We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Vintage Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a great hotel; friendly and informed staff. Our room had a wonderful view. Jacqueline at front desk is a pro, she helped us sort out reservations and other matters. The location was at the center of all activities. The breakfast was very good each morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    586
    120
    38
    20
See reviews for
302
1,061
55
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel via booking.com last year for 4 nights. We booked a suite which as it was supposed to include tea and coffee making facilities and a trouser press, both things which we appreciate when we are away on long holidays. However, on arrival neither were present but after a request to Jacqueline on Reception a deduction of 20€ per night was made, which we certainly appreciated. The hotel also took payment for our room in December for a May booking, so be aware of this as booking.com states that payment will be on arrival, which is not the case.
Our Suite 402 on the 4th floor facing the Douro river and quay area which was lovely at night and in the morning. This room could be noisy for some but I am a light sleeper and never had a problem due to the double glazed windows.
There is constant music and action outside as the quay is full of restaurants and bars, so you are right in the heart of things. You are also within walking distance of the Gaia area across the river, where all the Port Caves are and where it's a must to do some port tasting.
The breakfasts were really delicious and included champagne as well as boiled and scrambled eggs and bacon, as well as the usual breads, cheese, cold meats and different pastries each day. Service was excellent everywhere.
They do offer a private transfer to the airport but our taxis were much cheaper than the 35€ they charged for this service.
It's close to Hop on Hop off bus routes, trams and heaps of restaurants and bars, and a short but uphill walk of 10-15 minutes to the San Estaban station.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at the Pestana Porto for two nights. Spent one day walking around Porto and the next day visiting the Douro valley.

The hotel has a wonderful location in the thick of things on the Ribeira. Lots of places to eat and drink right outside. The views of the river from our windows were outstanding.

We had a junior suite which was very comfortable. Breakfast was good.

While the hotel is located in an old building, the interiors are very modern - I wish they had maintained some Portugese character when doing the interiors.

Getting to the station and the airport was very convenient, and if walking to the city, the funicular is five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta, ga
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

pleasant hotel in a lively setting on the river. the rooms overlooking the river with balconies are the best. lots of restaurants and cafes with in minutes of the front door. helpful staff that can get you a car and driver to go to surrounding areas if you need one. good breakfast. i liked being in the middle of all the activity and the noise did not bother me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verysatisfied09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in Porto for a few nights. We were right on the waterfront and on a plaza where there were lots of festivites happening day and evening. The hotel was very pleasant. The room we had was two stories high, so it felt like an apartment. It had balcony windows you could open up onto the plaza. Just delightful. If you are handicapped at all, this would not be a god room. Other rooms were more typical and would be just fine for anyone with any handicaps. The city of Porto is very easy to navigate, and from the hotel you were in a great location to go anywhere. You were at a bottom of a hill, so be prepared to walk up some hills.

Room Tip: Rooms can over look the water or the plaza, or someones laundry. Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smlclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

No parking, lousy decoration, terribly noisy - up to 1h30 am people singing out loud in the street and vacuum-cleaning at 7h10 am. They offer you a welcome Port wine while you're checking in and have yet to bring your bags up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristinavieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Overlooking the river and in the center of the riverfront restaurants, this is the perfect place for exploring Porto. It can get a bit noisy during the day but by 9 or 10 the street noise has died down and with double paned windows the room is absolutely quiet. The staff is well trained, cordial and efficient. Breakfast is an added treat well conceived and varied.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.1 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Property: Pestana Vintage Porto
Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing