of the hotel were most accommodating. We requested an extra bed at the last minute and they made it happen, no problem. They answered our "tourist" questions patiently and all spoke excellent English which was important since our Portuguese was weak, at best. The only challenge that we faced was parking. We had two rental cars and they really don't have parking. They directed us to a lot about two blocks away which worked out fine but driving is kind of crazy around there and we were initially dismayed at trying to find the lot on our own. The hotels in Portugal in general could create more jobs by having valets to park cars, especially in the crowded urban areas!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McLindyDanville_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy all the attractions of the area on which the Hotel is situated.

We are also pleased to learn your suggestions and we will take good notice of your comments.

Hoping to welcome you in a near future, we wish our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
2 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 109 in Porto
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $174 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious areas of Porto, the Ribeira historic district you will find the Pestana Vintage Porto, constructed as a group of 18 buildings that have been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Postcards always feature the hotel right in front of the Douro River, which blends in nicely with the other historic buildings in the area. We welcome you with an atmosphere that is at once vintage and contemporary, luxurious and romantic. The RIB BEEF & WINE restaurant is the place for true connoisseurs of great beef and wine. All rooms have Wi-Fi and some feature views of the Douro River, the Wine Cellars of Gaia and the D. Luís Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing