We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tapas place in Porto!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museu D'Avo

Museu D'Avo
Ranked #153 of 1,610 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best tapas place in Porto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very quirky kinda style for its decoration, but very cosy and nice. A bit hard to find as one may miss it very easily.

We ordered around 8 tapas for 3 of us to share, here are some great ones that we can still remember: the Portuguese rice/ risotto, the steak with eggs, and some sort of fish. But to the best of my knowledge, the tapas were all really really GOOD.

The place was however regrettably understaffed. One waitress to serve the whole restaurant which made ordering a bit tough (but she was still very professional and friendly though obviously pressured by the workload).

A tapas ranges from 2-8 euros roughly, but the overall bill for one person did not exceed 15 euros, and we were all very full and satisfied with our meal.

Will definitely visit it again if in town again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    106
    44
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hidden restaurant ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We walked past the place several times trying to track down the location based on a recommendation and I'm glad we going it. Really cool looking decoration, and great tapas that were very reasonably priced. Definitely recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank Parascs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Portuguese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Absolutely amazing restaurant in Porto - can definitely recommend it. Well priced and delicious meals in tapas-sizes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Romantic place with very friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a friend who studied in Porto and it came to no surprise that it was a young crowd. Even on a monday night it was filled with people which was good because it was very chilly. The service was very friendly and efficient. The food we liked a lot as it is a tapas place with small dishes, so you can try a variety of things. The wine was nice and it was a very romantic evening. I would go back as this was one of the best experiences in Porto.
Nonsmokers be aware that smoking is allowed inside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefano O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had high expectations being raised by the recommendation of our hotel staff, but those were easily overachieved. What a great quality of food, what a unbelievable quality of service, resulting in an ubforgetable dinner! Reservation is absolutely recommended, don't miss the scampi in garlic and the codfish in cream! Great experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rheumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu D'Avo also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Museu D'Avo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing