We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, good location albeit deceptive re: amenities”
Review of HF Ipanema Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HF Ipanema Porto
Ranked #27 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We went for the top level suite and what a let down. FIrstly, we were adamant about non-smoking as I have severe allergies and despite non-smoking floors and four emails back and forth we had a smoking room with ashtrays everywhere. They let us try two other rooms all smoking rooms and just as bad. The carpets were worn and the room could use a good update and thorough cleaning. The space online appeared much bigger than in real life
On the plus it was well located, excellent restaurant and large comfortable beds. EVERYTHING was a charge. They said free Wi Fi but it is not in your room. So you need to lug your computer down to the noisy busy bar to use it. You can not even make 800 calls from your room without a charge. They say parking available for about 30 spaces of 218 rooms and then no one to help with your bags. When we got hit with a $15 parking charge (no advised as such) that was the kicker.
The 10th floor view was of deteriorated roof tops and there was puddles of water in the hall. Two elevators with a capacity of 5 people for 218 rooms.
The other hotels in the chain look much more upscale. For a one night business meeting this might be fine but I would think twice before returning.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aligold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for HF Ipanema Porto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 794 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

The friendly and helpful recpetion staff are the best asset of this hotel, though there is no tourist information to speak of available in the lobby. The room was clean and pleasant, but no tea/coffee making facilities and the air-con. didn't work properly, even after maintenance had been. Breakfast was plentiful and varied but the coffee was TERRIBLE - a machine. There were no leisure facilites at all and the only available computer was at a rate of one continuous hour for 5€. There was car-parking (9€ per day) but it was not reservable in advance, so very hit and miss for your arrival day. We emailed the hotel THREE times to ask about car parking before we eventually got a reply.
The hotel is a good 45 minute walk from the centre of Porto. There are buses, but we waited 20 minutes and when a bus arrived, it was full.
I imagine this hotel is OK for business travellers, but not recommended for tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliceCatalonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

hotel was fine, restaurant v good=clean rooms, well serviced. v helpful staff. would recommend and shall return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divera67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I stayed one night on this property and, for the price paid, it was a good option. Booked directly from hotel website and despite there was a little problem with my reservation (the staff couldn't find it first), they were quite professional and nice and even gave us a room in a higher floor (the fare was supposed to be for lower floor rooms).
The rooms were spacious, clean and with a mother deco, the a/c worked properly and wasn´t noisy. The marble bathroom was appropriated and, as many other hotels, the shower gel and soap were in a dispenser in the wall, which is (in my opinion) a good option. I disliked the hair dryer, because when I turned it on it smelled like cigarette smoke...
There was a lot of information available in the room, the tv was a little old but there was a good choice of channels.
The breakfast was so so...not spectacular or with a wide variety, especially in hot food.
The location was very good, in Boavista and right in front of an excellent restaurant (Capa Negra).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana_teresa_simoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Stayed here as a tourist (chosen by travel agent). The hotel is convenient for the airport but a long walk into the centre of Porto although on a bus route and not too far to pick up hop on hop off buses. We arrived early and luggage was stored - we were told our room would be ready by 2 pm but it wasn't ready for another 45 minutes and there was no apology. The desk staff were not helpful but the porter knew all the bus routes and directions. Room was standard layout, clean and well presented with no view to speak of. We had dinner in the hotel the first night - the food was mediocre but reasonably priced. There was a good selection for the buffet breakfast.

Although there appeared to be a lot of tourists staying there this felt more like a business hotel - a number of seminars were taking place. I would recommend that tourists stay nearer the centre.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

This hotel was ok. Miles better than the hotel duro. The internet in my room didn't go but at least it was free in the hotel so I had to sit in the hallway... But on the plus side my room was right at the end of the building and was really quite and had magnificent views. One of the nights they made the bed with the sheet widthwise not lengthwise so there was about a 2 foot gap at the bottom of the bed where there was no sheet! You just don't expect this from a 4 start hotel. Of course it was quick to rip the seets off and remake the bed which we did, but you just don't expect this from a 4 start hotel. Likewise they didn't refil hand soap in the bathroom's etc until we left a note one night and then the next day it was filled. Likely we just got a maid that was rushing through her cleaning... Anyway the front desk service was just sort of ok. The breakfast wasn't inspiring either. Not a bad choice but nothing you will really remember thinking that was a great hotel... Ohh they didn't have a fitness center either... But there was one not to far away which I went too for 6 euros a pop so it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

This is a good 4 star hotel, all renewed, the rooms have a good dimension and there is nice breakfast. The only negative point is the service. The check-out is until 12am, but the room service decided to block the room, with my bags inside, before 11.45 am.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Filipoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#28 of 108 in Porto
1,119 reviews
1.0 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#43 of 108 in Porto
1,280 reviews
1.0 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#36 of 108 in Porto
635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Ipanema Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Ipanema Porto

Address: Rua do Campo Alegre, 156/172, Porto 4150-169, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Porto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#23 Business Hotel in Porto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Ipanema Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here is a hotel that matches the city.Like Oporto, this hotel has history and tradition and, like the city, it's renewed, modern and exciting.Just a short walk away, Campo Alegre is home to Casa da Música, the main Museums in the city and the margin of the River Douro. Oporto's modern public transportation network is just steps away from the reception. Alternatively, you may choose to take a ride on the historical tram or using the rental bikes in the hotel.In business or leisure, a day in the city can be very tiring. At the HF Ipanema Porto you are guaranteed to have a relaxing and comfortable place to rest after a long day, with the best you can expect from a 4 star hotel.Families will always receive special treatment, with rooms especially designed to welcome them, including all the comfort and entertainment young children and teenagers could hope for. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.If it's fine cuisine that you're looking for, Rio’s is the best restaurant to taste the traditional Oporto dishes.The HF Ipanema Porto is one of those hotels that people keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HF Ipanema Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Ipanema Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Ipanema Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing