We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Vintage Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great location right on the waterfront and within walking distance of just about everything you could want to do in Porto. Our breakfast was included and it was decent, nothing to brag or complain about. Service was friendly. Room was adequate. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that in general you found our services to be good.

We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    587
    120
    38
    20
See reviews for
303
1,064
55
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is the place to be in Porto if you want lively waterfront action, close proximity to several good restaurants, and a less-than-fifteen minute walk to many of Porto's historic sites located uphill from the river; also an easy walk across the Dom Luis bridge to the Gaia area. It's definitely worth getting a river facing room because of the stunning views, not only of the river but also the Dom Luis bridge and the port lodges across the river in Gaia. I'm not sure how many rooms the hotel has, but it is definitely not a monster building. Instead it has a very welcoming feel and a pleasant staff, much like a small boutique hotel. Our room, #406, was gigantic with a large bathroom, two large windows facing the river, two other large windows on the side, and it was very quiet.

We arrived by taxi (probably better than driving yourself) and were promptly greeted with a welcome drink. Check in & check out was smooth and the front desk handled our luggage promptly coming and going. In addition to the breakfast room, the hotel has a small cafe/tavern on the ground floor that's prefect for a light meal along with a variety of drinks, and with an outdoor seating area.

Room Tip: Go for a river facing room, it's worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2SLOTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you found our services and facilities to be good.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future, we wish our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Easy to get to from Porto airport. Located in a central area of Porto and quick access to historic and tourist's points of interest. Clean rooms and spacious for European hotel. Breakfast was ok, but not amazing. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmindigo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have enjoyed the area on which the Hotel is situated.

Hoping to welcome you in a near future, we wish our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved our stay at the Pestana hotel. The location is perfect, the staff wonderful, the rooms spacious and clean, the service great. What more can you ask?

We splurged on a river view room. Highly recommended! We enjoyed the amazing views from our window.

Room Tip: The river view room was more expensive, but was worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savtata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you found the Hotel and services to be good. Your positive feedback is most valuable for the continuation and improvement of our services.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you in a near future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Have just returned from an amazing few days in Porto. We had booked the hotel through Trevago and paid for a standard room for 4 nights but were given room 403 which was a corner room/suite, with 4 large windows opening out on to a balcony with a stunning view of river and bridges. The room its self was beautiful and we slept amazingly well. Very efficient air conditioning which we needed as it was very hot whilst we were there.
The hotel and its staff were first class. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed sitting out on the terrace one morning enjoying the views and atmosphere whilst having breakfast. The location can't be beaten with a good selection of bars and restaurant available literally on its doorstep.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment of being full as not a large hotel and ask for a high level river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have taken the opportunity to feel the atmosphere of the area on which the Hotel is situated.

We do hope to have the privilege to welcome you in a near future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Having booked on 9th January a deluxe river room for 3 nights at the Pestana Porto for 12-15 June, on arrival we were told our room was unavailable and given a very inferior room looking on to a wall for our first night. There was only a 23 euro reduction for the inferior room. We were also charged 3 euros for a complimentary bottle of water -which we didn't notice until we had left!
The receptionist was extremely helpful when we wished to book our rail ticket to Lisbon and also in booking a day cruise for us on the Douro.
The breakfast was very nice served in a pleasant breakfast room although we were surprised that service only started at 7.30am when we were leaving early for our day on the Douro.

Room Tip: Choose a river facing room and hope you get it for all nights!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieRenfrewshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We regret that you had had the disappointement reported on your comments upon arrival, whislt we are pleased to learn that some aspects on your stay were positive.

We do hope to welcome you in a near future,

Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We loved this hotel! The location is perfect for walking and restaurants and is located on a picturesque square right on the river. The views of the river and monastery are spectacular. When opening the French doors to the balcony, it feels like a party because you can hear the music from the square and then magically, it's very quiet when the doors close. There are slicker hotels but this one has soul, as well as a very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdnmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your description about your stay. We are very pleased to learn that you had had the opportunity to feel all the atmosphere of the Hotel and of the area on which it is situated.

We do hope to welcome you in a near future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.1 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Property: Pestana Vintage Porto
Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing